We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Wedding Venue, Good Food & Fun Tours”

Green River Plantation
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful Wedding Venue, Good Food & Fun Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We've been to several weddings and events held at Green River Plantation. The service epitomizes southern charm and the food is always delicious. The portions are generous, too. Real southern cooking and more than enough sweet tea to go around. Don't forget the desserts - they always come with a meal: fresh fruit cobblers, homemade cakes, and other treats. If you're going as a day trip, take the tour because it's a guided one and you'll have a blast learning about this beautiful old plantation estate. Be sure to call in advance since the tours must be scheduled. In the spring and through the fall the grounds come alive with gorgeous greenery and flowers. It's a welcoming, charming historic property and the owners and staff bend over backwards to make your visit or event a memorable one. Green River Plantation comes highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
222 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This for is was a hidden gem only 45 minutes away. Our preordered menu items were hot, fresh and tasty. The tour that followed was most interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding At Green River Plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My daughter was married on September 22, 2012 at Green River Plantation in Rutherfordton, NC. I could not have asked for a more perfect day. The service, food, and accomodations at Green River are outstanding. The owners of the Plantation, The Cantrells made us feel right at home. Very relaxing atmosphere and the beautty of the grounds and home make for breathtaking photography. We were treated like family, not just visitors. The food was outstanding. I had a couple of my daughters friends state that they would like to get married at Green River. Looking for a perfect venue for your wedding or other event, I suggest a ride up to Green River for a visit. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding here back in October of 2009! A wonderful place! Beautiful scenery, great staff, and excellent food!

Helpful?
1 Thank slauren14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Have been to several events there and the house and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Highly recommend for outdoor weddings and other special outdoor functions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh-Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green River Plantation also viewed

Rutherfordton, North Carolina Mountains
Rutherfordton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Rutherfordton, North Carolina Mountains
Rutherfordton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Green River Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing