We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Australian home, perfect location, wonderful hosts”
Review of Barossa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barossa House
Ranked #3 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Small well equipped bedroom with sink, in the bedroom and toilet and shower enclosed. Complementary sherry and assortment of wine glasses. Classic sitting room and dining room. Excellent personable hosts. We took the all day wine tour including lunch and hit all the wineries we could stand by about 2:30 PM. Beautiful gardens in scenic location just outside town. Very complete home cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Barossa House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

A lovely family home with beautiful gardens ,lee and Judy are friendly fun hosts.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite the bed was so large and cumfy all needs catered for ,austar good and wifi too.
Breakfast was large if required lots of great food and wine to be had ,we even did the tour with Lee a better way to get between vineyards !!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rhian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided to have a spur of the moment trip to the Barossa and my husband suggested we stay at Barossa House as he had stayed there once before.

Conveniently located on the far side of Tanunda, Barossa House is a small and comfortable B & B ran by the husband and wife team Judi and Lee.

Extremely comfy beds and good linen, they make a fabulously filling hot and cold breakfast. The showers are good!

The thing I enjoyed most about our stay were the warm and friendly personalities of Lee and Judi. We booked two private tours with Lee and couldn't have had more fun. We went to everywhere we wanted and a few places that Lee recommended. Lee ensured that we were welcomed everywhere!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOP1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Jacaranda Room. The room is huge with a very comfortable king bed, lounge suites, deck with table & chairs and wi fi, plus TV & cable. Lee made a great cooked breakfast plus there was lots of fruit & cereal also available. I loved Judy's specialty of apple & pear cooked in white wine & cinnamon. Location is central and they are great hosts. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyBargara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend in the Barossa, staying at Judi & Lee's Barossa House.

We were in the Eucalyptus Room overlooking the back lawns - a lovely cosy room. Judi's home cooked breakfasts were gorgeous and a good set you up for a day around the wineries.

We opted for a private tour with Lee, as we particularly wanted to go to Hensschke Wines plus a couple of others that we might not have got to as part of a group. Private tour is DEFINITELY the way to go. Who and what Lee doesn't know about the Barossa, I'm sure isn't worth knowing. He had some interesting stories and passed on so much knowledge to us and took us to some of his hidden little treasures... Needless to say, we tasted some fabulous wines and spent a fortune and has left us with the taste to return at another time.

Thank you Judi & Lee for a lovely weekend.

Mike & Maria, Samford Valley, QLD

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in the Jacaranda room for 2 nights and loved it - nice room with veranda and small seating area.
Lovely home cooked breakfasts each morning with the chance to mingle with the other guests and swap stories about tours and travels.
Went with Lee on one of his famous wine tours and had a great day visiting many of the small boutique wineries nearby including a beautiful alfresco lunch. We had a really good group on the tour and everyone enjoyed their day (especially the kangaroo feeding). It was well worth the money, and more.
Lee and Judi were perfect hosts and couldn't have been more accommodating - nothing was too much trouble for either of them.
We would happily stay here again if back in this area and would definitely recommend to others looking.
PJG-Noosa

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Barossa House is an ideal place to establish a base camp from when exploring the delights of the wonderful Barossa Valley. The House is nestled in a tree lined block, fronting the main drag, neighbouring a certain estate some argue as ‘...the fine purveyors of good casserole stock...’ It’s in the geographic centre of the Barossa, much like Parramatta is to Greater Sydney, so getting to most places does require wheels, but is by no argument any form of arduous trek. So, the ‘... centrally located...’ blurb you may read in advertising is surprisingly accurate. Be prepared for a short drive to the nearest restaurant, not a 2 minute stroll down the street.

With 4 rooms, this place is great. You don’t hear or see much of your fellow guests, as they’re off and about doing what you’re doing. It’s a great set up. The Jacaranda View Room can’t be faulted, unless your knees have given out, which means you probably should have been doing more exercise earlier on in time...! (Joke, folks, settle down wowsers...)

Lee’s ‘big breakfasts’ are talked up, and fairly so. He throws on a good spread and should you leave feeling peckish, you’re answerable to yourself only. A hearty and jovial start to the morning is on the cards, as Lee is one of those incurable ‘Morning People’ whom remain an enigma to many of us. Still, as part of the experience, a good feed and some inside local knowledge, fairly and freely dispensed from mine host, Lee, makes for a well prepared day experiencing one of South Australia’s gems. Furthermore, there’s no doubting Lee will go to the length needed to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

On the daily adventures and drinking in the brilliance of the environment, you have to option of being chauffeured and enlightened by Lee in his luxury bus, or you can do it yourself. Either way, you will be pleased that the stepping off point was from a great night’s sleep in very cosy and relaxing accommodation.

Room Tip: The rear rooms are great, almost no traffic noise. We couldn't fault the Jacaranda View.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheretonext_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
5.4 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
0.9 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
2.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
2.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa House

Address: 2992 Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range: $162 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barossa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa House Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing