We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very late review but worth reading!?,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very late review but worth reading!?,”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the Hillview spa rooms for 2 weeks Xmas and New Year 2012/13 having travelled from UK. The "room" was bigger and better equipped than a lot of one bed let alone studio apartments!!! Massive comfy bed, large wardrobe, spacious living area with sofa and two chairs, good size coffee table, small dresser with flat screen TV and well equipped kitchenette with table and chairs. Bathroom huge with separate shower cubicle and lovely spa bath. I could honestly have lived there permanently!!! Fantastic value for money, free DIY guest laundry. Violette was a superstar - nothing was too much trouble. The fridge had basics in plus served as mini bar at very reasonable prices. Very pleasant surprise on Xmas Eve and New Years Eve - bottle of Champagne with seasons wishes and apology that room wouldn't be serviced Xmas or New Year day!!! We are going back to Oz to see family again next year and will be booking the Eltham without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Hillside spa WITH fully equipped kitchenette a must for longer stays - small block to left of entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huffy1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Huffy1_7,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay earlier this year at Eltham Gateway. we appreciate you taking the time - especially since it has been some time since seeing us. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed our Hillview spa suites for your festive season stay, and would of course love to welcome you back when returning to visit family in the Future.

Thank you once again.


With Regards, happy and safe travelling


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    53
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
40
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were luckily upgraded and had a roomy and neat executive suite with a spa and all round lovely Tom. Staff were super helpful and breakfast was great though it was a private function breakfast so maybe a step u from the run of the mill.

Room Tip: Splurge and have a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KTB311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear KTB,

Thank you for your recent review of Eltham Gateway. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in an executive suite and also enjoyed the post wedding breakfast on Sunday morning. I am also pleased that you found all our staff "super helpful".

Thank you again and happy travelling in the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at a near by venue. It was a very good location for us. The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and clean. We had a spa room which was reasonably priced and quite fun to do for the occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraciJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for recently staying at Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and you found our property clean, spacious and value for money.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and all the best for your future travels.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My daughter and her bridesmaid's stayed over the night before and after the wedding. Your staff were so very helpful, friendly and efficient. Nothing was to much trouble, extra cups, coffee and towels.(for the hairdressers, photographers and family that arrived). They left us to relax and enjoy the days events. Thank you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and that of your daughter and her bridesmaids at Eltham Gateway. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased that your families special wedding day was enjoyable for you.

We specialise in ensuring that special events are treated with the upmost care and we love making sure that all needs of guests are not only met, but exceeded.

Thank you once again and my thanks to all the wedding guests of Eltham Gateway

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here overnight when visiting Melbourne for the weekend and it was the best hotel I've stayed at. The staff were incredibly lovely and helpful when Melbourne's taxi service let me down (so if there's any advice I could give; it would be to bring your own car!) and the room was immaculate and worth every dollar I'd spent (if not more!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Lauren,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff, services and price to your liking.

Thank you once again for taknig the time and all the best for your futire travels.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived (in typical Melbourne rain) our greeting at reception was warm. With a minimum of fuss we were on our way to our room which was at a glorious temperature compared to the weather outside. The room was clean, neat and tidy with all the amenities you would need. Being on the main road may give the impression that traffic noise would be an issue, but the noise was barely perceptible with the window closed and the curtains drawn. The bathroom was clean and bright and to the wife's delight had a spa in it. After a night out at dinner we settled in to bed and after being in 3 or more different beds in the previous 4 days found the bed to be the most comfortable of our trip. Nice to have a sleep in in the morning and not have the sounds of a "hotel" waking you up. The hotel is set back far enough from the road that traffic doesn't disturb, but surrounded by bushland that echoes with the sounds of native birds. A quick and easy checkout and we were on our way. Have stayed there before, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank your for youre recent booking at Eltham Gateway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be to your liking. We certainly enjoy being surrounded by bushland and the tranquil nature of our property is enjoyed by many.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and all the best for your future travels.


Regards and Thanks


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights on holidays. Very happy and satisfied with the comfortable and clean apartment.All the facilities are fully functional. Daily house keeping make sure rubbish cleared and towels changed. Easy access to all the scenic location and Eltham town which is less than 5 minuets away. Staffs are friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogina24778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Geogina,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre.

We thank you for allowing us to host you during your holiday and are pleased that all your family enjoyed your stay in our 3-bedroom apartment. It is also enjoyable to read that you found all our facilities, amenities and staff to your liking.

Thank you once again and best wishes for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eltham
6.0 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
7.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Mill Park Motel
9.1 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,181 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1339 Main Rd, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Eltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing