We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but nothing wrong with it either”
Review of Ararat Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ararat Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in an Executive Room en route from Adelaide to Melbourne.

The cleanliness of the room could not be faulted but I guess for the price of the room ($150) in a location like Ararat I was expecting something a little bigger.

Further, one of the features listed was wireless internet. I left my phone searching for over a minute and no networks could be found. Not to say that there was no wifi, just that if there was it must have been very weak.

The location of the motel being off highway meant that I didn't hear any of the passing highway traffic throughout the night. The freight trains on the other hand! What seemed like every half hour from 1am the horn and carriages could clearly be heard. I am not sure if this is anything that the motel can do about it, or whether it is just an Ararat problem.

The size of the bathroom and the quality of the towels was a definite plus. The shower was spacious and the oversized basin and vanity made preparations in the morning a breeze.

The hosts were very friendly and for an overnight stay the room was adequate. For any extended period though I think I would go a little stir crazy if stuck in there for too long.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Shaggy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 156 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

A last minute trip to Ararat. Booked via wotif into this motor in. We stayed in one of the executive rooms, it was very well presented, clean and had under cover parking which was fantastic on a 40 degree day. The checkin/out process was very easy and staff extremely friendly. Definitely worth staying here. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are newly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradandmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed as part of a work group so we got one of the 3 bedroom holiday houses they own just a few doors up from the actual motel. Big spacious and very clean house with kitchen and appliances and good bedding. A great option for goups or families needing a couple of rooms with all the extra available lounge room space and self-catering ability.

Room Tip: house instead of hotel room a good option for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed for one night, cold & wet outside, but very comfortable in the motel room. Friendly owners, comfortable bed, well appointed room. Will definitely be my first choice to stay when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcs297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Ararat Motor Inn has everything you hope to find in a small country town motel, Friendly owners, a clean room and a modern revamp that doesn't make you feel like your caught in a weird timewarp. We arrived late on a cold Saturday afternoon but Pat had already turned our heaters on so our cosy little room was just right! A highlight was the amazing shower pressure!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for one night in an executive room as we were attending a ghost tour at the Aradale Lunatic Asylum, owners were extremely helpful, the room was immaculate, clean bathroom, continuously hot water in shower, comfortable pillows and bed, could not fault the place at all! some 5 star Melbourne hotels we have stayed in have not been as impressive as the Ararat Motor Inn, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a $135 room it was spacious, very clean, close to the shops. Service was great. Bed was comfy and shower was really good water pressure unlike some places we have stayed in. Very impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krystalmichelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ararat
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Statesman Ararat
24.2 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ararat Colonial Lodge Motel
1.8 mi away
Chalambar Motel
Chalambar Motel
#3 of 6 in Ararat
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Cross Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ararat Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ararat Motor Inn

Address: 367 Barkly St, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ararat
Price Range: $93 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ararat Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ararat Motor Inn offers well appointed, modern accommodation. Located at 367 Barkly St Ararat, with cafes, pubs, clubs and shopping just minutes away. We have four star Executive rooms, three and a half star King and Queen & Single rooms and three star Standard rooms. The city of Ararat provides a diverse range of cultural, natural and historical attractions. The region also boasts some of the world's most renowned wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ararat Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing