We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family and country hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have stayed at the property twice now for a total of 4 nights and you'd struggle to find nicer people. The hotel is clean and affordable with very comfortable bedding and large flat screen tv's (with Foxtel from memory). The size of the room I've stayed in each time has been quite large and bright. Some people have commented on the traffic noise - you're going to get that at any highway located hotel - personally I ALWAYS travel with earplugs and even though I'm an extremely light sleeper I had no issues on any of the nights I've stayed there.
I must say the food at this property is AMAZING!! I love asian food and the Pho and duck here is fantastic!!
The property is an Econo Lodge, not the Hyatt. If you want a clean, comfortable and affordable night's stay, about a 2 minute drive from the town centre - and did I mention the restaurant/food was amazing (??) - then give it a go. You'll love the family that runs the property also - they're very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh and Hanh N, General Manager at Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Good morning Brett,
All the words we want to say with you now are "Thank you very much".
Although only more than one year old experience but we always try our best bringing the happiness, comfortable, satisfying and enjoyable to all our guests staying with us.
Hope see you later in our motel and restaurant if you have time travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne.
Have a good day.
Regards,
Anh Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Value for money - great set up for a family ( double with two singles) Heater worked fantastically on a cold winters nite. After leaving something in the room the phone call after we left was greatly appreciated - as any astute traveller would recommended BYO pillow!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacTravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here because of its proximity to our evening tour of J ward (read review). It is an average hotel but for the price we didn't expect anything glamorous anyway. However, on arrival when we paid for our room and happened to mention that we we doing the J ward tour, the lovely man refunded $5 and said that if we had booked directly we would have received 10% discount. I was immediately impressed at his honesty and fairness in giving us a refund despite us having no idea! The hotel room is basic but comfortable. You walk straight into the bathroom area (basin and wardrobe) with the shower and toilet in a separate room on the right. The actual room itself has all of the basics including free pay TV. There are glass sliding doors leading to a small veranda with a table and chairs facing a high wall but with a lovely little garden area in front. I guess the wall is to assist with blocking the traffic noise which was effective because we certainly weren't disturbed by any traffic. The bed was comfortable with electric blankets (needed on a cold winters night) but the air conditioning fan was very noisy so left that off overnight. Overall we had a good nights sleep. Room service is available and the hotel has its own Chinese restaurant, which judging by the overflowing tables seems to be a popular place to eat. Unfortunately we chose to eat elsewhere and regretted that choice. (see review of Blue Duck)
Overall, for a reasonably priced hotel just needed for a place to sleep, it was a good place to stay and we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for one night when driving from Melbourne to Adelaide. We requested a room at the back of the motel (which we got) and even though you can still hear some traffic noise it didn't keep us awake. Whilst some refurbishment has been done the room was still very dated. The bed was OK but we couldn't sit in the single lounge chair in the room as the cushion had no foam/spring left in it and you ended up sitting on the base. Good hot shower. Some foxtel channels for free if you watch sport or movies.Only average security on the doors. The battery in our smoke alarm started beeping at 4am so we had to stand on a chair to remove it so we could go back to sleep. The expiry date on the battery was January 2012! We ate in the chinese restaurant on site - the food was OK but the waiting staff were 2 very young girls who didn't know anything about the menu & couldn't serve drinks - so we had to wait for the owners/chefs to come out and do the drink service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh and Hanh N, General Manager at Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hello,
We are glad to hear that our bed, hot water service, foxtel, refurbishment in the room and foods in the restaurant were good. But we apologise that some aspects of your stay did not
meet your expectations, such as: security on the doors, the battery in our smoke alarm in the room and alcohol service in restaurant. We have checked the battery in all rooms since your visit and replaced any expiry date. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if
you choose to visit us again. Thank you so much for staying with us.
Regards,
Hanh Duong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Super comfy beds and chairs, good TV but oddly set up kitchenette/bathroom area. Not worth the upgrade to king room, stick with standard. Good meal in the restaurant buffet style - an all you can eat for $18 with a good selection of dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeistyKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night, on a Saturday night. Even though being on the highway, didn't hear any traffic overnight. Ate at the restaurant, the service was lovely, the food was good (buffet on a Saturday night). King size bed is also good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KdofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh and Hanh N, General Manager at Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Good morning, Harvey.
Thank you so much for staying and enjoying at our motel and restaurant.
Also thank you so much for your reviews as well.
You are welcome.
Regards.
Anh Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here as a Choice Hotel member and great to see country hopitality back better than ever in Ararat.
Very clean motel, bedding and general furniture seemed new which makes you feel comfortable.
Clean room and the dinner / service in the restaurant was just fantastic.
Central location in Ararat and I will return.

Room Tip: Just ask, chances are they will help you because they care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeverBloodyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh and Hanh N, General Manager at Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Good morning.
Thank you so much for staying at our motel and for your review as well.
Hope see you very soon in future time.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
22.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalambar Motel
Chalambar Motel
#3 of 6 in Ararat
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
1.5 mi away
Ararat Motor Inn
Ararat Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ararat
156 reviews
17.2 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat

Address: 79 Lambert St | corner Western Highway and George Rd, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia (Formerly Statesman Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ararat Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing