We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room was clean and tidy and internet was fast. Building was well maintained. Was close to main shops for easy shopping in the morning. Will stay again next time I go through the area. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
10
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Broughton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped here after long days travel - great spot - clean tidy and refurbished. Close to town centre (walking distance). Good service and very helpful. Went to RSL Club for dinner - excellent. Regular traveller on Adelaide to melbourne Road and will be staying again when required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrived Christmas night on the way to STH Australia with 3 families. Everything was closed and kids starving. Jason the owner brought over chicken,dessert ,nibbles for everyone.He made sure we had plenty of room for our trailers. Way beyond normal hospitality.The rooms were very clean, plenty of hot water, obviously old but just what we needed after a long drive. Just a nice basic motel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank radcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scooter64
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is central to main shopping strip and a few of the local attractions, like J-ward. Friendly service and clean. Bathrooms just need an upgrade! But overall, reccommend staying if visiting Ararat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scooter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waratah, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had no problems with the motel and was glad to get a room when most of the other motels were booked out. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was good value. I left a good book behind and they posted it to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we have stayed at 2 other golden chain prioperties, so we didnt book this place, but instead choose to just get a room on the day with the thought that the hotel was be an adequate level. but this hotel was old and tired. the pluses were that the internet was free (and fast like they claim) and it was nice and quiet being back off the road. but not many other positives to go on i'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you want to holiday in 1982, this is your place. Everything is old, yet clean. Unfortunately my room had virtually no hot water, not good in mid winter when it was 0 degrees outside. There was no attempt to rectify the issue or move me to a room with hot water. The service was terrible, I waited 15 minutes to be checked in. The heating in the room is inadequate as I still had to be rugged up with it on maximum. They could not even be bothered to maintain their lawns and their was a broken sign in driveway, the place looks terrible. I would have happily paid a lot more for decent accommodation down the road had it not been booked out well in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megorical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ararat hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
42 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Cross Motor Inn
17.8 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel

Property: Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
Address: 6 Ingor St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing