We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The motel is situated in a side street just meters from the centre of town which is a big advantage as it means you can leave your car and walk into town as parking spots are somewhat limited in town. Motel is very clean and tidy, we were in unit 2 and it has a great bed. Shower is over the bath, something we don't really like but it had a rubber mat so you don't slip and a grab handle. Despite being so close to town and it being a long weekend we did not hear a sound all night. Great "silent" heater, and electric blankets. Parking spots are a bit on the tight side but everyone managed to park one car per room. Lots of hot water and quite a good size room. Though not ultra modern it was still nice and everything we needed.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Rooms small, dark and in need of complete renovation, especially bathrooms. Very dated . property looks good from outside . Owner surly and unhelpful. Position is good in central part of town but plenty of better accommodation on offer.

Room Tip: Dont stay.Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trudi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights and found it to be an ideal place to use as a base to drive and explore the surrounding area. The Motor Inn itself is in a quiet tree-lined street within very easy walking distance to shops and restaurants, an excellent hotel that serves great meals, and also close to the river and river walks. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the owners helpful, though their knowledge of the local area was extremely limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Loved staying here and will do again next easter. The room decor is a little outdated but they are so clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had sooo much pressure. Loved it.
The location is excellent. It's on a quiet street just off the the city centre so it's only a short stroll to the town which was perfect. It was peaceful and quiet. Customer service was excellent. I had two young children with me and the managers did all they could to assist me. I was so pleased and grateful. They really did make my stay enjoyable. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Clean, quiet, comfortable and right in the heat of Bright.
Shops, pubs and restaurants are just half a block away, the owners are very helpful and friendly and the rooms have everything you need for an enjoyable stay.
We only stayed one night but I'm sure a longer stay would be just as enjoyable.
For cyclists the motel is metres from the rail trail and the owners will help with security for your bike.
Great value and a great option in Bright.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great little motel. Clean room, imaculate grounds and a great quite location. Only small downside was a little bit of noise above room, but nothing to bad. Overall we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute option when we found we were a day early for other accommodation we'd booked during peak summer season. It was great for us- family of 2 adults and 3 children. Dated decor but very clean and excellent value for money. It was stinking hot when we arrived - over 40oC but air con kicked in fast and it was very comfortable with a separate room for 3 kids in a bunk with double underneath. could have cereal and toast supplies for breakfast if yiou wanted (we didn't) as there was a toaster, crockery etc for breakfast and table with chairs. Other groups occupied outdoor tables around the pool with takeaway pizzas etc but it would be an option for some ppl. Central location- just 2 mins walk to rest of town, Woolworths, restaurants etc. Cheaper than a cabin in a caravan park! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bright
0.2 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Country Motor Inn
High Country Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Bright
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
120 reviews
12.5 mi away
Harrietville Hotel Motel
Harrietville Hotel Motel
#3 of 3 in Harrietville
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn

Address: 10 Wood St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price Range: $102 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Bright Motor Inn is a AAA rated 3 & a half star, 20 room colonial style motel. It is located in a superb tree-lined street of Bright and within a 100 metre walk to the cafe, restaurant and shopping precinct of this beautiful tourist town. The motel has secure off-street parking, a swimming pool, washing and drying facilities and wireless internet. Set in Australia’s Alpine High Country, Bright has many spectacular sights and activities on offer. Do a lot or do nothing at all – the choice is yours. For the adventurous there is abseiling, caving, rock climbing, canoeing, fly fishing, micro lighting, para gliding,walking and cycling (see links above for further details). For those requiring a more subdued experience, we are central to the gourmet, food and wine region of the Alpine Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing