We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality meals at good prices.”
Review of Blue Duck Hotel

Blue Duck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Ararat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality meals at good prices.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was in Ararat on business and The Blue Duck was recommended by the manager of my hotel. I ate there on both nights of my stay and enjoyed my meal on both occassions.

A credit to the owners and staff who's impeccable service only added to the experience.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaz_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ever wish your Dad owned a Pub?”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Yep, me too... This one. Its not your normal 'sit and have a drink' pub, its more like a relaxed bistro with exceptional food. Book as they are always booked out. But if you are alone, they can sometimes squeeze you onto the barrel tables near the open fire. Awesome selection of local wines, and knowledge of local wines. The rib eye is hard to go past and the serving sizes are HUGE. If you are lucky enough to be there when sticky date is on the menu, then opt for a smaller meal to fit one in. Great family run place....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Small and surprising ... The meals here are consistent and divine!
I always have the Spinach and Ricotta Filo (with extra sauce - it is to die for). The staff are wonderful, the atmosphere is great and the champagne is cold! The bar man is a classic and he really makes you feel welcome!

All of my friends love it ... and I travel from Melbourne just for lunch!
Well Done ... You are a diamond in the rough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gippsland, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Blue Duck is very good”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A group of 8 booked this pub for a meal after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Old fashioned country pub atmosphere, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, great food, reasonable prices. What's not to like! I had the lamb souvlaki - a plateful of deconstructed souvlaki involving lamb cutlets, salad, flat bread and tzatziki.......so delicious that I will probably make the long drive back to Ararat at some stage for another serve. My husband had the filet mignon and he's happy to drive! Thanks Blue Duck for helping to make our weekend away a great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lamb shank time!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Give this little gem a try when you are hanging out for lamb shanks. Really nice. Dropped in again when passing by, just lately, but was shut so went to Yos instead (see Yos review).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Duck Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Blue Duck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing