We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet, & Quomfortable (in off season)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Not many guests there, which made the experience very quiet. It's obvious that this motel is geared towards skiers in the winter season. The restaurant was not operating and they only supplied 2 mugs with spoons and 2 glasses. Makes it hard if you want to eat in your room - but you can always go out for dinner. No microwave, but had a bar fridge. Styled in the 70's. The bed was well worn as it had two body dents in the mattress. It took us a while to get the air conditioner on to heat as there were no specific instructions to indicate what the symbols meant on the remote. Bathroom had heater lighting, but it had a timer button, which meant that it only stayed on for one minute. Would suggest you take your own foot heater for the bathroom area. It's a little pricey for what you got, but cheap for Bright. It's located about a two minute drive to the centre of town. Overall an OK stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms out the back which overlook a mountain landscape and are the furthest from the main...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for High Country Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed o/night at this excellent motel, only a short distance from the town centre of Bright.
Rates were reasonable, room clean, comfortable and spacious. The continental breakfast included in the rate was also excellent.
Thanks Nick.

Room Tip: Ask that room opens out to the lawn and pool area.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed two nights with a breakfast deal. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfy, with room to move. Sofa to sit on. It was nice to have a back door as well which opened on to the garden where there were tables and chairs to relax outdoors. A nice looking pool and playground for the kiddies. Just a little too far out of town to walk in for dinner etc but we took the Ovens River track into town and that took only about 15 minutes easy walk, and pleasant and interesting too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the better priced in Bright. Rooms where 70's style but clean and comfotable. Internet slow,air con worked well. Lovely walk along the river at the back of property into Bright. Nice central grass area surrounding pool.Lovely owners who made you feel very welcome. Would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: "Don't expect 5star when not paying for it"
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a very big motel positioned around large grassy area which our room opened onto. It was like stepping back into the 70s – high pine ceiling, brown patterned bathroom tiles – but everything was clean and in working order. A small thing – no biscuits were provided on the tea/ coffee tray. The central garden can get noisy with the pool and BBQ but no-one stayed up too late when we were there. Don’t trust the Google map to find this motel – it places the motel on the other side of town. It was a 15 minute walk into town – but being holiday time, walking was preferable to finding a car park.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Check In/Out was easy. High speed Internet was very slow. Fridge not cooling quickly, set on 7, when I phoned reception I was told it should be on a lower number so I turned it down to 2 which turned it off? Bed comfortable. TV flat screen, worked fine. Air-con quiet & efficient. Motel seems to have been built in the 60's, very old tiles in bathroom, old decor but OK for a short stay. Good waterflow in shower.

Room Tip: All rooms face swimming pool as motel is in a U shape. We were in room 6, which had 1 queen bed &...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked over the internet and were the only couple staying in the motel but we were given what I feel was the worst room in the motel. It was dark even at mid day. Room 4 has only one window and a glass door which is in a corner of the U shape layout and under a verandah. All other units have 3 or more and are not hemmed in by the corner, so are lighter and bigger. Why did we get that unit? Because it is convenient for the cleaner as the the service store is next door. We stayed 2 nights and on the 2nd night another guest arrived. Where was he placed? Next door to us in the 2nd closest room to the service store. We listened to his call to home on his mobile thru the wall and luckily he was a quiet sleeper. This was poor management putting the customer last and I would not recommend this motel because of it.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 4!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bright
0.7 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Harrietville Hotel Motel
Harrietville Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Harrietville
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Bright
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Bright
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Motor Inn

Address: 13-17 Great Alpine Road, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price Range: $73 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Bright motel, nestled in the Ovens Valley and close to Mt Hotham, Mt Buffalo and Falls Creek ski fields. The Best Western High Country Motor Inn offers 3.5-star accommodation in Bright. All rooms have queen-sized beds,reverse-cycle air conditioning and 32inch LCD TV's. Choose from executive rooms, spa rooms or two-bedroom family rooms. Other facilities at this Bright motel include a licensed restaurant and bar, European cedar-style sauna, Outdoor pool with BBQ facilties set amongst our spacious gardens. FREE high speed wireless internet.Guests staying at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn will be close to local attractions and activities, including famous ski fields, alpine national parks, historical goldfields, wineries, cycling, bushwalking, paragliding, fly-fishing and golf. Don?t forget the camera! For warm hospitality and an ideal location in Bright, make a reservation at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your High Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bright
Bright Best Western
High Country Motor Inn Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing