We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is crap and I will not be staying there again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Odd Frog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Odd Frog
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Bright
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is crap and I will not be staying there again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Place is badly designed and hard to heat - bathroom freezing and had to move around in shower to get wet - bed like sleeping in a boat - views are not specutacular - furniture getting old and worn couch had dog hair on it. Over priced and poor customer service - walk to town closer to 15min than 6-7 min quoted by owner

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place was sensational! We will be back.
All modern amenities accept for the lack of a comfy couch.
There was a very small TV, so if your expecting the TV to entertain you, then look elsewhere, but for us, all we wanted was natures TV which you get from every window, even while taking a shower. It is close to the town centre, however, if your coming home after a few beverages or the ladies are waring heals....you won't be walking...it's to steep and unstable under foot, but fine in appropriate footware.
This was a great getaway for a couple of days and a long overdue break from the kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mugwui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Wow, Wow, Wow. Amazing views, clean studio. the best place we have ever stayed in. cannot fault the place.

Room Tip: stayed in studio 3. bring the areoguard as Mossies bad at this time. We decided to stay in and cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here after being recommended by friends. Staff were very friendly, even assisting us to be refunded the extra charge for our baby. Have to agree that the dog next door is annoying but it is a beautiful property with wonderful views over the valley. Some small attention to detail could make it 5 stars. Bed was really comfortable. Very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisismissmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just arrived home from a wonderful stay in Bright, Victoria. We chose the Odd Frog because we were after something a little different and it didn't disapoint. The ease in which we booked on line to the friendly voice on the phone, meant we could begin our time away without any fuss. We only needed advise on restaurants and the recomendations were great, Food Wine and Friends for breakfast, Coralee for lunch and Simones for dinner, fantastic! Our studio was clean, modern and comfy. We loved our little getaway and cant wait to book again.
Oh, the Railtrail cafe in Porepunkah has the best french toast ever!

Room Tip: studio 2, views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We would just like to say thankyou for a most wonderful 3 days!! It was cosy, romantic and the views as we woke each morning were just gorgeous!!! We will never forget our 25th wedding anniversary thats for sure! Not to mention the wonderful little cafes and winneries around Bright!!!!

Kim and Michael Ryan
:)

Room Tip: bring salt and pepper! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

An unplanned trip to Bright saw me searching my iphone looking for accommodation at the last minute. Thankfully we found The Odd Frog. The manager was friendly and welcoming.
We stayed in Studio One and really enjoyed being surrounded by trees, and the tranquility away from the main street.
The open fire was cosy, the bed comfy and we thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.9 mi away
Alpine Valley Cottages
Alpine Valley Cottages
#13 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#5 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allambie Cottages Bright
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
0.5 mi away
Luxury Abalina Cottages
Luxury Abalina Cottages
#14 of 43 in Bright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Autumn Abode Cottages
Autumn Abode Cottages
#19 of 43 in Bright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Odd Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Odd Frog

Property: The Odd Frog
Address: 3 McFadyens Lane, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Odd Frog 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Odd Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Odd Frog Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing