We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of dissapointment if you have high expectations”
Review of Tani - CLOSED

Tani
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tani expresses a casual dining environment that anyone can enjoy. Offering a regional contemporary menu with many dining options. We use seasonal and regional produce sourced from small growers (friends) and small producers where possible.We offer a diverse list of beverages. The list ranges from craft beer to aged sake yet we still have a strong emphasis on wine from local and afar.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of dissapointment if you have high expectations”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had dinner on Good Friday, had to have a set menu, glad we went for 4 courses and not 6, otherwise we would have spend an entire night waiting for our courses to arrive..
Nice place, good service, but quite a long wait in between each course, which consist of very small portion, well presented, but litelly enough for a child to have a taste of what is on your plate. Had 3 courses.. was looking forward to the 4th one, only to find my small piece of fish was so salted i had to leave it.
There are better places in Bright to visit for beautiful food.
I found it being overrated " i would say nothing special", you can find better value for money..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    44
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and excellent service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were a group of 6 old friends and we were welcomed into Tani like we had also known the owner for 40 years. We were welcomed and cared for for the night and that service certainly helped to make the evening special. The food was very interesting as the chefs had spent some time in Japan and the influence lifted everything that we were served. The result was a meal that really worked well with complementary flavours and textures making each dish an adventure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is probably the best meal I have eaten in a restaurant.
The menu is designed to eat several courses and so the serves aren't huge.
Local produce is used (including malt from the brewery across the road) as well as unusual ingredients. A tasting menu is available but I chose from the menu which meant I had enough room for dessert.
The staff are friendly and knowledgable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CammieElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting food, beautifully presented, service leaves something to be desired.”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went to Tani as we had read good reviews of the restaurant. Unfortunately, the initial impression was not positive as it took about 20 minutes before our food order was taken. This is despite the restaurant being fairly empty. We only wanted a glass of wine each and were rather surprised when it arrived in the glass well before the food (in other words we did not see the bottle). After giving our order it took another 25 minutes for the food to arrive. When I commented on this the waitress rather rudely said that it had only taken 25 minutes and that she had timed it, completely forgetting the fact we had been sitting there for at least 20 minutes prior to ordering. Having said this the food was excellent, beautifully presented and delicious. I had a wonderful goat cheese entree and my partner cured venison. He had fish for mains which he said was wonderful. I had another small dish a cured trout which I felt somewhat lacking in flavour, however it was visually very attractive. This is a fairly expensive restaurant and our overall impression was of good food and attractive restaurant somewhat spoiled by poor service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Innovative and delicious food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have eaten here with friends and taken two tour groups there over the past few months. Rachel and Hamish have created something unique in our little town. The food is fabulous and unusual but still focuses on local flavours. They have a great wine list and can offer good advice on which wines to choose. All the staff are friendly and efficient. Thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HedonisticHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tani also viewed

 
Bright, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing