We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for our last minute decision to have a snow weekend with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for our last minute decision to have a snow weekend with kids”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantastic location and welcoming atmosphere. Basic accommodation , clean and hospitable. The room was very small but our family of 4 were comfortable. The bar area great for after ski relax . We opted to go out for dinner but the food served in the evening looked delicious and well priced, so we would definitely book dinner there next time. The continental breakfast adequate, importantly the coffee was hot and good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review and I am pleased to hear that you found our accommodation to be in a fantastic location and that the hotel had a welcoming atmosphere. We have been getting great feedback about our restaurant and believe that we are one of the better priced venues on the mountain. Look forward to welcoming you back again and hope you try out our restaurant next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
79
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location ..small rooms ...hot water in shower off and on ..kind of annoying
Spent 3 nights with 2 kids and 2 adults..had the room with the bunks and the separate bedroom..that's a must
Staff really friendly
Loved the ski out to the chamois run so close
Sitting at the bar après ski sipping a red ..and wanting the cheeseboard ..but chef wouldn't make it til 6.. It was 530.. Would really have loved that cheese and wine!
In all the hotel is tired...but the location is fantastic and heaps of snow!!!

Room Tip: Def get 2 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Serena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We purchased the hotel in May and therefore had a very limited window of opportunity to upgrade the property. All bathrooms have been reappointed, new linen, cutlery, crockery and some long overdue maintenance attended to. Unfortunately the resort once open did not allow us continue with our upgrade program however we have some great plans for the summer months. The issue with hot water when showering going on and off will be addressed as well.
I am pleased that you found our staff very friendly and that you found the location beside the Chamois Run so convenient and that the snow was fantastic for your trip.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hospitality and lovely friendly service at Enzian made such a difference to our stay. The location of Enzian is great and the accommodation is clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend Enzian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is always very pleasing to receive such great feedback. We have been putting in a lot of effort to realise the full potential of Enzian and praise such as yours makes it feel all worthwhile.
We look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Enzain. I was a bit concerned as I had read some pretty sketchy reviews before but all my doubts quickly faded.The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast,while simple, was just what we needed to fill up on before hitting the slopes.
The food in the restaurant was amazing too. Make sure you give the Chocolate Lava Pod ago - it's DEVINE!
Amazing location and great staff made for a great stay. Definitely will be booking at Enzian again next time I head to Buller.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpoysrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I am pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at Enzian and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are trying our best to rid the hotel of its previous reputation and such praise is greatly appreciated.
I must say that you are right I normally do not have dessert but the Chocolate Lava Pod is delicious.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mt Buller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed with my 12 year old daughter for skiing and some daddy daughter time in August for 3 nights.
The hotel has a great location on the mountain which is why I chose it.
Facilities however were spartan, to say the least. The telephone had been disconnected but still left on the wall. A 17 inch TV was mounted in the corner of one room but was very hard to watch. There was 1spare plug socket in the adjoining room but nowhere near the supplied kettle.... a real pain when you're looking forward to a cup of tea.
The rooms were pleasantly warm, which was a godsend on Buller.
Breakfast was continental but basic.
The restaurant tried to be a la carte but was average and expensive. My chicken was underdone but I felt my complaint would be looked at as whinging.
The owners were jovial but not particularly interested in the infrequent guests.... just an opinion.
All in all, an expensive trip which on the hotel front was a disappointment

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your comments with regards to the hotel. Just to explain why things may have looked a bit spartan. We took over the management of the hotel in May we tried to get all of the things complete before the ski season however there was only a very short window of opportunity before the season started. We have plans of putting new curtains in the rooms, fixing all defects in our rooms, power points etc and putting larger TV's,on the wall that still need to be done. The room we provided was a huge room with a king in one room and a queen in another and I thought you would have appreciated the space and the view from the room.
We have been getting some very good feedback with the quality of our food and have purposely priced ourselves below that of other places on Mt Buller it is unfortunate that you did not bring the problem with your meal to our attention, it is always easier to address it at the time rather than have a guest go away unhappy and disgruntled.
As I said we are still in the process of getting the hotel up to the standard that it used to be and unfortunately we couldn't do it completely before the road to Mt Buller closed to contractors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi,
Stayed at the Enzian Hotel for two nights with a last minute booking on the 20th July and was lucky enough to have heaps of snow whilst there.
Was wary of some of the previous reviews as they weren't great but was very surprised with the state of the accomodation we were given and the price we ended up paying.
Beds were really clean and comfortable and the bathroom facilities great. The staff were friendly and very helpful with any requests or questions we had regards the snow activities availalble. The continental breakfast was good with lots of cereal and bread variations availlable but had minimal fruit options. Would certainly stay there again with the food at their restauruant being really good!!

Room Tip: Rooms that are lower than the reception area don't have great tv reception so not ideal for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Guest Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes you are right about the reviews and I would have been questioning whether to stay at Enzian based on those. On a limited budget we refitted the bathrooms, bought new linen and countless other things to get it up to grade. As well as this the kitchen was completely ripped apart and the menu, service a new focus in getting right.
One odd thing though, we do not manage any of the rooms below reception. They are all privately owned, so we are unable to provide these and have no idea whether the TV reception was any good or not.
Thank you for your kind words of praise and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

- Very hospitable staff
- Wasn't fancy though rooms were clean, comfy, warm and tidy
- Was among the cheapest available for group bookings - good value for money
- Bedroom views from 2nd floor were amazing
- Included continental breakfast - good choices available
- Having a bar fridge was good for drinks and nibbles.
- Good contract if no snow available and you cancel accommodation
- Would definately stay there again and will recommend to others looking to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank b_radtvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Guest Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your words of praise and we are pleased that you enjoyed you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Despite the ski season being so variable this season we are pleased that the hotel has been so busy for the first year of its new ownership and you are right we participate in the Mt Buller Snow Guarantee. If you have no snow you are able to cancel and get a full refund.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.2 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abom Hotel
Abom Hotel
#8 of 8 in Mount Buller
19 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enzian Hotel On Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enzian Hotel On Chamois

Property: Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Address: 69 Chamois Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Enzian Hotel On Chamois 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enzian has a true that true European Alps feel and is rated 3 stars by AAA Tourism. The hotel provides a true Australian alpine experience welcoming skiers and their families with genuine warmth and personal friendliness. Located just metres from Chamois Run and the Canyon Trail, and a short walk to the heart of Mt Buller's Alpine Village. Relax and enjoy apres drinks in the Austrian style bar rubbing shoulders with some of the mountain's identities. Enzian takes pride in the cuisine that it offers and will be sure to satisfy even the most discerning palate with its hearty meals suited for the ravenous skier after a hard day on and off the piste. One of the iconic accommodation houses on Mt Buller, So where else would you stay but Hotel Enzian on Chamois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Enzian Hotel On Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing