We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Velo

Cafe Velo
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Run by cyclists for cyclists we are unashamedly laid back and easy going. Plenty of bike racks and lots of like-minded people. We are the only cafe in Bright serving Padre coffee. No smoking inside or out.
Mt Beauty
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The great coffee was served by friendly staff and I loved the cycling vibe. The raspberry and white chocolate muffin was sensational!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenMtB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    50
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Best coffee in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Service was a bit slow but it was a gorgeous spring day which brought out the crowds. Lovely shaded outdoor dining area, great coffee and scrumptious cakes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Cafe in the centre of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recently held a function at Cafe Velo, The service and food (lots of food) was fantastic. Everyone talking about how great it was. Thank you Cafe Velo for making our night a success!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Dropped in for a quick lunch. The falafel wrap was very tasty, well presented and filling. The coffee was excellent as always. Love the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieB3741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't go back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We were advised they were short staffed as soon as we arrived and they were out of some of the items on the menu so we decided to just order coffee as we had somewhere to go. Our coffees took ages to arrive and were nothing to rave about. We stayed for approx 3/4 hour and when we left the couple behind us who were already there when we arrived were still waiting for their food. Not interested in giving them a second chance. Go to Ginger Baker instead, much better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Felinezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightOriental, Owner at Cafe Velo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We welcome complaints - preferably in person at the time of visit - please give us a chance to rectify - we always do.

This Winter in Bright has seen many busineses fail.. Reviews like this do not help. Rather being nasty, why not support small businesses? Tell us personally. If you read our other reviews you will see that most are great. You caught us on a tough day in a rough season. Not content to write about your own experience, you chose also to write for another couple in the cafe and recommend a specific business in town over us. Thankfully, we have many customers who love us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Velo also viewed

 
Bright, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing