We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, delicious n quirky”
Review of Cafe Velo

Cafe Velo
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Run by cyclists for cyclists we are unashamedly laid back and easy going. Plenty of bike racks and lots of like-minded people. We are the only cafe in Bright serving Padre coffee. No smoking inside or out.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Healthy, delicious n quirky”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

BEST coffee in town
BEST coffee in town.
A must visit for a tasty breakie. We found Cafe Velo up and around the corner of Ireland street after we ate delicious Indian at tandoori Indian.
The coffee is so good my friend didn't add sugar. They catered for the kids for breakie by adding hash browns (secret). The cakes all look fresh n tasty.
Cycling mad with posters everywhere.
Great service. Worth the walk up the street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarkiejan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightOriental, Owner at Cafe Velo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Jan

I thought we had a secret ;)
It was great to meet you - so happy you enjoyed your time with us.

See you when you're next in Bright.

Warm wishes

Susan & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Cycle Fans”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here as we are leisure cyclists and loved the decor! Great outside deck to sit but as it was very hot decided to venture inside. Loads of cycle photos and paraphernalia add to the charm of this place - didn't eat - but coffees were lovely and service very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank LongBlacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cycle city”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is definitely a welcoming and unpretentious place for lycra wearing cyclists.
My muesli with yoghurt and berries was delish. Coffee was great.
Wait service was a little confused as to who was getting what but we got everything in the end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightOriental, Owner at Cafe Velo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.
Hope to see You again soon.

Warm regards
Susan & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric with great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Really great cafe with cool cycling memorabilia throughout. Fab coffee and the Milawa fruit toast and fig and hazelnut sourdough definitely hit the spot. Free parking across the street and easy walk to shops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightOriental, Owner at Cafe Velo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us.
Love that you loved it!
See you again soon :)

Warm wishes
Susan &Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cafe ever”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My favourite coffee place ever - simply for the bike obsession and the numerous cyclists and teams that hang about in ideal places to be eavesdropped on. Amazing coffee, great service, and excellent food :) Also very accepting of gluten intolerances.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreamsreloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrightOriental, Owner at Cafe Velo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your great review!
What you shared is exactly how I envisioned it.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm wishes
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Velo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing