We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barossa Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap but clean”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Possibly the cheapest accom in Tanunda (booking direct can be as cheap as $90 with breakfast). However the Barossa is reasonably pricey for accom by world standards, so don't expect too much.

The bad points;
bed mattress is very tired, should have been replaced 10 years ago, but they've stuck an extra foam layer on top to help.
air con, whilst newish, is quite noisy and makes an annoying ticking sound as the components heat up and cool down every cycle.
shower and toilet area do not get aircon air so can be extremely cold in the winter
a fair walk from town centre but not unreasonable, (area pretty safe though)
TV is tiny 20" (in these days of $300 40" TVs...)

The good;
clean and tidy
free wifi
coffee and tea making
no road noise
the space guest rooms where they can so neighbour noise can be low

I'd have to recommend staying somewhere more expensive, but then again saving money for buying more wine....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
15
53
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place was perfectly adequate for a one-night stay. It's central (but quiet, being back off the main street), roomy and clean. We got a $99 rate so it was reasonable value for money. The undercover parking was handy given that it was raining.

But, while this would have been quite adequate 20 years ago, the rooms are somewhat dated. The layout is funny, with the handbasin behind a white shower curtain and two doors off that area to the toilet on one side and a tiled shower on the other (this has only a partial stable door). A bit odd if you have more than a couple in the room (there's two beds).

The staff were friendly enough, but this seems like a corporate facility rather than a family-owned one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and our room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated decor wise. The room configuration is a little strange, with the wet area (toilet, basin and shower) separated from the bed room with a white curtain, and the doors to the toilet and shower reminded me of a school toilet block, however there was plenty of room to move.

We particularly liked the undercover parking due to the type of car we were driving. We didn't eat at the restaurant as we bought provisions at the local supermarket, which had a fantastic range of local products. The motel is in a great location in the heart of the Barossa with it being just a short drive to lots of wineries and we think good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding and were happy with the service, room and facilities. Friends ate at the restaurant and said the food was really good as well. Staff were helpful and the room had everything needed and the bed was comfortable (very important!) Yes it is a bit "tired" but I would stay there again if in Tanunda. Walking distance down to the main shops (excellent bakery a block or so away) Go to the local brewery - great cider and local beer. Very pretty town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hoot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days in April 2013.
The rooms are OK and clean and the location was good for me. But, I won't go there again.
I was staying there for a conference, apparently on special rate they worked out with the conference. I had a double queen bed, so decided to take my husband along. Although, The price is the same for one or two adults, when checking out they charged me extra ~50%. When checking in they did not tell me about this.

I really don't like when there are hidden costs and I am treated unfairly.

People of Barossa are very nice, I will go back there but will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariam_July12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am sorry you feel you have been treated unfairly, however you did book a Queen Bed - Single occupancy room for the duration of the conference and were advised by the conference organisers, at the time of booking, the costs associated with that booking. The difference that you actually paid was 20% more for the extra person, which was not known about until your arrival. There were no hidden costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanunda hotels

Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The receptionist wasnt very friendly on arrival, but the room was of a satisfactory standard, the rooms set on an angle gave privacy both front and rear as you cant see your nieghbours at all, the breakfast in the dining room was good and the reception at that time was friendly and helpful, a different person to the evening staff . Overall satisfactory for the price and we wouldnt be concerned if we had to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Aftre hunting around for a place to stay overnight after a winery lunch and finding many places booked, we secured the last room on a Saturday night at the Barossa Motor Lodge.

The owner was very friendly and helpful which was replicated upon arrival on a hot November's day. The room was clean and adequate for one night. Yes, the decor is a little outdated but at the price of $130 for a twin room which consisted of 2 double beds, it hardly matters. There are cheaper rooms available. Thankfully the air-conditioner did the job although a touch noisy but luckily we could sleep without it on.

There was a separate toilet and a fair-sized shower so all good in that department.

We were able to park the car right in front of our room which was handy. There are no restaurants close by so a car is preferable to drive to the main street. However, a walk of just over 1 km is OK if you want to drink. There is a restaurant on site but it was closed when we there although we didn't need it.

Overall, I would recommend this place for a short stay in the beautiful Barossa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Barossa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Should have come to our fantastic restaurant on-site at the motel, good food and very affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
0.3 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
4.1 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
3.2 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Angaston Vineyards Motel
Angaston Vineyards Motel
#1 of 1 in Angaston
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Motor Lodge

Property: Barossa Motor Lodge
Address: 182 Murray St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barossa Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable clean and affordable 3.5 Star accommodation. Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Spacious rooms with private ensuite, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player and complimentary DVD Library at Reception. Ground floor units with undercover parking at your unit door. Free Cots and high chairs available. Guest Laundry, free Guest BBQ, free guest internet kiosk, summer use outdoor pool and spa, tennis court. Free WiFi. On-site Baccus Restaurant - fully licensed, a la carte menu - open 7 days a week - for breakfast and evening meals, anniversaries, weddings, functions, and conferences. Fantastic food, local Barossa Valley wines. We can arrange wine tours and bicycle hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barossa Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Motor Lodge Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing