We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Town”
Review of Bright Velo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bright Velo
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Bright Velo is easily the best no-frills place to stay in town, and particularly if you cycle! The owners are wonderfully helpful and are clearly dedicated to their job. We booked this room on the Tour of Bright weekend purely by coincidence. Having a room that overlooked Ireland St, it was strangely relaxing sitting and watching the bikes fly by accompanied by that rather auspicious sound of the tyres. It was a beautifully decorated room, and we had all we needed to just relax and get out on our bikes when we so pleased. It's a great place for cyclists, as not only is it extremely cyclist-friendly (Cafe Velo downstairs is FULL of cycling-related gear, and the staff always noted when we departed/returned and where we went/how we went) but it has a storage room for bikes with hooks for hanging (also a wonderful site for bike-envy - there are some extraordinary machines in there during race-times...) and downstairs on the verandah is a great place to read and chat to incoming cyclists back from their rides.

Only criticism is that in 4-5 days of staying, we never had our bins changed. As it was the ToB, this could be excused, considering that most of the staff were probably competing! Otherwise, totally delightful and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Heritage 1 - while really great for the view over the main road (especially during tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamsreloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 351 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have a fantastic time staying at Bright Velo, it was the perfect environment for our cycling holiday. Affordable & comfortable room including airconditioning. Very peaceful with shady green garden at our door. Great cafe onsite, yummy food and coffee with plenty of cycling mag's and DVD's to flick through. Perfect location with centre of town only steps away or a very short stroll to local park and swimming hole. Hosts Wayne and Susan are fantastic and very helpful if you need anything or just some local knowledge. Bright itself is very family friendly, dog friendly and a great place to relax. Plenty of options for good food, coffee or a drink and it is all in walking distance. We parked the car at Birght Velo and didn't use it again until we left 8 days later. The perfect break for us!

Thankyou to Wayne and Susan and you will definitely be seeing us again.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was great for us. No problems sleeping in 40+ degrees with very comfy bed, airco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a pleasant 3 night stay at Bright Velo in late December.

Helpful and welcoming hosts make this older-style hotel a fantastic place to stay.

Bright Velo is ideal for people wanting a comfortable room and a good nights sleep before getting out into the beautiful Alpine region.

The ground floor cafe has excellent coffee and a cool interior. Even if you aren't a cycling tragic you will probably be curious of the cycling paraphernalia.

The hotel is located in the central part of town. You are a minute's walk to all of Bright's boutiques, bars and restaurants.

Bike storage facilities are very convenient and provide piece of mind. Besides the rail trail there are also plenty of other exciting rides to cater for a range of fitness levels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonaroValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent location, genuinely friendly staff and great food. The room décor is a little dated but it's quite comfortable. Has a great cycle themed café attached that does excellent coffee and great Indian food. Excellent base to do some cycling in and around Bright.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmdr_Timo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there for a few nights in the newer (but not new) part of the site. It was very comfortable and we immediately felt at home. Comfortable beds and lovely views through the windows across to enormous trees outside.
Pluses - Great location in the main town shopping strip, but at the quiet end of town. You can easily walk to everything. Welcoming hosts; Wayne and Susan. The Cafe Velo serves excellent food and drinks. The atmosphere is original and entertaining, especially if you're into cycling. Still enjoyable even if you're not. The attached Indian restaurant has delicious food too.
Minuses - carpets are a bit worn on the internal stairs. Housekeeping/cleaning could be improved a little. These are only minor niggles which didn't affect our enjoyment staying at the Bright Velo.
We'd stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyNTKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay during the Tour Of Bright cycling race.

I was in one of the older rooms in the main building. Bed was comfortable and room looked recently painted.

The host (Wayne) was very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

A highlight was the excellent coffee and delicious breakfasts.

I loved my stay. Highly recommended.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelC-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a ball staying at the Velo.
There was a group of us and Wayne and Susan were fantastic.
We were able to store our bikes which was most helpful.
They were accomodating and I would return at any time to stay - or just pop in for a late.
Coffee and breaky was the bomb.
The retro cafe made me feel at home - or like you just popped into Grandma's for a visit.
The rooms were comfy and clean - the shower, well the building is old - so just be paitent with setting the water !!
Location is great - walking distance to all facilites supermarkets etc.
Thanks so much and hopefully stay there again ( shame its so far away !! ) and Susan might make me some poached eggs ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jwhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bright hotels
0.7 mi away
High Country Motor Inn
High Country Motor Inn
#5 of 13 in Bright
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#10 of 13 in Bright
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bright Motor Inn
Bright Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Bright
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Bright
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Bright
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Velo

Address: 2 Ireland St, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Bright Oriental Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price Range: $73 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Velo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by cyclists for cyclists, Bright Velo is your base camp for the Victorian Alps. We're not five star accommodation but you can have a five star experience with us. You'll find a warm welcome with lots of like-minded people who love cycling and the outdoor life. Whether you are with the peloton or riding solo, be sure to check out Cafe Velo - Padre coffee and plentiful food for hungry cyclists. Like our guests, we value clean air for all and there is no smoking permitted anywhere on our property. Guests who smoke on our property will sadly not be able to rebook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bright Velo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Velo Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing