We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”

Esperance Stonehenge
Ranked #5 of 68 things to do in Esperance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

$10 admission for adults. Children under 2 are free.

Some one built a replica Stone Henge in his yard. Minutely interesting. Not worth it.

The city put up no stopping/parking signs as you approach and there is a shade up to "force" you to pay.

Helpful?
Thank Mrs_E_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Correction: Children under the age of 6 are FREE. Road signage erected by Esperance Shire Council to prevent traffic accidents. The shade referred to has also been erected to discourage vehicles from parking illegally on the road verge to also prevent traffic accidents. Entrance fees are displayed on the sign at the front gate, there is an additional sign further along the drive which states " Entry Fees are payable past this point."
Anyone who chooses not to proceed past this point, can turn around and drive back out. We have NEVER forced anyone to enter and pay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    94
    34
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“up close is better”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

it would be so easy to simply drive past, look out your window and say you'd seen it! And you would but you would have missed out. There is something really magical about being inside the henge, feeling the perspective, the height and the weight... it is pretty magnificent. And the stones themselves are beautiful pink granite - full of sparkly mica. They have been shaped so there is no evidence of tools, it is all softly rounded. And being inside the henge you want to speak quietly and move slowly - do so because it will add to your experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. So many of our visitors have echoed your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have seen the UK Stonehenge and I felt just like I did when visiting here. Well worth the visit. I don't know why I have never heard about it. It really tells the story. Took some great photos. The lady there was very nice and really well informed. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaroPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you and glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

It may be a replica, but amazing work and authenticity of original plan.
Lovely hosts.
Well worth the visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Well worth it but watch out for the electric fence”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Having seen the original was not overly keen on paying $12 each to see copy however it is actually only $25 for a family (2+2). Being able to walk within the circle on the soft grass and appreciate these massive blocks is a real treat compared to original. We went in the late afternoon which offers really interesting light and shadow.
Just beware the electric fence that runs along either side of the entrance pathway, it was left switched on when we went in and our 5 year old son got a nasty shock when he touched it on the way in! It didn't even have signage up warning people it was electric. We brought this to the attention of the owners and they turned it off and put the warning signs on. They were very apologetic to be fair but I really hope they ensure a mechanism is put in place to prevent the possibility of it happening in future, e.g moving the electric fence away from the entrance or putting it on a 100% failsafe timer that doesn't require someone to remember to turn it off.

Helpful?
Thank gumbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Adult entry fees are $10. We regret also that the little boy touched the electric fence which a visitor on that afternoon had turned on. We have replaced the electric fence signs, even though the electric fence has never and will never be turned on during visiting hours. The switch has now been secured as tamper proof. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit after the initial incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperance Stonehenge also viewed

Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 
Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 

Been to Esperance Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing