We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

Esperance Stonehenge
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Esperance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I didn't think I'd be impressed by this -- I saw the original in England many years ago, and wasn't too impressed with it either. But this was a different story. What an amazing undertaking and what a great place to visit if you're in Esperance -- it's only 20 km out of town.

However, there's very little to do once you're here -- after you've walked around the stones and marvelled at the workmanship and read the synopsis of how it came about, and sat for a bit, there's nothing else. But the good thing is that you CAN walk inside the stone circles, unlike the real Stonehenge where you can't get that sort of access.

What surprised me was that despite the incredible amount of money that must have been spent constructing this monument, the signage is extremely poor -- that includes the signs at the gate (which look like someone got a Sharpie out and wrote on a piece of chipboard) and the information 'signs' at the stones, which are pinned up with mismatched thumbtacks and look like they could blow away any second. They looked very unprofessional considering how professional and exact the stones were and how well the lawn inside the stones was cared for.

Entry: $10 for adults ($8 for concession card holders, including Seniors Card holders)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. As a privately owned venture we are still a work in progress and a new sign has now been erected near the office as it was also a priority for us. In addition, since your visit we have upgraded the ablutions and carpark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    90
    31
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Stonehenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a fantastic attraction. When walking around taking photos it was like the original which is now only ruins. Well worth including in your sightseeing whilst in Esperance. Just a pity we were not able to stay for the summer solstice. Well done to Kim and his crew. The local Tourism authorities should be very proud that Esperance was chosen as the site for a replica of a piece history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Greatly appreciated by Kim and Jillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Take the time to dream.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Outside Esperance it an experience well worth the time taken to drive there. I've been to the original, but the value of this replica is you can go into the inner circle, sit and dream of what it must have been like for the ancients. Those druids certainly knew what they were about. The acoustics are fantastic. Imagine dusk or dawn ! it would be an awesome place to experience at those times. Even though it was advertised as closed I called Jillian and explained I was a visitor from Queensland and had limited time there, and she said "Come out, I'll open for you" How amazing! I was the only one there that day, it was cold, drizzly and windy, but it only added to my enjoyment of this magical place. Thanks a lot Jillian.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Owner at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Glad to oblige and thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Better than the original”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Having been to the real thing in May this year we both thought Esperences Stonehenge was not only worth the visit but also a better experience. Few (if any) other tourists mean you can get great shots, marvel at the creation and get all your questions answers by the friendly staff. Well worth the visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisha_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your feedback and kind words about staff greatly appreciated by owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Esperance Stonehenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great place to visit whilst in Esperance. The real one in England is basically a ruin but it is awesome to see how the original would have looked when complete. You can get an idea of it from the road, but there is a unique energy to be felt by being within the stones, which is not possible with the original.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at Esperance Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments about the inside energy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperance Stonehenge also viewed

Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 
Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 

Been to Esperance Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing