We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

J Ward Museum Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.08*
and up
J Ward Lunatic Asylum Ghost Tour
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ararat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Loved this tour, the gentleman who took us on the tour as very informative, I surely begin to get bored half ay through a tour but this was constantly interesting. Is is another must if you visit or pass through Ararat. The history of this town really taught me something new. Had no idea of that went on there. So glad we went. And thanks for all the city's we picked within the building the small oranges were delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanderra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    33
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The history is great and the site has been well maintained.

It ceased operation as a gaol in 1886 and then became the Ararat Asylum for the criminally insane - known as "J Ward". It was closed in 1989 but has been well preserved for visitors to experience during day/night tours. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrenPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The place really has stood the test of time quite well. The tour guide tended to waffle on a bit and it sounded almost like he'd told the stories one too many times. Having said that at least he wasn't monotone about it and kept our interest in the place. Don't let the outside fool you, it's fairly roomy in there and the tour can take up to two hours. It's worth it, though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbie431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jward tour”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

loved it and the stories and been a while since being there last was great to see you now could go from kitchen up into the museum

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Looked forward to this tour after receiving gift vouchers for Christmas. We started at 8.30 pm on a cold winters night with quite a large group of approx 15 people. Our tour guide (unfortunately didn't get his name) was great! Explained that he had been a sceptic when he started and after spending a couple of ' sleep overs' in the ward, would never do so again! We were provided with lanterns, hand held energy detection devices and sound magnifying devices. After a bit of an introduction to what we could expect, we entered the asylum. Despite the devices turning to red on occasion ( indicating the presence of ghosts) none of us experienced anything untoward. However, the honest belief and dedication of our tour guide made the experience believable and anticipatory. The only lighting we had was the small lanterns and at times turned these off for complete darkness, hoping for an indication of past residents! The highlight of the tour was the stories of past occurrences during tours but also of the terrible conditions that these people suffered during their incarceration. The building itself lent truth to the suffering and the video at the very end of the tour shows that it wasn't very long ago that this still happened. (35 years).
So treat this experience with open mindedness, whether you believe or not, don't have high expectations of ghostly appearances and you will enjoy this experience as much as we did.
Definately better than many ghost tours I've done in the past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Ward Museum Complex also viewed

 

Been to J Ward Museum Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing