We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've seen better”
Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coach House Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Bright B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sorry, cannot recommend this place to stay in Bright.
Stayed at the Inn for two nights during a heat wave. The one bedroom apartment was not to bad. Clean but had a bit of dust, as was displayed by my partners allergies.
There was no toilet paper in our room or milk. Upon asking the reception for milk I was told on two occasions that they were out purchasing it at that moment.
I do have to admit, the bed was comfortable, the sheets seem to be clean and we had a good night sleep, but that could be from a day of mountain biking.
Went to the pool in the early morning to find it very dirty,cloudy, full of millions of bugs and reeking of chlorine. I found it surrounded by dirty tissue, beer bottle caps and a dirty children's nappy. I also noted that there were no seats available because people had reserved these from the previous day with their towel.
When i informed management of this she went to check on the pool but never came back to me with a resolution.
I would also like to note there is NO parking available. They offer 3 or 4 parking spaces on the grounds and then there is a side ally way. During the day if you leave you can guarantee your space will be taken and you'll have to park a mile down the road on the street.
All in all Bright, the town is a beautiful place, but with this accommodation due to the poor upkeep of the pool I would not be staying here again.
No fitness centre on site.
Went to hotel Velo and had breakfast there. rooms looked amazing. I recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is like a dated motor inn that needs renovation.
Room very musty when we arrived.
Nearly thrown out of bed by the water hammer during the night.
Water in shower alternated between cold or scalding.
Bathroom old and mouldy.
On the bright side of things, the pool and BBQ area was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amw9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed one night at the Coach House Inn in Bright, Victoria and enjoyed our stay there very much. The original building of the CHI is quite a historical building in Bright and one of the few left (according to the lady at the Bright Tourist Information Centre) as most of the buildings in Bright were made of timber and have disappeared over time. I believe the CHI dates back to the mid 1800s (1850's) and thus I was keen to stay here.

Our room was delightful - a full suite in the 'new' part of the Inn - the room comprised of a large king size bed - very comfortable - which was located in the main part of the suite. A lounge area with couch and arm chair, good size flat screen telly mounted to the wall. in the 'fireplace' was a small bookcase with novels and magazines (very homey). The dining area consisted of full size dining table with chairs, kitchenett with microwave, toaster, jug and fridge - eating utencils and crockery for four persons. The second bedroom had two single beds with more than enough room to move about in. Bathroom, tho small was sufficient and clean. My only gripe with the bathroom was that the towel hooks were outside the bathroom in the kitchen area.

Overall the suite was clean, smelt fresh and was very, very comfortable. Noise level at the Inn (and room) was low and after 10pm, non-existent. The only 'grottiness' I saw in the room was on the window sill where dust hadn't been wiped - so in all, this was a very clean place.

The exterior was lovely - cool green leafy vines (wisteria I think) draped along the verandah areas, tables and chairs in little nooks to catch the sun (or shade) - was perfect for eating breakfast at in the morning. The pool area looked lovely and was being well used by happy families - we didn't use the pool, but it did look very clean and inviting. Lots of car parking at the rear of the inn with two street access.

We stayed at the height of the new year week in Bright - which was extreamly busy and although the Inn was fully booked it didn't feel overcrowded, hetic or bustling. It was more like a little oasis away from Brights super busy streets. Best thing about CHI is that it's right in the middle of the village walking distance to everything!

In regards to service - we were served by a young girl (possibly the daughter of the owner) who was sweet and very pleasent. Later in the day we were greeted with big smiles and cheery hellos by the owner. Next morning we left the key on the front desk as there was no-one in the office - my understanding is that this is a family run business and it's all hands on deck.

I would definately stay at the Coach House Inn again and will be recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Another couple and i stayed at the coach house inn for one night. Upon arrival we were greeted by a young girl (maybe 15) who was rude and asked us "what day is it today" once giving the date and our name (previously booking 2 rooms via email) only one room was given, once questioned another room was given. A sign at the desk states to pay for room when checking in, we were told to do so when leaving!
As for our rooms - our room smelt so badly of mould we had to open all windows and go out whilst room aired. After returning from day out and dinner we decided to get key to open our adjoining rooms - this was a mission in itself. Guy who serviced us stated "i have no idea where key is, do you really want it". Then i was handed a bunch of keyes and told "its one of these". Turns out it wasnt and he found correct key.
Bathroom was covered in mould and cobwebs - refer photos
Room was dark during day and due to not all windows having blinds, light at night. Loud all night from people finishing work or walking past not a lot of sleep had!!
Sign in rooms requests leaving key in door on departure (10am) but as we hadnt paid we went to office to check out at 9.30am, rang bell twice other customers came and left while waiting - finally was served by lady in her pink dressing gown - who couldnt give a damn about our stay!
To top it off there was no parking so we had to park our cars on the street!!
Never again or would never suggest to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank springcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Even though the rooms were basic, they were very adequate and made you feel like home.
All units have a view and access to the central courtyard/ garden and have outdoor seating.
The second bedroom should have better lighting or a bed lamp.
The Lawlers restaurant is among the best we have been!
Highly recommended.
We will repeat this pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rokanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.2 mi away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gatekeepers Traditional Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Bright Avenue Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chalets Lumineux
Chalets Lumineux
#25 of 45 in Bright
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Bright
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 100 Gavan St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bright
Price Range: $91 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coach House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Inn Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing