We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and in need of work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“expensive and in need of work”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently spent the night away with my partner and another couple, I choose mecure having used the chain quiet a lot with work travel.
The rooms were somewhat expensive given its not ski season and the hotel only had 8 guest of which my part made up for 4 of them.
The rooms are old and worn, cracked tiles in the bathroom, the colour scheme is very 1980's so I'd guess its been a while since the place has seen a refurbishment.
The bar is outragesly expensive $45 dollars for 2 beers and a glass of house wine.
The food however was excellent and first class quality, we ate in the resturant as there was nothign open on the mountain. I wouldnt say I would never go back, but I'd certainly look at other options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    48
    15
    17
See reviews for
87
55
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed one night here, it is not very well sign posted and took some time to locate even though I had been past it twice.
Once you know where it is there is no problem finding it and it is in a central location to everything on the mountain.
The place is looking a little tired and well used, could do with a spruce up.We were on the fifth floor, facing down the mountain towards Mt Stirling.
The lifts floor coverings were well worn, and there was repair work needed on the porch walls where they had rotted away.
The outside furniture had been repainted and the veiws were nice and refreshing
The staff were good and quite chatty, being off season we almost had the place to ourselves, which was quite nice.It seemed as if this place is under utilised as a summer destination.
We enjoyed the relief from the summer heat with the cooler mountain air, so although we would go back I think the attraction is the location rather than the the Chalet itself.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, but then there was almost nobody else staying so I can't judge noise etc. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only stayed one night during the running of the Targa High Country tarmac rally. The front desk service was fine and while we only had breakfast in the Hotel it was the usual mix of hot and cold breakfast foods. All quite acceptable. Our room faced treed side of the building on the 6th floor and while the room was big by European standards is starting to look a bit tired. Not well sign posted, it was a test to find the hotel in the off snow season. Imagine how hard it would be if it was all snowed in. So all up, just average Oh yes and they have a free 10 minute WiFi lobby service. But any longer can cost $27.50 per day. Poor really, when I traveled Europe for 7 weeks in mid 2012 and had access every where I went for "free". Time to get with the program Australia. WiFi is no big

Room Tip: If it doesn't cost any more, ask for a room facing the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Restaurant atsmosphere leaves a lot to be desired, it wasn't welcoming, the food was alright. We went there for dinner & breakfast. The following night we chose to eat elsewhere mainly for a happier atmosphere. Sorry to tell you this but it all helps your business. I would stay at hotel again but would definately eat else where for evening meals. Kind Regards Michele ps Reception staff were really kind & friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishygws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mishygws,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests so that we can continually improve our service.

If you would not mind to email me on rooms.div@mtbullerchalet.com.au to advise of the dates that you travelled so that we can investigate your service in the restaurant further.

Kind regards,


Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Mt Buller Chalet in the last weekend of the ski season for one night, as the place we normally stay at had closed for the season. The location was excellent as it was centrally located in the village, and close to shops and other restaurants. The girls on the front desk were lovely and were great with our kids.

The room was large for a ski hotel, with a queen size bed and fold out sofa in the same room. I tried the sofa bed and assumed that it was uncomfortable because it was a sofa with springs. I assumed our bed would be better, however it was so uncomfortable I barely slept.

The buffet breakfast was fine, as was the pool and spa area, although the decor in the hotel is quite outdated. Wifi was only provided for free for 10 minutes, after that we had to pay which was a bit ridiculous. We managed to arrange late check out, but only after we'd wasted 30 minutes trying to sort out wifi and had already packed to leave.

Overall it was ok, but we'll be returning to our regular hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakone_dreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear hakone dreamin,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion - please allow me to express my sincere apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior level of service, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best way to reach is to take a taxi or shuttle from the base camp parking lot. It enjoys a great location. From the front, one gets a beautiful view of the mountain range with snow laden peaks. The other side of the hotel opens straight into the ski slope. Due to the uneven land, it's lobby is actually on the 2nd floor. The ground floor (if coming from the main entrance) has the left luggage area, lift and an indoor swimming pool and gym area.

Take the life up or walk up the stair case and you reach the lobby. The best view is from the balcony facing the restaurant. A few steps and one is withing walking distance of The Village; the slope and starting point of the sking cable car. A steep walk (3 minutes) brings one to the Abominable Restaurant & Bistro. A definite must.

1 minute in the direction of The Village and you have an excellent all purpose mini super market and a winter cloth shop.

The property is aging gracefully. But the rooms are clean and provide all required facilties. The bed is comfortable and great to sleep after an exhausting day. The only weakness noticeable is the back up staff - in housekeeping and restaurant. They definitely need more training. A few of the bulbs were missing in the rooms and restaurant staff (at breakfast) was slightly slow. I am sure there must be a good reason.

All in all, a great property.

Room Tip: Literally all the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinaykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBullerChalet, Rooms Division Manager at Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Vinaykr,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Grand Mercure Mt Buller Chalet. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests so that we can continually improve our service. It is always a pleasure for us to receive positive feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Renae Kennedy
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.4 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abom Hotel
Abom Hotel
#8 of 8 in Mount Buller
19 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites

Property: Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
Address: 5 Summit Rd, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel and Suites is in a central village location in the Mt Buller alpine resort, 3 hours drive north east of Melbourne. The chalet features 40 rooms, with spectacular views of either the mountains or valley, a restaurant, indoor heated swimming pool, spa, gym and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Mt Buller

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing