We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bright Colonial Inn Motel(Bright)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn(Bright)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bogong View Motor Inn(Bright)(Great Value!)
$79
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bright Velo(Bright)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ovens Valley Motor Inn(Bright)(Great Value!)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
182
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgatekeepers cottagestocked fridgeon arrivalrail trailshared loungelittle extrasgreat selection of teashomemade chocolate moussehome baked treatswine and soft drinksdelicious cooked breakfastwonderful hospitalitya wonderful stayextra touchesan excellent hosteach morningroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 188 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I, plus another couple stayed at the Gatekeepers cottage in July. We had spent a massive day at the snow and were blown away by the hospitality and comfort we were provided with when we arrived at the cottage. When we arrived our rooms were already toasty warm and the fridge was packed with complimentary drinks. Each room had its own ensuite so we didn't have to fight for the shower, and its own TV so we could relax and chill out in our room. We didn't need to head out for snacks as an impressive supper was served and don't forget the complimentary chocolates. The rooms were very clean. Keith and Pauline were very accommodating as they were happy for us to drop off our gear early in the morning before heading up the mountain. Such a cosy place to stay. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks guys for staying at our B&B, we hope to see you all soon, glad you loved our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here alone recently and had a wonderful time. The hosts Pauline and Keith had just the right balance between being friendly and offering information while also leaving me alone to relax. It was very clean and there was always food available - home made muffins, a cheese platter at night etc. Breakfast was very good, as was the coffee. The bedrooms were very well done, cosy, comfortable and there were lovely touches like welcome chocolates and great bathroom provisions. Bright is a beautiful place to visit and from the Gatekeepers it is an easy walk into town with lovely walking options to avoid the main road (along the river or along the old rail tracks). Although its very cold at this time of year, the Gatekeepers B&B was a beautifully warm and cosy place to warm up.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you Claire for your wonderful guest review. We try and make every person happy and tell them about beautiful Bright at our B&B. We have so many people from Sydney who stay at our B&B and have all enjoyed themselves and Claire we are so happy you did to. Another Sydneysider who now knows about Bright.
Regards Keith & Pauline
Gatekeepers Cottage B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gatekeepers Cottage B&B in Bright. We were very impressed with the accommodation. It was clean, comfortable and very homely. The hosts were great and made our stay feel extra special. The host's hospitality felt more like a friendship different to your usual two night stay in either a caravan park or motel. I am so glad that we decided to stay with Gatekeepers and would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B. The hosts went the extra mile to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. Thanks so much Gatekeepers we look forward to staying with you again in the near future. Bright one of the most beautiful places to visit especially in Autumn.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this type of accommodation if B&B's are your thing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you Marina for our wonderful guest review, having you & john stay here was a pleasure and the company was 1st class, please come again, see you soon, regards keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed stayed at Gatekeeper’s Cottage and what a treat it was. The cottage is perfectly appointed - close to town and right on the bike paths. The accommodation was clean, cosy and we had more than enough room to make ourselves at home. Pauline and Keith were extremely hospitable. The choice and quality of breakfasts well exceed our expectations. The afternoon tea experience was a welcomed surprise. We loved the fact that we could come back (after our daily roaming) to such a warm, homely atmosphere. Pauline and Keith kept us informed of all the local eating and entertainment ‘hot spots’, which is always appreciated when you’re new to town. We found it such a relaxing experience and the friendly hosts provided a first rate service – nothing was too much trouble. We definitely recommend staying longer than 2 nights. When we return it will be with the intention to extend the relaxation experience... perhaps a week would do the trick? I can’t imagine a better way to get away from the city and enjoy the natural beauty of Bright than by booking your stay at the Gatekeeper’s Cottage. Do it!

Room Tip: From memory most of the rooms about the same size. All appeared to provide the same level of privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Gatekeepers over the Easter Break, well what an experience, clean as a whistle, great people, great food and wine, great room and beds but most of all great hosts who could not do enough to make your stay the best you have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith E, Owner at Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thanks Rodney, you really enjoyed yourself at our b&b over easter,you have been through a rough patch, hope things improve, we loved your company, go pies. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews