We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Venue”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutherfordton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green River Plantation Inn
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I recently had our wedding reception at the Green River Plantation. It was just a tremendous experience. Ms. Amanda Cantrell is a top-notch hostess and organized everything to perfection. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. Ms. Cantrell also prepared our wedding cake which was beautiful and delicious! We stayed at the plantation on our wedding night and this was also great! The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in the main Green River House. As a southern history buff...I was blown away and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajacksonmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Green River Plantation worked out perfect for our son's wedding. It turned out absolutely beautiful. We were very pleased with everything. The rehearsal dinner was held here on Saturday night. The ceremony was on Sunday We added the horse and carriage it carried the Bride in then after the ceremony it carried the Bride and Groom off what a great addition.
Amanda and her staff took care of all the food for the rehearsal dinner and reception. They did all of the decorations for the reception and ceremony. Amanda made a beautiful wedding cake. They were great to work with. So many comments from friends and family about how pretty everything was.
We also used a DJ for the reception referred to us by Amanda. I recommend him.
We had two of the Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast each morning and that was also outstanding.
Thanks to everyone at Green River Plantation for such a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Just call Amanda and she will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I recently was married at Green River Plantation and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. Everything was amazing! The venue, the food, the service. I live in Charlotte but have family in Rutherfordton. After looking at the cost of having my wedding in Charlotte I could not have gotten all that I go at Green River and still have stayed within my budget. My guests raved for weeks about how gorgeous the wedding was and how amazing the food was! If I had it to do all over again I wouldn't have changed a thing. Thanks Amanda!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybethnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My daughter and I visited numerous outdoor sites for her October, 2010 wedding. After visiting Green River and meeting with Amanda, we knew we found the perfect venue. Not only is the plantation gorgeous, but it was a place we could have rooms for the night, rehearsal dinner, wedding itself and reception all at one location. The rehearsal dinner in the Tea Room was excellent. The food we chose for the reception was delicious and the staff was very professional. Amanda and Ellen bent over backwards to accomodate all of our requests. I would definitely recommend Green River Plantation and I look forward to a weekend visit there during the Christmas Holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndamattox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I were married here 2-1/2 years ago and absolutely loved the service we received. We went back this weekend for a getaway Valentines Day and again were greeted with great hospitality and service. The breakfast was great and the room was clean and quiet. Just what we were looking for to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get married at a plantation. We found the Green River online and fell in love! We visited the Green River several times in preparing for our big day! The service and charm presented by the Green River staff made us feel right at home. We had a beautiful room and a wonderful breakfast served in the home. The plantation is intriguing due to its charm, it's timeless beauty, and it's history. The stories (some of the civil war, some of the families that made the plantation home) of the plantation shared by the staff will stay with us always! We can't wait to go back and visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My daughter and and I looked at wedding venues within 100 miles of Spartanburg and knew when we saw Green River Plantation that we had found what we were looking for.
The Cantrell's are wonderful to work with. The plantation staff made the event effortless. The bridal dressing area in the Plantation was incredible and the food was exceptional. Our event was entirely outdoors, and despite heavy rain the week before, the drainage and effort of the staff made the venue pristine for the wedding.

You are an individual at Green River, and Amanda does everything possible to ensure that you have an phenomenal experience that you will remember with joy for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnMajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherfordton
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
10.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
230 reviews
7.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
23.9 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
487 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Firehouse Inn
The Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Rutherfordton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green River Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green River Plantation Inn

Address: 6333 Coxe Rd, Rutherfordton, NC 28139-9401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Rutherfordton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherfordton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Green River Plantation Hotel Rutherfordton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing