We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of Captain Huon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esperance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Huon Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Esperance
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane,australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in early MAR 13. We choose this accom. because it was number 1 on Trip Advisor and it's rating is well deserved. The units are adequately described in other reviews. The Captain is an outstanding host and this together with an ocean front position make this an ideal base for exploring Esperance.We dined in the first night and had an excellent meal and wine in a very pleasant dining room (Porterhouse $30 AUD) . We had room 10. This is probably best situated with magnificient ocean front views.This motel is kept clinically clean and obviously thrives on return business,we certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else if we visit again.A really comfortable mattress and great shower,this was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 10 is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've stayed here twice now and have referred friends who have also loved it.
We feel very confident referring friends.

The unit is spacious and EXTREMELY clean.

The unit comes with goody packs for breakfast and afternoon tea which are FREE!
Yes FREE.

Do not think for one minute that these packs are like the normal "Bar Fridge" use and you will pay dearly! No, these are for your enjoyment. And they are delicious and all you need.

The location is outstanding, right on the beach and just a walk into town.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room (there are 2 levels of unit) to get a view, preferably one back from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I love staying here, which I do regularly for business. The hosts are charming, the food is outstanding, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, and a lovely little breakfast pack, for those wanting an early start.

The location is also very convenient, being on the seafront and great for walking on an evening.

My only recommendation is to decide how hungry you are before you order, as the portions are "working man" sized. I always ask for half the portion, and it is never any problem as the food is always freshly-made.

All in all, I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quite noisy due to traffic, so ask for one off the road if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the clean comfortable room in this well located motel. The rooms have a tidy kitchen so that you can prepare your own breakfasts. Bathrooms are a bit quirky though. The manager is very helpful and a lovely man. Worth the slight cost premium over the usual motels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

a home away from home,great rooms,lovely people will always recommend and have done many times. terrific accomodation central to everything of interest in Esperance,check out the beautiful beaches,jetty and much more !.
Breakfast in the warm sun scrumptious,well looked after and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETESWEEN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very clean rooms. Organised and friendly staff. No better service in Esperance than at Huon. Amazing food! I had the fish of the day with garlic prawns-delicious. The service was great--made me a special dessert at my request without hesitation. Breakfast was equally high quality. You definitely do not leave hungry. I will be staying here next time I visit Esperance without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Best mine host encountered in any motel I have stayed at.Mkaes you feel like a long lost friend when you are booking in. Warm friendly environment in restaurant, books to read great music piped in at just the right level. Great home cooked meals. Position along water front makes for pleasent evening strolls. Service is always with a smile. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorroNortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esperance hotels
0.2 mi away
Esperance Island View Apartments
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Esperance
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
#4 of 7 in Esperance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jetty Resort
The Jetty Resort
#2 of 34 in Esperance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Motel
Bayview Motel
#5 of 7 in Esperance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esperance Beachfront Resort
Esperance Beachfront Resort
#5 of 34 in Esperance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Huon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Huon Motel

Property: Captain Huon Motel
Address: No 5 The Esplanade, Esperance, Western Australia 6450, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Esperance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Esperance
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Huon Motel offers a range of serviced accommodation, a licensed restaurant and friendly service to make your holiday or business trip a pleasure. Hosting beachfront views, it is a short walk from the famous Tanker Jetty and the centre of the town of Esperance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Huon Hotel Esperance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing