We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Location but lack of TLC”
Review of The Jetty Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jetty Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location,Location but lack of TLC”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Certainly a great feeling of spaciousness - we were prepared to pay extra for the luxury of a balcony. It is an excellent location and friendly service. Rooms appear neat and presentable, but furniture in our unit in urgent need of repair. Kitchen lacked several of the basics and harsh fluorescent/bright white lighting (indoors and outdoors) creates a stark mood at night. Pity, as a little attention to detail and checking that kitchen is fully equipped could have made this a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Its great to know that you found our staff friendly and that you were satisfied with the high level of service you received whilst staying here.
We find that lighting and pillows are something that everyone has varying expectations of. We replaced all the pillows only to be told that they are too thick. Some like then thick, some like them thin! Similarly, the lighting requirements of each guest varies so we aim to please the majority.
I apologise for the missing kitchen items. We do have surplus stock so could have rectified the issue during your stay to avoid disappointment, had we been alerted. If ever there is any maintenance issues, please let us know at reception so that it can be fixed immediately, enabling you to enjoy your time here to the full extent.
Thank you for taking the time to review The Jetty Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
73
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We travelled through Esperance in September 2013. We chose this hotel as a bit of a luxury, paying a higher price than a number of alternative hotels, as we wanted to treat ourselves to a beach view. The "beach view" consisted of high cyclone security fencing in front of a fleet of heavy equipment, with no "jetty view" though somewhere in the far distance, I did spot a little sliver of blue. Very disappointing - and of course no price concession for the noise and absence of view. Luckily, the room was very nice, clean and well-appointed. The hotel is a little out of the way, but if you enjoy walking, the coffee van, tourist centre and shopping strip is accessible on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am glad to hear that the efforts of our cleaning staff are acknowledged. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness and have a very thorough team of housekeepers.
The foreshore has changed significantly in the 10 months since you stayed. The developers are in the landscaping stage and the gardens and gazebos are looking fantastic. There is still some activity across the road however the heavy machinery is no longer necessary so noise disturbances are not being reported. The views of the bay are beautiful, the lights of the port at night can be enjoyed and the jetty and islands are visible from all our ocean facing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Comfy bed, great shower, full kitchen is a bonus. Heater works well. Service was friendly and the price very good, only $99 for the basic room, definitely a bargain. Only problem was that it rained haha!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
You are welcome back any time, glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at The Jetty Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The room was comfortable the kitchenette was useless as it struggled to cook eggs there was mould around the top of the shower the quality of the blankets left a bit to be desired would choose other accommodation in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I have checked the hotplates and they are working fine. Being electric they do take a little while to heat up to the desired setting. We have a very thorough team of cleaners and I have brought your comments to their attention.
Although you had a couple of inconveniences, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the large balcony with private BBQ that this room style offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

this place looked good on the internet but was disappointing.
1. room was not sound proof, we had people next door sitting outside talking....
2. room was about to be updated, so was pretty scruffy
3. terrible water hammer in pipes
4. fair way from town centre 1.5k approx.
5. Michelle at reception was terrific with assistance
6. reasonably priced

Room Tip: ocean view rooms might be better, but dearer and up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I am glad that you were satisfied with the price of our accommodation and also the high level of customer service. The walk into the town centre is just under 1km and the foreshore upgrade is almost complete. New gardens, paths and seating have been constructed along the foreshore making it a beautiful picturesque stroll into the centre of town. Hopefully you can return to Esperance to enjoy these new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After seeing a sign at the motel advertising rooms for $99 we decided to spend a night on our way to Bremer Bay. On making an enquiry we were told it was $99 for one person and every other person was an extra $20. The sign did not say "from" $99 and I believe this advertising to be dishonest. As it was the first motel we saw, we were "sucked in" by the advert flashing brightly over the motel. The room we had was ok, if tired, and may have been a good price, but I felt angry about the deception and I wouldn't go again or recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cici C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. The room rates were explained when you enquired at reception as your review states. You then had the option of accepting or declining the accommodation available at the rate discussed. We encourage room inspections prior to check in to ensure guests are satisfied with the facilities provided. We have a variety of room styles, catering from single rooms through to family apartments. The prices vary depending on the number of guests which is common practice for the accommodation industry.
I hope the remainder of your travels were safe and that you had a happy Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 14month old stayed in one of the older back rooms for 3 nights and dreaded going back to the hotel to sleep etc, all the dishes were dirty, room smelt horrible, sheets were ok, bathroom was disgusting smelt of sewage and I felt dirtier coming out after a shower then I did going in,Carpet cleanliness was questionable. The days leading up to the trip Kalgoorlie had massive flooding and the road was closed when I called to see what our options were as we couldn't get to esperance the lady advised that they have a 30day cancellation policy (even though I booked a week before Australia Day) and if we couldn't get through as the road was closed we would have to pay for the rooms regardless!
Safe to say we would never stay again Or recommend to anyone!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMorrison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodPam, Manager at The Jetty Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Firstly we empathised with everyone that was caught up in the flooding that week, and we, like everyone, just had to wait and see how the situation unfolded over time – as it happened, the roads cleared in time and everyone made it though. It was an unfortunate situation however our terms do state the cancellation policy of 21 days and this is why travel insurance is recommended for all travel- both domestic and internationally. Re the cleanliness of the room: I understand your comments here as well and this is well below our expected level of cleanliness, however we can do something about this if we are informed. We always encourage guests to speak to us directly so we can remedy the situation immediately. Maintenance issues or housekeeping issues can arise suddenly in all accommodation houses but we are prepared and are willing to assist immediately so you have a most wonderful and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esperance hotels
0.3 mi away
Esperance Island View Apartments
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles
#3 of 7 in Esperance
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Esperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Esperance Beachfront Resort
Esperance Beachfront Resort
#5 of 34 in Esperance
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clearwater Motel Apartments
Clearwater Motel Apartments
#6 of 34 in Esperance
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Esperance B & B by the Sea
Esperance B & B by the Sea
#1 of 10 in Esperance
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jetty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jetty Resort

Property: The Jetty Resort
Address: 1 The Esplanade, Esperance, Western Australia 6450, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Esperance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Esperance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jetty Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are a variety of room styles at The Jetty Resort to suit every budget and travel requirement, for families or just an overnight business trip. Room styles range from standard self contained rooms, family rooms, motel rooms, suites and luxury 2 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Jetty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing