We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week in Bright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goldfield Holiday Units
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Certificate of Excellence
Goulburn N.S.W. Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful week in Bright”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently had a much needed weeks holiday in this lovely location. Our hosts were full of information and we found the location very convenient to shops, cafes etc. The units were clean and had everything needed for our comfort. The gardens were lovely and we found it a great place to begin our walks. As we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary this year we were presented with a lovely bottle of wine on our arrival. We would recommend this great location to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevGoldfield, Owner at Goldfield Holiday Units, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We strive to make our guests stays as comfortable as we can and it is encouraging when we get rewarded by good reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We would advise travelers to check their booking fees with the property directly. This property has arrangements with a number of web-based booking companies. When we arrived late on the day of check-in, we were advised we had been undercharged, despite the booking website's clearly advertised price and had to pay an additional amount before we could stay. Whilst the facilities were lovely, we were pretty disappointed as we would have stayed elsewhere based on the eventual cost. The property managers need to be diligent about their arrangements with booking agencies, as it is unfair to be charged above the advertised and agreed price without prior discussion.

Room Tip: be aware of the additional per person per day charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelhappy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was last minute booking for us and Joe was nothing but the most helpful man with information in regards to our trip across Mt Hotham! When we opened the doors the spacious immaculate apartment was just what we needed after a week in the swag! We couldn't believe what we got for the very little amount we paid! Love, love the chocolates on the bed!
Would definitely return to Goldfields not only to stay but to have another warm chat with Joe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevGoldfield, Owner at Goldfield Holiday Units, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and remarks, we certainly appreciate your time in posting it. We endeavour to be as helpful a possible and assist with guest requests or questions. We enjoy meeting our guests but try not to be intrusive of their time with us. Our Spa unit is a very nice retreat to spend some special time.
Once again thank you
Bev & Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location - on the river, only 200m walk to Woolworths, cafes, shops and the town's big playground. But still peaceful and beautiful, with great hiking trails right at your doorstep.

We booked four units for our family reunion, and you couldn't hear the kids next door - the rooms are very quiet.

Spotlessly clean, quality linen and comfy beds.

Everything included in the room - everything you could need in the kitchen, plus all the extras - electric blankets, magazines, good sized fridge, extra blankets. And a really good heater for those chilly Bright nights!

Beautiful gardens, with room to run and play for the kids. A swing and slide, plus room for ball games etc, and the concrete path along the river for bike riding/scooters. Our kids spent hours playing on the riverbank and throwing pebbles in.... what happy, simple times!

With all this we thought it was very reasonably priced.

The owners Joe and Bev (and their special helper Jeanette!) were just lovely and have lots of good local knowledge. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CritchleyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of days touring around the food and wine trail of North East Victoria. Basing ourselves at Bright, we chose the Goldfields Holiday Units for its central location and reasonable tariff.
Upon arrival we were greeted by owners, Joe and Bev, and within minutes we felt this was more like a cheery and comfortable "home stay" rather than the usual isolation of self-contained accommodation. Our little "home-away-from-home" had two spacious bedrooms which could have comfortably catered for five adults, although it must be mentioned that the second bedroom consisted of a double bed and a single. The unit was tastefully decorated and spotlessly presented with all cooking and lifestyle necessities easily accessible. An I-pod dock and free in-house Wi-Fi was an unexpected bonus.
Although the cold autumn conditions did not lend itself to outdoor dining, the establishment provides modern portable bar-b-que facilities and an undercover, sheltered alfresco dining area. The Ovens River is at the bottom of a beautifully maintained spacious lawn area and its roar makes for one hell of a garden water feature. The owners obviously love their property and it clearly shows in the true country style hospitality. We certainly can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevGoldfield, Owner at Goldfield Holiday Units, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Yes we do love our piece of paradise and we have to thank you for your extensive review of our property, it is very appreciated and good to know that guests enjoy the comforts and extras that we have provided in our units. We have one of the best locations in town here, river frontage, spacious gardens and close to walks. We look forward to returning to visit us again. Thanks again Bev & Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We already stayed here the second time and again, we just felt very welcomed by the friendly owners Joe and Bev - one of the reasons we came back. When entering this stunning holiday spot you feel like home in a gorgeous location. The units are beautifully furnished, very clean and have everything you need for a relaxing vacation. Since it’s getting colder now, I really loved the comfi coverlet and the heating blanket. The first time we stayed at a bigger unit with 2 bedrooms and the second time in the one bedroom unit with the spa. Both are equally recommended depending on how many people are travelling. The river is right at the end of a lovely garden; from there you can start the famous Canyon walk along the Ovens River or stroll into town. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momubt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevGoldfield, Owner at Goldfield Holiday Units, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for you great review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to write about us. We know that this will be very helpful to future prospective guests to read. It is good know that you enjoyed your stay for the 2nd time and have a knowledge of the units we have on offer. We hope that you will return again to visit us. Joe & Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Goldfield Holiday Units for 1 week whilst on a family holiday in Bright. I traveled with my wife and 2 kids; my daughter was 5 years at the time, my son 6 months old.

The owners, Joe and Bev, are very friendly and accommodating and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. Upon arrival everything was ready and a letter welcoming us was found hanging on the reception door. Minutes later Joe knocked on the door to personally welcome us and to ask if we needed anything. He steered us in the right direction of a baby high chair, immediately organized a cot and went above and beyond to find us a baby bath, given that theirs had just sprung a leak.

The accommodation itself is not large by any means but we managed. Everything was very clean and well maintained.

The main bedroom had a queen bed which was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in whilst away from home. Complete with electric blanket and beautifully crisp sheets.
The second bedroom had a double bed as well as a single bed, all made up ready for our arrival. Again with electric blankets and beautiful sheets and doonas.

The kitchen, although not very large, was well equipped. Apart from the usual toaster and microwave oven, there was a good sized oven (that actually worked without burning all the food!) as well as an electric frypan, plenty of cutlery and crockery and of course a good size fridge and freezer.

The little lounge room had a reverse cycle air conditioner to keep us warm at night (and no doubt to keep you cool in the hot summer!), a good sized flat screen tv and comfortable lounges.

The bathroom has a nice shower, separate toilet and vanity. A few small bottles of shampoo and body lotion etc are provided which was a nice touch. All bathroom linen was provided as well and was again of a very good quality.

The property itself is not large (there's only 6 units) but the location is just superb - right on the canyon walk (the property backs out onto the walkway), about 5 minutes walk away from Woolworths and maybe 10 minutes (at most!) from the park and playground - great for the kids! Also, in the back yard there is a small swing set and slide, which the kids loved.

There were 2 barbecues for the guests' use and they were squeaky clean, very well maintained.

I would not hesitate a second to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms further back from the main road will be quieter, but having said that, there's very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P6681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevGoldfield, Owner at Goldfield Holiday Units, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Peter, thanks for the great review, we appreciate your remarks on cleanliness and helpfulness, we aim to please guests with their request whenever we can. Your comments about the beds is satisfying as we have added those extras to ensure that comfort is a premium.
The the extras in the kitchen and bathroom we feel are helpful to make your stay a little more special as wanted for a holiday.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review.
Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.4 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#1 of 13 in Bright
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chestnut Tree Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chalets Lumineux
Chalets Lumineux
#24 of 45 in Bright
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Lodge
Westwood Lodge
#7 of 45 in Bright
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big4 Bright
Big4 Bright
#2 of 45 in Bright
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfield Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfield Holiday Units

Property: Goldfield Holiday Units
Address: 55 Gavan St | (Great Alpine Road), Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldfield Holiday Units 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldfield Holiday Units has direct river frontage onto the Ovens River along with Canyon Walk. The Rail Trail is also nearby. We are close to town approx 300 metres, an easy walk to cafes, shops restaurants. Set amongst spacious gardens, with many outdoor settings available for your use to enjoy a quiet cup of coffee, a relaxing drink, we also have a large undercover outdoor eating area is also available along with free BBQ's, Free Wi-Fi is provided. All our units are fully self-contained, with reverse cyle air conditioning and ceiling fans in every room for extra comfort, fridge, stove & microwave, leather lounges, all tastefully furnished and decorated. You can choose a couples only retreat in our deluxe 1 bedroom spa unit, ideal to celebrate your very own special occasion or just a quiet relaxing time away. Our spacious 2 bedroom units are suitable for 2 couples to spend time away together, the units are also very family friendly, accommodating up to 5 persons in the one unit. Free parking is provided outside your unit, upon arrival you may choose to park your car and not use it again for the length of your stay. Each unit has their own designated car parking space. We are nearby to the Snowfield, Wineries, historical towns for an enjoyable day trip. Check in from 2pm unless prior arrangement is made, if arriving late advise resident owners and we will have unit comfortable upon your arrival. Check out time 10 am. After hours phone is located in box outside Office that will provide direct contact with owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Goldfield Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldfield Holiday Units Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing