We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Tyntynder Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyntynder Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have stayed at Tyntynder Lodge on a couple of occasions. We take our dogs as it is one of the most pet friendly places in Australia. Everything you could want in a self contained 2 bedroom unit. Clean, well equipped, comfortable.

Back gardens are tranquil, street is quiet, 1500 m from the centre of town.

Winter would be wonderful with log fire, summer is sublime with the bbq and outdoor area, autums is awesome with the gardens and spring is sensational with the birds.

Having visited Bright on many nights, Tyntynder is the best

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyvandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 262 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Quiet, clean, good beds, top quality fitout, beautiful gardens - what else is there to say??

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went to Bright for a long weekend with some friends and stayed at Tyntynder Lodge for 3 nights in two of the cottages. Upon booking we were provided with some great information on how to get to Bright, some lovely places to stop, eat and drink along the way, as well as some recommendations in Bright itself, which was very useful!

The cottages were very clean and well appointed with comfy beds and pillows, lovely toiletries (Molton Brown), a fully equipped kitchen and a cute pot belly wood stove to keep us very warm! Plenty of wood, kindling and fire starters were provided to get the fire roaring!

Tyntynder would also be great to stay at in summer as it has lovely gardens and a BBQ on the deck of the cottage and is very close to the river, which even in winter was lovely to walk along.

We had a lovely stay at Tyntynder and wouldn't hesitate in staying there again on our next visit to Bright!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at Tyntynder Lodge with a group of friends (9 of us in total - two cabins) for a long weekend.

Four of us stayed in a two bed cabin, with king bed and two singles. It was very cosy without being too cramped, beds were very comfy after a long drive from Melbourne and then a day on Hotham, and the cabins were well appointed with good, clean kitchens, very effective fires and heaters and all the other mod cons.

We arrived late on the Friday night, but it was very easy to find in the dark with the lights on and fire roaring when we got there and plenty of wood and kindling to keep it buring over the weekend.

The kitchen had all the usual facilities, including a great selection of cooking utensils and servery.

The location was great to get to the ski fields (about an hour including stop off for gear hire and coffee) and then also lots of shops and cafes around. If you don't want to stay on the ski fields, this is a great base to explore the area and not have to worry about getting up and down the mountain.

My only tip - if you leave the door to the bathroom closed make sure you wear something on your feet at night so the cold tiles don't give you a rude shock in winter! Hehe!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We have stayed in many properties in Bright over the years – but this one is outstanding in both its location and the quality of the presentation. We had heard about it for years but could never get in because it was always booked. Well it was worth waiting for.

For a start – the street. Quiet and peaceful – very rural feeling but actually still in town.

The whole place is spotlessly clean – they told me they had a checklist of 72 things they had to clean between each guest

Everything you could ever want is here – the kitchen has every bit of equipment you need.

Then there are the gardens – full of beautiful trees with lots of birdlife – black parrots, white parrots - there is even a resident kookaburra that sits in the trees looking at you. You’ve got your own BBQ so we just sat out every night in the garden and soaked up the peace and quiet

We walked for miles along the river during the day – there are beautiful tracks nearby that don’t have cars. That was another thing – they give you this list of where all the walks are and how to get to them from your back gate – really helpful.

I can see why this place wins all the Awards – someone really cares about it and it shows.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DMSOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this month. I have to say they are beautifully appointed cottages- the hosts seem to have thought of eveything. Tastefully decorated (no chinz in sight!) and meticulously clean.

We sat in our lovely garden which was very private and peaceful, took long walks and had a fantastic meal at Simones (cannot recommend the saltbush lamb more highly!).
All in all a very relaxing time in a lovely setting.

We're coming back in winter- I want to use the fire place next time!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melbaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Tyntynder with our dog. The accomodation was clean and airy, but very relaxing and romantic. I have loved Bright for years and decided to take my new Dutch husband to check it out. He was so pleasantly surprised that we are now taking his parent back there when they visit in December from Holland. Bright is a pretty town consisting of Mountains, trees, a beautiful river, superb craft shops, lovely restaraunts and warm friendly people. It is always fun to hire a bike and ride around the many bike trails or just explore on foot. Tyntynder is perfectly positioned close to the hustle and bustle, but just far enough away from it all, to have a private relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CharlieAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.8 mi away
BIG4 Bright Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Allambie Cottages Bright
1.9 mi away
Adina Lodge Holiday Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#5 of 45 in Bright
165 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyntynder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyntynder Lodge

Address: 4 Tyntynder Lane, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Tyntynder Lodge Garden Cottages)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range: $265 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a range of different properties to suit every size end price range 1. Tyntynder Lodge - sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms from $295 per night 2. La Flotte - our brand new property with 5 bedrooms/5 bathrooms and a pool 3. Brantome specially for 2 in a king size bed 4. Tessies Studio - sleeps 2 in a king size bed - from $195 per night 5. Tessies House - sleeps up to 6 - 3 bedrooms/2 bathrooms from $295 per night 6. Tessies House & Studio combined - sleeps up to 8 - 4 bedrooms/3 bathrooms. All properties are located in a quiet tree lined street close to town and the river. All have magnificent fully fenced private gardens and except for La Flotte are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyntynder Lodge Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing