We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great tour of a old jail”

J Ward Museum Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.99*
and up
J Ward Lunatic Asylum Ghost Tour
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ararat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marshall, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a great tour of a old jail”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

our tour guide Doug was fantastic! his just over a hour tuned into well over 2 hours!
he was so knowledgeable of the prison and the area.
J-ward was for insane prisoners so its got some dark and fascinating stories so if your into that sort of thing u must go!

was well prices too

ring ahead and find out when doug is doing the tours!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    33
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“J Ward has a dark history - it is fascinating.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rich in history and interesting tales J Ward is an exciting place to visit. It holds chilling reminders of how we treated our prisoners and our criminally insane. Each guide has a interesting story to tell about this place, so each visit opens up some new insights. The ghost tour held late at night was rich in stories to make your hair stand on end. Paranormal investigators were also on this tour and added to the excitement. When I got home and searched my photographs there were many orbs and ghostly apparitions on the pictures of the underground kitchen and in the corridors [very spooky].

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CazHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must see”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we had a wonderful tour guide who told us so many interesting facts, we went on a weekday but will return on a weekend to have a look at the records and other things, well worth going twice i think.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wonderful informative tour of the conditions that went on here. The institution is in perfect order with many items on display. Very interesting being shown various marks on the wall from the inmates. The underground kitchens are well worth the visit. The bluestone walls make the place look impressive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“check your tour guide!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

a couple of friends and I did a day tour of J Ward. while we could all appreciate being able to explore such an interesting, historic site, Mabel, an elderly lady who was our guide, had absolutely no idea about the happenings in the prison & kept going on and on about other stories that were irrelevant. she did not hold the groups attention at all & people tended to walk away & look at other things while she was speaking. 90 minutes had passed & I don't even think we were halfway through the tour. Zzzzzz. My friends & I ended up sneaking off & explored ourselves. we got more information from the history/information signs around the place than we did from the "guide". would strongly suggest you find out who your tour guide is before booking unless you want to be bored to tears by old Mabel.
on another note the Aradale Asylum ghost tour was the absolute best! not one you'd want to miss!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Trista86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Ward Museum Complex also viewed

 

Been to J Ward Museum Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing