We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Bright B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The three rooms with ensuites and a common lounge was perfect for gathering our children and their partners prior to travelling overseas. Comfortable, spacious and spotless this is a new build attached to an old cottage in the Main Street. A great location for a short or long stay

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ColletteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks Collette for your guest review, really happy you & your family enjoyed your stay at our bed & breakfast and also your visit to Villa Gusto for dinner. Regards Keith & Pauline (Gatekeepers Cottage Bed & Breakfast).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Gatekeepers Cottage BnB was our first experience at this type of accommodation. And if this is what you get we will defineately try this out again.
After a personal and friendly welcome from Keith the owner we entered the building and were instantly impressed with it's cleanliness and neatness. We had one of two bedrooms with its own ensuite which included a massive shower recess and once again spotless and uncluttered decor.
The welcoming box of chocolates was hard to resist and all drinks were part of the tarriff where a choice of reds and whites, beers and soft drinks were available.
A supper of homemade biscuits was also provided after our return from dinner in town.
Flat screen teles are provided in the bedrooms and the sitting room is well appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast was a perfectly cooked bacon and eggs and can be ordered with a large choice of options.
Probably a 10 minute walk into town with the cycle track at its rear also has advantages.
Parking is a little cramped but is ok.
Keith and Pauline, thanks for your true blue country hospitality. You run a super little business and we will certainly stay with you again.

BevnBob Narrabeen

Room Tip: Very quiet which ever room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandBevSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you Bev & Bob for your terrific guest review, glad you both loved your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on how clean our bed & breakfast is, we both set a high standard to make sure it is spotless and inviting for our guests, glad you both enjoyed all the extras that are included in the standard price.
Your hosts.
Keith & Pauline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

we recently stayed at Bright for a long weekend and surfed the net looking for place to stay. we chose gatekeepers cottage for 3 nights, a good location right on the main road as you drive into Bright, ... we were really just looking for a simple, neat & clean little place .... given the very reasonable price we didn't really expect very much..
the day we arrived was a hot 38 deg c but after we stepped inside, we were cheerfully greeted by Keith with a clean fresh and refreshingly cool , very neat and tidy "home away from home" ... Keith went the extra mile to explain to us the many things to do and see and suggested some places to eat at ...
we were offered a "menu" with some breakfast options including eggs , bacon, pancakes, selection of cereals, juices and asked what time we wanted breakfast to be served ... we asked for 8.30am ... the next morning at 8.25 Keith was cooking the fried eggs and bacon and they were plated up and carried to the dining table at exactly 8.30 sharp ! !... very impressive ! .. we really weren't expecting that on our holiday but it was nice to know that 8.30 still means 8.30 to some people .
we had heard about the bicycle tracks in the area , we didn't bring our bikes along, the next day Keith had 2 bikes (almost brand new) out for us to use ...
another unexpected surprise,... every evening Pauline or Keith would cook some fresh choc chip cookies, or scones or cream filled cupcakes for us , they always went down very well .. the tea and coffee making facilities went well beyond basic Lipton and included a great selection of teas and the espresso coffee pod machine on hand as well ...
there was a well stocked fridge full of cold drinks, beers, UDL mixer cans, juices, milk, soft drinks etc and even a tray of fresh cherries and yoghurt... i was looking for the price list for the drinks, but not to be... all the drinks were complimentary during the stay... and on top of the fridge was a selection of popular basic spirits and red wines ... amazing ! ! ... the cold Vodka UDL went down a treat at the end of the hot day ...
the bed and bed linen was as good as you would find in any good hotel, the cleanliness of the room was even better than most 5 star deluxe international brand hotels, not even a single tiny tiny bit of mould to be seen anywhere in any part of the bathroom or shower... it was like brand new...
the night time "turn down amenity" wasn't one of those tiny choc mints that you get in a five star hotel .. it was a whole box of mini favourites chocolate bars, ... and in the bathroom, it wasn't a little soap in a packet that you would expect in a cheap motel, it was a whole bar of imperial leather soap..
if we go back to Bright we will definitely stay at the Gatekeepers Cottage again,
thank you Keith and Pauline for your generous and kind Hospitality

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you Geoff & Lillian for your wonderful guest review , glad you loved all the little extras we give our guests, every one who stays here they all get the same extras that make them enjoy their stay and feel relaxed at our bed & breakfast , till next time, regards - Keith & Pauline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and usually stay in self catering places for the flexibility they offer so our 2 night stay at Gatekeepers was the first B&B we've done in over 15 years. Our distant memories of B&B went out of the window when we first walked in and were greeted by Keith and Pauline and "shown the ropes". The facilities are excellent with three on-suite queens rooms leading off a common lounge/dining area. Everything beautifully clean and ordered and where you expect it to be. Then there's all the additions that really made the difference for us. In our room there were chocolates and a presentation pack of really good shampoo and conditioner. The fridge in the dining area had complimentary soft drinks, water, beer and wine (great after a long, hot drive in the mountains) as well as yogurt for snacking on. But there were other complimentary things available as well including biscuits, tea, Nespresso or plunger coffee (very addictive) and cake for supper! Breakfast is ordered the evening before from an excellent menu and is available at the time you specify in great quantity. Putting on weight could be a significant risk at gatekeepers if you can't resist temptation or don't work off some calories on the numerous trails that pass very close by. Sipping a beer and watching the kangaroos grazing on the adjacent slopes in the evening is a great way to chill out.

Keith and Pauline are really nice people and great hosts and with this sort of service we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Myself & Pauline are very thrilled by your guest review. We are so glad you both had a great time at our B&B, though it was very hot, you both still enjoyed the visit to our pretty town of Bright, thank you.
Regards
Keith & Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Gatekeepers Cottage in Bright for 2 nights. Keith and Pauline are wonderful hosts, friendly, courteous, and full of great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The rooms were SO clean and the breakfast scrumptious. The little touches such as a fridge stocked with complimentary drinks, chocolates and soap on the bed, fluffy towels make the stay so much better. The countryside around Bright is some of the most beautiful in Australia, so if you're coming for a visit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJND_Sydney_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We both enjoyed your company and it was good to you were both relaxed and enjoyed your stay at Gatekeepers Cottage B&B, once again the weather was very hot, but you both still loved your stay in Bright.
Regards.
Keith & Pauline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before and now we both realize that no other will compare to the wonderful experience we had at Gatekeepers Cottage! We were made to feel so welcome. Was it the chocolates or the really nice soap, shampoo and conditioner or the extra toothbrush and spare shaver or maybe the fridge that was filled with any amount of beer, wine, soft drinks and water. I guess it could have been Pauline's scrumptious afternoon cakes biscuits and muffins - personally I think maybe it was Keith's fantastic poached eggs and bacon in the morning! They were so good I didn't even get to try the pancakes. If you haven't been to Bright before then you are missing God's own country and his two very own angels waiting to spoil you. So go on make a booking - what are waiting for xx Paul and Kathy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Wow, words just cannot explain how proud we both feel, to Paul & Kathy, we both know how much that you both enjoyed your stay at our B&B, but your guest review has blown us away, thank you so much. To start up a B&B from scratch and not been quite 2 years old and to rank number 1 on tripadvisor in Bright for B&Bs is great for us and great for our guests who love to be well looked after and treated so special
Keith & Pauline
Gatekeepers Cottage B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Would definitely recommend Bright Gatekeepers Cottage B&B.
Keith was wonderful when making the booking. On arrival we were greeted by Pauline who was also wonderful, we had never experienced a B&B before however we were reassured that we would love it......and we did!! The freshness/cleanliness was evident as soon as you walked through the door. Our breakfast was amazing, thank you Keith, always on time and always hot! Supper was never a disappointment either, thank you Pauline. This experience is definitely in our top ten!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.5 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bright Riverside Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#3 of 7 in Bright
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bright Motor Inn
Bright Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Bright
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bright Avenue Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Gavan St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bright
Price Range: $138 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor Traveler Choice award for 2016 & 2015.Newest & Closet Traditional bed and breakfast to the centre of town, offering full breakfast, supper, hot and cold drinks(some alcohol included) chocolates & free WIFI. Your hosts Keith & Pauline. ***** SORRY NO CHILDREN OR PETS ALLOWED ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing