We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Bright B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Gatekeepers Cottage in Bright for 2 nights. Keith and Pauline are wonderful hosts, friendly, courteous, and full of great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The rooms were SO clean and the breakfast scrumptious. The little touches such as a fridge stocked with complimentary drinks, chocolates and soap on the bed, fluffy towels make the stay so much better. The countryside around Bright is some of the most beautiful in Australia, so if you're coming for a visit, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJND_Sydney_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We both enjoyed your company and it was good to you were both relaxed and enjoyed your stay at Gatekeepers Cottage B&B, once again the weather was very hot, but you both still loved your stay in Bright.
Regards.
Keith & Pauline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
131
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before and now we both realize that no other will compare to the wonderful experience we had at Gatekeepers Cottage! We were made to feel so welcome. Was it the chocolates or the really nice soap, shampoo and conditioner or the extra toothbrush and spare shaver or maybe the fridge that was filled with any amount of beer, wine, soft drinks and water. I guess it could have been Pauline's scrumptious afternoon cakes biscuits and muffins - personally I think maybe it was Keith's fantastic poached eggs and bacon in the morning! They were so good I didn't even get to try the pancakes. If you haven't been to Bright before then you are missing God's own country and his two very own angels waiting to spoil you. So go on make a booking - what are waiting for xx Paul and Kathy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Wow, words just cannot explain how proud we both feel, to Paul & Kathy, we both know how much that you both enjoyed your stay at our B&B, but your guest review has blown us away, thank you so much. To start up a B&B from scratch and not been quite 2 years old and to rank number 1 on tripadvisor in Bright for B&Bs is great for us and great for our guests who love to be well looked after and treated so special
Keith & Pauline
Gatekeepers Cottage B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Would definitely recommend Bright Gatekeepers Cottage B&B.
Keith was wonderful when making the booking. On arrival we were greeted by Pauline who was also wonderful, we had never experienced a B&B before however we were reassured that we would love it......and we did!! The freshness/cleanliness was evident as soon as you walked through the door. Our breakfast was amazing, thank you Keith, always on time and always hot! Supper was never a disappointment either, thank you Pauline. This experience is definitely in our top ten!!

  • Liked — The friendliness, the warm welcoming and the amazing hospitality.
  • Disliked — Could do with extra power points in room
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for one night at this lovely cottage when I was in town for business. Keith is a true gem of a host who goes to great lengths to make you feel like you're 'home'. The little touches like chocolates on the bed and big, fluffy towels just says "you're special". After I walked the Rail Trail to town for some dinner, I was greeted back at the cottage with Supper and a selection of teas, coffee and port. This was just the kind of hospitality I enjoy, especially when traveling solo. Keith also goes to great lengths to prepare a hearty breakfast the next morning, complete with local homemade preserves. I made sure I stopped by the Berry Farm on my way home to purchase a jar myself. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marketingreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks Mindy for a guest review that makes our b&b number 1 on tripadvisor for b&bs. We are glad that you loved all the little extras that we provide when you stay with us, hope we see you again Mindy, always welcome.
Regards
Keith & Pauline
Gatekeepers Cottage B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A most comfortable, welcoming 'home from home', well situated for easy access to the town centre. The hosts, Pauline and Keith, have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure that every stay is most enjoyable. The rooms, all with ensuite, are of a good size and there is a very large communal guest lounge to relax in. The breakfast is first rate and Pauline and Keith also provide delicious cake for supper. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you Jenny & Tony for those kinds words and we are really glad you both enjoyed your stay at our b&b in beautiful Bright, kind regards Keith & Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I, plus another couple stayed at the Gatekeepers cottage in July. We had spent a massive day at the snow and were blown away by the hospitality and comfort we were provided with when we arrived at the cottage. When we arrived our rooms were already toasty warm and the fridge was packed with complimentary drinks. Each room had its own ensuite so we didn't have to fight for the shower, and its own TV so we could relax and chill out in our room. We didn't need to head out for snacks as an impressive supper was served and don't forget the complimentary chocolates. The rooms were very clean. Keith and Pauline were very accommodating as they were happy for us to drop off our gear early in the morning before heading up the mountain. Such a cosy place to stay. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks guys for staying at our B&B, we hope to see you all soon, glad you loved our place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here alone recently and had a wonderful time. The hosts Pauline and Keith had just the right balance between being friendly and offering information while also leaving me alone to relax. It was very clean and there was always food available - home made muffins, a cheese platter at night etc. Breakfast was very good, as was the coffee. The bedrooms were very well done, cosy, comfortable and there were lovely touches like welcome chocolates and great bathroom provisions. Bright is a beautiful place to visit and from the Gatekeepers it is an easy walk into town with lovely walking options to avoid the main road (along the river or along the old rail tracks). Although its very cold at this time of year, the Gatekeepers B&B was a beautifully warm and cosy place to warm up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you Claire for your wonderful guest review. We try and make every person happy and tell them about beautiful Bright at our B&B. We have so many people from Sydney who stay at our B&B and have all enjoyed themselves and Claire we are so happy you did to. Another Sydneysider who now knows about Bright.
Regards Keith & Pauline
Gatekeepers Cottage B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.5 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big4 Bright
Big4 Bright
#2 of 44 in Bright
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Bright
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allambie Cottages Bright
0.8 mi away
Ashwood Cottages
Ashwood Cottages
#4 of 44 in Bright
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
Address: 32 Gavan St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor Traveler Choice award for 2016 & 2015.Newest & Closet Traditional bed and breakfast to the centre of town, offering full breakfast, supper, hot and cold drinks(some alcohol included) chocolates & free WIFI. Your hosts Keith & Pauline. ***** SORRY NO CHILDREN OR PETS ALLOWED ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing