We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buclkland, there is NO substitute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
Ranked #10 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Buclkland, there is NO substitute”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, the Buckland studio retreat is a great way to spend a romantic weekend away. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are going to be left alone to make your weekend away special in the way you want it. No annoying room service, no need to see anyone if you so desire, no knocks on the door to make up the room, no timeframes other than check out, you are in a very private, very quite retreat. You are made to feel like your the only person on the planet with assistance if you require it, just a phone call away. The vista is superb, surrounded on three sides by bush and the Buckland valley and the mountains looming in front of you it's a great way to see the sun go down and watch the sun come up. We stayed in studio 2 and were not disappointed in our choice. The info folder and welcome letter in our studio was enough to help us discover what we came to see and do. The double rain head shower and free standing bath was very well set up and the bathroom with the full wall of glass showing the bush land outside was superb. At first it's a bit disconcerting but adventurous couples will see this a a major bonus. Discret lighting has the most modest person feeling the vibe of the place. The studio was well appointed and the coonara fire place (with back up reverse cycle heating) was so romantic. kitchen had everything and the coffee machine was a welcome addition. The bed was magnificent, king size, and the choice of bedding and pillows will assure the most fitfull sleeper of a great nights kip. The outdoor decking area had a BBQ that we used and cooking while the sun was just about gone and seeing the wild life flitting around was a relaxing and peaceful experience. 10 minutes into bright and the pubs and restaurants was an easy drive. Breakfast was provided and our hosts very attentive without being intrusive. I feel that this is the essence of the place, this is the atmosphere of what the Buckland is all about. This place would suit world famous stars to joe average. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smithy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    16
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
106
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Studio One for 3 nights and really enjoyed our romantic getaway.

The rooms are luxuriously, thoughtfully and tastefully furnished with everything you would need for a short stay. The bathroom is amazing (so long as you don't mind a wet room)!

The hosts are friendly, discrete and put on a lovely breakfast spread including fresh fruit, proper coffee and eggs to order.

A great base to explore Bright and surrounds - although you won't want to leave the comfort of your studio too often!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtws11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Buckland is amazing.
Firstly, you can't beat the location - the Buckland valley is one of the most tranquil and picturesque areas of the Victorian high country, which in itself is a wonderful variety of landscapes and vistas. Only a short drive, or a decent ride from bright, you are minutes away from convenience and culture.

The studios spare no attention to detail - the modern architecture delivers crisp lines and immaculate finishes, softened by artful and comfortable interior design, and finished off with quality appliances and fittings. The end result? Pure luxury allowing you to simply relax and enjoy the surroundings.

The studios are completely private - your neighbours are basically invisible, as you are enclosed on three sides by native bush which recedes up the hillside behind you. This results in multitudes of different varieties of birdlife - an enjoyable distraction while sitting on the deck enjoying the fresh alpine air.

Eddie and sabina are efficient hosts, providing a bountiful breakfast with minimum interaction. Perfect for a private getaway for couples.

Ten thumbs up guys, well done! We'll be back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downhilljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Buckland retreat for a weekend away. Let's start with the obvious - this is a beautiful location with breathtaking views. The secluded studios are equally impressive. A lot of care and attention to detail has gone into designing and furnishing these studios. The bedroom was impressive - lovely bed with pillow menu. The loungeroom, with great views, was very comfortable. We also had the pleasure of enjoying a wonderful breakfast in the lounge. The breakfast was delightful, and the coffees could put some of the best coffee houses in Melbourne to shame!
I would just mention that the nightly price does not include daily servicing of the studios. I found this to be the only disappointment of our stay at the Buckland. For the price paid on a daily basis, I would expect a luxury retreat to include daily servicing. It's OK if you are only staying for 1 or 2 nights, but still - the price-tag lead me to believe that the Buckland, being a luxury retreat, would include servicing as standard. I would have appreciated servicing more than the SMEG microwave!
The Buckland is a lovely place, and if you can afford it, I would recommend a visit. But I think it's important to know what you are paying for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We feel 10 years younger after just 2 nights in Studio 4 at The Buckland! This is the perfect place to relax and a great base to come back to after exploring the area. The studio design is a delight, with all mod cons and that touch of luxury we all need when we want a few days away. It is hard to describe the feeling of tranquillity as you gaze in wonder at the views of Mt Buffalo in different lights. A glass of local wine in hand on the deck, birds flitting to and fro in the bush outside every window.... truly magnificent! Eddie and Sabine are delightful hosts, providing a scrumptious breakfast and such good advice about the area. We WILL be back!
Sue and Glen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Buckland and were amazed by the cabin features, breathtaking views and hospitality provided by Eddie and Sabine (the breakfast was yummy!).

If you want to relax and enjoy the peace and serenity this is the place for you. Our cabin had a fireplace and an amazing bathroom with a massive bath tub (cabin 1). A perfect combination to spend quality time relaxing and being with your partner. Within a 30 to 60min, you are within the vicinity of wineries, great bike tracks, mountains, lovely towns and other places to drive to fill your day. Step out to onto the deck at night and you see millions of stars! Beautiful!

Don’t really understand the negative comment here about nothing to do and seeing a snake. Perhaps planning your trip to do things could be an idea and remember, you are in bushland where you get to see birds, kangaroos and other wildlife – and I would assume being in the bush a snake would be expected?

Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicnBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful relaxing escape in a private studio pretending no one else existed! Tranquil, and very comfortable perfect way to be spoilt as a couple. A very hot few days made more pleasant by the cool night air and lots of windows. Loved the double shower and comfy bed, even a pillow menu. Breakfast was just down the hill in the breakfast lounge, fresh free range eggs and lovely fruit, hosted by Eddy & Sabine. Just a very special treat for us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
4.0 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
334 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#5 of 44 in Bright
157 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chestnut Tree Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Allambie Cottages Bright
4.3 mi away
Big4 Bright
Big4 Bright
#2 of 44 in Bright
421 reviews
4.2 mi away
Luxury Abalina Cottages
Luxury Abalina Cottages
#11 of 44 in Bright
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckland - Studio Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckland - Studio Retreat

Property: The Buckland - Studio Retreat
Address: 116 McCormack's Lane | Buckland Valley, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buckland - Studio Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckland - Studio Retreat offers luxury accommodation for couples nestled in the picturesque Buckland Valley, close to Bright, Victoria. Contemporary architecture combined with stylish interior and fabulous views of Mt. Buffalo invite you to relax and unwind. Enjoy the privacy of your own chalet, wake up to the soothing sounds of the bush, indulge in a delicious breakfast at The Buckland Cafe and then explore the many delights the Alpine High Country has on offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Buckland - Studio Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buckland - Studio Retreat Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing