We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Archipelago Apartments Esperance
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived here quite late having come into town one day early and needing last minute accommodation. The check in is open til 8pm which is fantastic! The welcome we got was warm and felt like family, the owners were knowlegeable about where to eat and go.

The room were well sized, we had the 3 bedroom appartment, which was too big for us, but for a family would be great. They provide books in the lounge room ranging from kids to grown up which was a lovely touch. The rooms were clean, except for one pillow with a nasty spot of 'something' on it... which we swapped out for one from one of the other beds, and obviously survived.

It was a lovely stay and would be good for families and people wanting a kitchen/dining room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed there and the one bedroom apartment in itself is ok. The first time we stayed there wasn’t a bad experience and the 2nd time around was fine until check-out time. The reason I have given them 1 out of 5 is because the owner was trying to charge us extra money when it was time to check out. The room we got is advertised on booking.com at $150 per night with no extra cost for a child under 2 years of age. Well when it was time to pay, the owner tried to charge me $170 per night, including $10 for having our 1 year old with us. Of course I argued the price out of principle and the owner turned into the WORST rental property owner. He was acting all appalled because I was arguing the price stated online and made us feel like we were trying to take advantage of him. Oh I would give them a score of -5 if I could for ripping us off (he ended up still charging me for having our infant with us) and for ruining our day with such treatment. Make sure you confirm pricing before you book or your experience may be just as bad as ours. Alternatively, AVOID THEM altogether!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White6251, Manager at Archipelago Apartments Esperance, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review with regards to Archipelago Apartments. Firstly I would like to point out that when you booked your accommodation you didnt book online with Booking.com, we have different deals that we do with our online accommodation sites. Your wife rang me and told me that she was booking for 2 adults of which I gave her the price, she said that was fine. There was no mention of children or that you saw the price $10.00 different on a website. Legally we are required to know how many people are staying in our apartments due to evacuation procedures etc. If a fire went through our property we would be completly unaware of how many guests to evacuate. The apartment you booked was a one bedroom standard apartment with a queen size bed, total amount of people that it accommodates is 2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Esperance hotels

Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'd find it difficult to fault this place. It is under new management apparently. We had room 8 on the first storey which gave us a view and sounds of the sea. Two double bedrooms, large living room/ kitchenette, shower with spa, washing machine and drier (a boon for travellers) and a huge TV, BBQ, comfortable sofas. Clean and modern. Friendly owner.

It's about 3km from the town centre with a walkway for the fitness conscious. There is a shortcut to the beach nearby,

Room Tip: Try to get room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profitpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My little family stayed in the 2 bedroom spa apartment. It is upstairs and not that well maintained. The bathroom was dirty and the spa's plumbing wasn't working properly (broken tap - was advised to put shower head in to fill) - I wasn't game to actually use spa due to hygiene of bathroom.

The kitchen had stainless steel appliances however the air con was filthy dirty and when turned on was incredibly dusty and noisy (split system).

Didn't like the narrow stairs with limited safety on hand railing going up. We stayed two nights while we explored Esperance region. I would find somewhere better next time for the price.
Not close to beach and can't hear waves/ocean.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom Spa looked nice - saw 3 bedroom room - old and crappy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

After a long days driving, we arrived at 5.30pm to find Reception unmanned. Instructions said to ring bizzer, which I did to no response. Used the phone as also instructed and a lady answered, when I informed her we had a booking she asked name and informed me the key was left in the door. Never came out to greet us at all. Went to the last apartment (6) to find key in door. First appearnace of exterior is very old 1950's style bungalow units - and stepping inside showed they probably hadn't been updated or since then. Stale musty smell inside. Paint flaking from walls & ceilings. Shower had rust stains and would not shower without things. Exhaust Fan in bathroom did not work - probably the cause of the musty smell. One teeny couch so not adeqauate for family. Bed was seriously like a rock and woke up with a terrible back ache. Kitchen is musty and the sink also had rust stains. Overall, the place felt old and run down. Checked out 2 days early and found elsewhere to stay. Price is WAY too high for the loq quality of the accommodation. Not a satisifed or returning customer here! Pool is the size of a spa.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked Archipelago Apartments at the last minute through http://www.wotif.com.

We didn't arrive until 7pm because we had been out fishing all day.
The woman at reception as very pleasant.
When she informed us that the only supermarket open would be closing in 30mins we did a quick check through of the apartment kitchen and then zipped down to buy some food.
We were very happy with the apartment.
It was clean and very roomy.
The kitchen was well appointed and had all we needed.
The bed was comfortable although we could've done with another blanket as it was quite a cool night.
We never bothered with the heater as we don't like sleeping with them on.

There was a washing machine but no dryer in our unit, and a large bathroom with a very large shower area and a separate toilet.
The only drawback was that the tiles in the middle of the bathroom floor had grouting missing and were lifting. I hope they fix those as they seriously detract.

The one thing which would've made it perfect for me is wifi availability - there was absolutely no internet connection offered or available there.
As we were only staying one night I survived ;-)

It was too cold to use the small swimming pool across from our room.
We felt the value for money was better than the previous night we had spent at the Esperance Best Western Motel. The apartment was more spacious and comfortable, had much more going for it, and was $20 cheaper!
The only thing missing was the wifi!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewyn7150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Being an older building you would expect the interior to be somewhat larger and it sure is. Very spacious indeed. The decor/fittings are also older but everything is quite functional and clean. TV is modern LCD but limited to free to air; not a deal-breaker as had plenty to do in Esperance during my 2 day stay. Kitchen fully equipped, has washing machine which is handy. Dryer would of been a plus. Was a bit too cool for the pool but as previous reviewer mentions, so small its probably not worth it. The beaches in Esperance are where your likely to want to be anyway and these self-contained apartments are certainly the trick if you're looking for a casual beach-shack feel. Very good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libertydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esperance hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
#2 of 7 in Esperance
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Esperance Island View Apartments
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Esperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Jetty Resort
The Jetty Resort
#2 of 34 in Esperance
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clearwater Motel Apartments
Clearwater Motel Apartments
#6 of 34 in Esperance
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Esperance Beachfront Resort
Esperance Beachfront Resort
#5 of 34 in Esperance
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archipelago Apartments Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Apartments Esperance

Property: Archipelago Apartments Esperance
Address: 24-26 Goldfields Road, Esperance, Western Australia 6450, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Esperance
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Esperance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archipelago Apartments Esperance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self-contained 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments. 2 or 3 bedroom spa apartments also available. Located one street back from beach with walkway only 10 metres from hotel. Barbeques and swimming pool. Close to TAB, bottleshop, restaurant, chemist, hairdresser, laundrymat, IGA and fish and chip shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Archipelago Apartments Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing