We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it. It should not be a GRAND Mercure. It is barely an IBIS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Traveled with my wife and son as well as my mother.
Booked 2 rooms at $300+ each.

Conclusion:
- Water was yellowish. Even after 10 minutes of constant water running
- Broken tiles in bathroom.
- Previous person's toilet "stuff" not correctly flushed/cleaned. Nasty first surprise.
- 2 restaurants. Only one takes the Accor card. The otehr charges excessively for meals. Convenient.
- Manager/Supervisor at restaurant barely bothered to speak. He mainly pointed and "served" us.

I took the time to write this because I was very dissatisfied with my stay. Highly unpleasant. Shocked is the word. I have stayed at dozens of Accor hotels. This one is shocking.
Not going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
6  Thank sp_savi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Sp_Savi,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in further detail, if you would like to contact me at the Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet the number is 03 5777 6566 or you can email me on renae.kennedy@mtbullerchalet.com.au.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,


Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and the family activities on offer at Mt Buller over the Easter 2013 period. Bed was very firm, too firm for my liking. Great to have feather pillows though. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The decor a little tired but very clean and more than satisfactory for a family getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stacey576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Stacey576,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests so that we can continually improve our service.

Kind regards,


Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is an absolute rip of. My wife and I went up for a Mt Bike weekend an paid $530 for 2 nights.
Where do I start.
- No parking, had to park about 1km up Mt. Buller. What kind of hotel doesn't have guest parking?
- Room's have no Air-Con, this fine in Winter but if it's a 28 outside with no breeze and the sun's been beating down on your windows all day. You will arrive to an oven then the only way to cool the room down is to open the windows, but didn't cool the room down because there was no breeze. It was 32 degrees in the room for most of the night.
- No milk in fridge
- No extra pillows
- No hotel guide
- When I asked reception for each of these thing I received a blank look and advised if I had looked???
- To top it all off the pool was closed because of health reasons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ducmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Ducmaz,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion - please allow me to express my sincere apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior level of service, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,


Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found the service from all members of Staff (reception, dining and cleaning) to be excellent. The staff also allowed us to store our mountain bikes inside our room. We stayed during a really quiet time of year, yet all the hotel amenities were still available. The meals from the restaurant were expensive, but value for money considering the quality and presentation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TimB_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear TimB,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. It is always a pleasure for us to receive positive feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,


Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
1
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SightSeerer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Bland reception on checking in once we found it having driven past several times as there is no sign. Not many people staying there and despite that the room we were allocated was immediately over the outside eating area so we had music and chatter on tap as we had the window open because it was very hot.
We had no idea what was else was open and asked for a map. Nothing open and the resort looked like the set of the Prisoner-ie deserted.
Breakfast was a highlight with good variety although the bacon appeared to have been boiled. Dinner options limited but adequately cooked and presented.
Reception staff helpful. Food works across the road.
Nothing to do here unless you are a bike rider and they have invaded all the walking trails so expect this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abom Hotel
Abom Hotel
#8 of 8 in Mount Buller
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
215 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
0.2 mi away
Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
Alpine Retreat Mt Buller
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites

Address: 5 Summit Rd, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range: $189 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel and Suites is in a central village location in the Mt Buller alpine resort, 3 hours drive north east of Melbourne. The chalet features 40 rooms, with spectacular views of either the mountains or valley, a restaurant, indoor heated swimming pool, spa, gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mt Buller

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing