We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable basic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Acceptable basic motel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We had room 3 which opened onto the rear garden but was generally rather dark. The bathroom facilities were basic but acceptable - the shower was temperamental. The room was a good size. We did not eat in the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
57
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked a 2 bed family unit via wotif.com for $165. Reception was quick and welcoming, air-conditioning was on when we opened the door - excellent as it was 38 degrees outside. Although the rooms are a bit dated, it was all very clean with plenty of room to spread out. Beds comfortable, good facilities. The "back" of the room was glass including sliding doors opening onto a park with swimming pool - all very pleasant. Only downsides - bathroom old, shower over bath, no dual flush toilet (in 2014!), no air con in 2nd bedroom, consequently our teenagers found it was stuffy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulgamagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked two rooms at this Motel which is about 15 minutes walk from the town but due to illness we could only take one room but had to pay for despite the fact that the motel was full and Bright very busy, I feel it would have been very easy to re-let the vacant room. The rooms are very dark but most look out onto the gardens where you can relax. When we booked this motel we knew it was a walk out of Bright but where pleased to see we could eat on site. But unfortunately the restaurant was closed so we had to drive or walk into town (the walk into town is very pleasant along the river), this was fine in the evening but not for breakfast. On returning to our room one day (we stayed four nights) the room had been cleaned but the bed not made.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are nothing fantastic, but represent great value for money. I wasn't a fan of the mustard-coloured paint, and the bed furniture was a bit retro, but I had everything I needed in the room and I slept well.

What IS great about the motel are the grounds. Absolutely beautiful, like living around a park. With a swimming pool, adventure playground, barbecues and plenty of nice places to sit, I could imagine this being a perfect base for family holidays in the Bright area.

I do repeat the warning in an earlier review, stay away from the rooms near the heat exchangers, they are NOISY. I had no problem being moved to another room on request, but I wouldn't have slept well if I'd been forced to stay in the first room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed 1 night.....Motel location good,room clean, unknown item in fridge ( assume left by previous guest and not found / removed by cleaning staff ) Manager apparantly away for few days and fill in staff not all that accomodating nor knowlegeble about the Motel operations......no offer of breakfast or anything.....promised a Tax Invoice by email in a couple of days as the fill in staff did not know how to print tax invoice.....still has not arrived. Stay away from the rooms near the corners where those tall round machines are located outside....they run all night and will keep you awake if you are a light sleeper ! Have stayed here previously when was in the Best Weston chain and standards have slipped !

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the corners where those tall round machines are located outside....the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bright hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
• large, clean rooms
• friendly reception staff
• no restaurant on site, but did provide a charge back service with restaurants in town (no delivery to room though)
• easy access to beautiful garden and pool area through sliding doors straight from room
• comfortable bed and pillows

Cons:
• no restaurant on site, but did provide a charge back service with restaurants in town (no delivery to room though)
• free-to-air tv only (no Foxtel)
• water pressure in shower pretty weak
• bit far from town (about 1 km), which means it's nice & quiet, but too far to walk for dinner

If you're after peace and quiet, this is for you, however I would probably try to find accommodation closer to town next time.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4ndre_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crib Point
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights early October and couldn't have been happier with the service. Friendly owners, clean rooms and reasonably priced. Great value stay... Not too far from town centre. (15 min walk) nicely manicured courtyard with pool and bbq area and seemed quiet..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidgell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.7 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Bright
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Motor Inn

Property: High Country Motor Inn
Address: 13-17 Great Alpine Road, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Bright motel, nestled in the Ovens Valley and close to Mt Hotham, Mt Buffalo and Falls Creek ski fields. The Best Western High Country Motor Inn offers 3.5-star accommodation in Bright. All rooms have queen-sized beds,reverse-cycle air conditioning and 32inch LCD TV's. Choose from executive rooms, spa rooms or two-bedroom family rooms. Other facilities at this Bright motel include a licensed restaurant and bar, European cedar-style sauna, Outdoor pool with BBQ facilties set amongst our spacious gardens. FREE high speed wireless internet.Guests staying at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn will be close to local attractions and activities, including famous ski fields, alpine national parks, historical goldfields, wineries, cycling, bushwalking, paragliding, fly-fishing and golf. Don?t forget the camera! For warm hospitality and an ideal location in Bright, make a reservation at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your High Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bright
Bright Best Western
High Country Motor Inn Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing