We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the original”

Esperance Stonehenge
Ranked #5 of 68 things to do in Esperance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than the original”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I love the thought that this stone circle is going to be around for quite some time. When in 5000 years people start to wonder why the hell there is another stone circle in Australia.

Nice thing here is that you can walk around in between the stones, climb the smaller ones and... well thats it.

For the best phots be here early in the morning or late in the afternoon.

We nearly did not go because of the 10$ entry. After we where very happy that we did not drove past!

Helpful?
Thank FabRassputin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We were very pleased to host your visit, and guess what, in 5,000 years time people will not need to wonder why Esperance Stonehenge is here, because we have just published our very own "The Building of Stonehenge" book, covering the reasons why it has come to be here, how it was built and how long it took, for all to know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    94
    34
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Stonehenge on theother side of the world”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I thought this was going to be a plastic replica and a bit tatty but it turned out to be well worth the visit if you are in Esperance WA. A full size replica. All solid granite from a local quarry set on concrete foundations. I was suitably impressed, Having been to Stonehenge many times over the years it was surprised at what a good job they had made of it.
Our visit was a fill in after a coach trip from out cruise ship to the beaches, I do not think its worth making a special visit. 18 k from Esperance on the Merivale Road
Entrance fee was $10 [ASD] there was a small shop their.
Shut Tues & Wednesday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The lady looking after customers gives a nice story on it and is very friendly and helpful is it worth going to not to sure, would I go to the one in England after this don't know. Price is reasonable compared to other places around and has easy access, you can get some nice photos from all angles.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A waste of time. OK, the massive hunks of granite are impressive for their size, but the whole thing is really just kitsch. Save your time and money - go see the real Stonehenge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zippy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We are disappointed that your visit did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing replica of the Original Stonehenge”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having attended a Summer Salstice at the 'real' Stonehenge in 1962 it was amazing to see a complete, full size, real granite replica. This is a must see even though the coffee is awful and expensive! Never-the-less worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and regret that you think that $4 is expensive for coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperance Stonehenge also viewed

Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 
Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 

Been to Esperance Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing