We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pension Grimus
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Certificate of Excellence
Rockingham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snow trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Arrived on Monday and leaving Friday. Fantastic hotel with very accomodating staff right through out. Rooms were a great size with all the amenities that we needed. Warm snuggly doonas on the beds (two singles pushed together) which was great as we were very stiff and sore after a full days skiing. Perfect location, right opposite the Holden 6 chairlift. Very short walk to the shops and pubs for tea. Breakfast was a very good choice of food. Hire shop as part of the building with exceptional offers for the guests. We couldnt find better throughout the resort. Taxi service was excellent to get us to our Hotel. Couldnt have got a better position on the moutain. There are Hotels higher and even further in the snow but very hard getting to and from the "town" for going out. All in all a very good relaxing holiday in the snow. Strongly recommend this Hotel for your needs.
Just for your information....we decided to leave a little earlier than we had planned due to illness, the Hotel and the hire shop had no hesitation in refunding us our full amount of ski hire and lift passes...a rather good amount to be giving back without qualm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your holiday with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant again this year and it is still as good as ever.
We were greeted warmly and efficiently and after having a drink at the bar we were shown to our table. The service throughout dinner was excellent and the food of a very high standard.
Nicholas, our waiter, did a great job with our party of 12 and was helpful and polite at all times. The menu on offer has something for everyone and is of a high standard.
Hans provided entertainment throughout the night which is a tradition.
Thank you again to everyone for a great night out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We're very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience at Kaptans. Nicolas was thrilled to get a mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Check in was friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious and thank god for decent coffee. We had lunch there twice (goulash and spatzle delicious, dessert kaiserschmarren sinful and fabulous) and dinner once, also excellent.
We stayed in a chalet spa room (no view, which we knew, it was the last room available) which was excellent as there was a large bedroom with little dining table and chairs and sitting area, and separate area with a set of bunks. Room servicing was good.
I like the Austrian touches, it really does have a nice atmosphere. The location simply can't be beaten, even in the current lousy Buller conditions it was fully ski in and ski out.
We have stayed at another lodge at Buller, fully catered, but for what ends up being not much more money Grimus is much nicer.

Room Tip: Room 15 - no view but good for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights mid-week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is located next to the Bourke Street run and you can see the Holden chairlift from the dining room and communal lounge area. It has the convenience of a ski hire shop beneath which gives you discount if you are staying at Pension Grimus. Total ski in, ski out experience!

The breakfast is substantial and the food and variety is great! Totally recommend it. The Kaptan's restaurant is also very good and we loved our meals although it is fairly expensive!!

We stayed in an Alpine room. It was okay, but the bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable. Great to have a spa bath in the room too! Plenty of hot water and very warm room. But it had a small window and no view as it was facing a wall. I think the other rooms had a better outlook. There was also an Internet/reading room which was nice to relax in, and a big lounge area with large windows to people watch.

Hans Grimus, the owner, is a very personable chap, with lots of stories and it was great how he spent time with the guests at breakfast. Given that we were first time guests to Pension Grimus and to Mt Buller it would have been great to have a warmer welcome from the girl at the reception, who was not overly friendly or helpful. However, the staff at the ski shop were fabulous, especially Susi. We would definitely stay here again. While it's not a fancy, overly modern place, it is rich in character and history and has great facilities for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisavdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We'll take a look at the bedding in our Alpine Rooms to see what improvements are required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is a dream. We had the worst experience for one night, but then our holiday was recovered into something amazing. This place is the place you stay when you are at the snow. The think of everything. From the great drying room to the seperate equipment room. It is warm through out and spotless clean. The food at night in the restuarant in yummy. It is great to see that the owners of the place still get involved and walk around to talk to the patrons. I highly recommmend this place to stay at. Everyone is so accomodating and the breakfast has such a huge selection. This is the second time I have stayed at this place and it has not changed a bit, but got better.

Room Tip: Worth the money to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again for your next ski holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our first trip to the snow with our kids aged 10 and 12. We have friends who stay at the Grimus each year so our expectations were high. Thankfully we were not disappointed in any way!
We knew that we'd have to drag our luggage up several flights of stairs as there is no lift. Be prepared for this in the hotel, although the newer apartment building is probably different.

From the first point of contact the staff were first class. Nothing was ever a problem and they couldn't have been more accommodating. Room service from the kids menu was supposed to be ordered by 5.30 and served by 7pm but when we asked after 7pm, they happily took our order and the food was there in no time, allowing us to have a relaxing meal in the restaurant. The restaurant was very welcoming for families at all times. On some nights our kids ate in the room but came down and joined us for dessert. The food is very, very good, although serves of some dishes are a little small. With complimentary fresh bread they were always large enough for us. The desserts are superb. Generally I like to eat anywhere but at my hotel when on holiday, preferring to get out and try different things. In this case I ate at Kaptans at the Grimus all 5 nights we were there! The host Hans comes around to each table chatting and offering to have a little schnapps with you. We took him up each night and this is part of the charm that makes the Grimus such a special place to stay.

Rooms are good but vary quite a bit. Some are quite old fashioned but that is in keeping with the European ski lodge feel. Our room was always clean and well serviced, and while pretty basic, it was fine for us. We spent most of the day on the slopes and most of the evenings in the restaurant or the bar, so the room was of less importance.

They took care of all of our equipment hire, and were really helpful at all times. The location is excellent, with only about 50m to the closest chairlift, and 100m to the ski school. This makes it very easy to get kids organised and avoids the need to drag everything around in the snow. At the end of the day there is a large drying room for all ski boots and clothing so it's all nice and warm and dry the next morning.

There may be more modern places to stay at Mt Buller, but they lack the European charm and friendly atmosphere that is everywhere at the Grimus. For an overall family ski experience I highly recommend you sample the hospitality of Hans and Lotti and the wonderful staff at the Grimus!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewilloPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. We know it is difficult with luggage and the stairs and are making arrangements to improve our porter service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I went to Mt Buller with my friend for 3 nights and we stayed at this hotel. I usually like 5 star hotels, which this one wasn't but it had such a cosy, comfortable and cleanliness about it that I really enjoyed it. Love the European design influenced by the original owner who still operates it as far as I know.

We had a room with a queen bed and a single in a seperate room. good size accomodation overall and seemed to be a good price too compared to others in Mt Buller.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Owner at Hotel Pension Grimus, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.5 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#3 of 8 in Mount Buller
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
0.1 mi away
Abom Hotel
Abom Hotel
#8 of 8 in Mount Buller
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Grimus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Grimus

Property: Hotel Pension Grimus
Address: 224 Breathtaker Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Pension Grimus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This renowned, award-winning boutique hotel, is centrally located in an absoluteski-in, ski-out position only 50m from the Holden Express six-seat chairlift and only 100m from the Ski & Snowboard School. Hotel Pension Grimus is the ideal place for a ski holiday for two or the whole family. Enjoy the warm alpine ambience,impressive European-style hospitality and personal attention the Grimus family is so well-known for. From the delightfully decorated chalet-style hotel rooms andspacious, luxuriously appointed apartments, to the comprehensive guest facilities,everything is at hand. Your memories of great nights in the restaurant and intimate bar will last as long as those of the best ski days.HOTEL FACILITIES* Kaptans Restaurant, Herbies Bar * 2 Guest Lounges* DVD rental, Free Wi-Fi Internet * Free Sauna, Spa* Personal spa baths in all rooms * Room service meals* Ski locker, drying room, luggage storage * Fireplaces* 50 mts to Holden Chairlift loading station * Cable TV* 100 mts to Ski School * Free shuttle bus stopGRIMUS SKI & SNOWBOARD CENTREHire on-mountain for hassle-free convenience. Conveniently located at Hotel Pension Grimus the centre hires to both in-house guests and the general public. Long opening hours, competitive rates, professional fi tting staff and a large range of quality equipment suitable for all standards of skiers and snowboarders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Grimus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing