We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doghouse...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enzian Hotel On Chamois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doghouse...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The most terrible, disgusting hole I have ever stayed in!! Checked out after one night. No sufficient heating for a hotel on a ski resort, no properly working hot water and the bathroom was built in the 1900s. The room was so old and dirty. And their so called 'continental' breakfast was toast and cereal.... I can't believe they are still allowed to operate as a hotel in Australia!! This is NOT a third world country and I have stayed in hotel in third world countries that have better facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your stay was only a month before Enzian went into receivership. Fortunately Enzian has experienced a rebirth since your stay with the new owners addressing issues with heating and hot water. All of the bathrooms have all been reappointed. New linen has been purchased for the rooms giving it a fresh new look, New TV's that all work and many of the rooms have had new paintwork, fresh pictures applicable to alpine areas and overall a long overdue cleanup. Breakfast is still continental which is included in your accommodation price but has a much larger range than what sounds like what was offered by the previous owners. We invite you back to experience the hospitality of the new owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
78
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Being our first snow and ski holiday in the Alpine region anywhere, we did not know what to expect. However, the management and staff in Hotel Enzian made everything easier and more enjoyable for my family and I. We stayed five nights at The Enzian. We had the most wonderful time. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. It was also good size for our family of four. Most importantly on any holiday, any family who has children with food allergies would understand that not only it is hard to plan for a hotel to stay but also places to eat. However, the chef and staff in the restaurant at The Enzian were wonderful enough to actually cook a special meal for our son who is allergic to egg, wheat and nuts, for every night that we stayed. We cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your stay was prior to Enzian going into receivership. For the 2013 season Enzian has experienced a rebirth with the new owners addressing issues with heating and hot water. All of the bathrooms have all been reappointed. New linen has been purchased for the rooms giving it a fresh new look, New TV's that all work and many of the rooms have had new paintwork, fresh pictures applicable to alpine areas and overall a long overdue cleanup. Breakfast is still continental which is included in your accommodation price but has a much larger range than what sounds like what was offered by the previous owners. We like to think that the food on offer in the evening is well worth it offering the type of cuisine you would expect in a great restaurant in Melbourne without the Mt Buller price tag. We invite you back to experience the hospitality of the new owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I am seasoned travller visiting from Las Vegas, I found this hotel to be the most friendly and welcoming with outstanding service and excellent food. I am planning to return with my family next year. The rooms are not the Ritz but very clean and comfortable. I was travelling alone and the manager and her staff made me feel very much at home. I recommend it fully

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your stay was prior to Enzian going into receivership. For the 2013 season Enzian has experienced a rebirth with the new owners addressing issues with previous guests. Heating and hot water have been addressed. All of the bathrooms have all been reappointed. New linen has been purchased for the rooms giving it a fresh new look, New TV's and many of the rooms have had new paintwork, fresh pictures applicable to alpine areas and overall an overdue spring clean. Breakfast is continental which is included in your accommodation price. We like to think that the food on offer in the evening is well worth it offering the type of cuisine you would expect in a great restaurant in Melbourne without the Mt Buller price tag. As you say we will never be the Ritz but hope to offer the best value for money option for comfortable accommodation on Mt Buller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The accommodation was functional and clean.

Staff were great: flexible and accommodating to our needs

The Enzian offered an affordable accommodation option for a summer weekend at Buller.

The meals were also good value off a limited menu.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirsteve03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your stay was prior to Enzian going into receivership. Fortunately Enzian has experienced a rebirth since your stay with the new owners addressing many issues. The new menu that Enzian offers is getting a great response from those on this side of the village with excellent cuisine and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a filthy and disgusting building. The most expensive tent on Mt Buller. In fact a tent would have been much more comfortable. Rude and obnoxious manageress, dirty rooms and linen.
Prisoners have got better living conditions.
BEWARE do not get sucked in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustyspur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your stay was prior to Enzian going into receivership. Fortunately Enzian has experienced a rebirth since your stay with the new owners addressing issues with heating and hot water. All of the bathrooms have all been reappointed. New linen has been purchased for the rooms giving it a fresh new look, New TV's that all work and many of the rooms have had new paintwork, fresh pictures applicable to alpine areas and overall a long overdue cleanup. Breakfast is still continental which is included in your accommodation price but has a much larger range than what sounds like what was offered by the previous owners. We invite you back to experience the hospitality of the new owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Look, Mt Buller sucked as far as ski resorts generally go and I would recommend Falls Creek or Mt Hotham for Vic resorts instead, but if you HAVE to go to Mt Buller - definitely stay at Hotel Enzian. The staff are fantastic - friendly, welcoming and willing to go the extra mile for you. Our room was fabulous - big bed, spacious size room with a mini fridge filled with milk for a hot tea/coffee at the end of a snow day. This place is location, location, location - a blue/black ski run 3mins walk away and the centre of the village/bottom of beginner runs 5mins walk away. There's a bus but we never used it because Enzian is so close. Don't miss Thursday seafood night at Hotel Enzian - soooo yummy and you won't be able to finish it all, that's for sure. Generally food at Mt Buller is poor so apart from Enzian, you must eat at Grimus - Austrian style food that's 5 star and an accordian playing host too. Don't bother with the Mercure Hotel's fine dining - big prices with disappointing results.

Room Tip: If it's available, ask for the king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Arrived at 9pm after an unpleasant experience at the Duck Inn. The staff couldn't do enough to help us. Throughout our stay the staff and management were constantly available, not only to provide a service, but also for general chit chat and genuinely interested in how our day had been.
On our last night, the family came and sat with us and chatted. They were really helpful helping us plan a route back to Adelaide following the Victorian floods, booked a taxi for an early getaway and brought breakfast facilities to our room so we could get ready to go without leaving the room.
Rooms are basic but functional, plenty of room and very clean and warm.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojosnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.2 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
0.3 mi away
Mt Buller Chalet Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enzian Hotel On Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enzian Hotel On Chamois

Property: Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Address: 69 Chamois Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Enzian Hotel On Chamois 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enzian has a true that true European Alps feel and is rated 3 stars by AAA Tourism. The hotel provides a true Australian alpine experience welcoming skiers and their families with genuine warmth and personal friendliness. Located just metres from Chamois Run and the Canyon Trail, and a short walk to the heart of Mt Buller's Alpine Village. Relax and enjoy apres drinks in the Austrian style bar rubbing shoulders with some of the mountain's identities. Enzian takes pride in the cuisine that it offers and will be sure to satisfy even the most discerning palate with its hearty meals suited for the ravenous skier after a hard day on and off the piste. One of the iconic accommodation houses on Mt Buller, So where else would you stay but Hotel Enzian on Chamois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Enzian Hotel On Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing