We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, thoroughly enjoyable stay”
Review of Barossa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barossa House
Ranked #3 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Barossa House in early November for 2 nights on our way to the Riverland. We could not have been happier with our stay. Hosts Judy & Lee could not have been more obliging.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious with home made stewed fruits and ceral followed by a cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, mushroom and tomato, toast with tea or coffee.
We also incorpated the private wine tour including lunch with our stay, we and had the best day out and a great insight of the Barossa Valley.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers5865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Barossa House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for one night in Jacaranda room and found it very pleasent and comfortable. The gardens and grounds were very well kept as was the home. Judi and Lee are very hospitable people who obviouslly take pride in their B&B. I could not believe the water pressure in the ensuite bathroom either - it was comprable to that in the city (after growing up in the country being use to very low water pressure). The breakfast was very suitable and filling for the drive back to Adelaide. The only fault I could find with the B&B was our timing conflicted with when the gardens were being done and there was a stong smell of manure for the gardens which stopped us using the balcony on the room for too long.

We also went on the winery tour with Lee who showed us 5 wineries over the day. The best winery he took us to was the first (Chateau Tanunda) which for two people who do not know a lot about wine was very informative and taught us what can be done with wine.

Room Tip: For the added privacy we are happy we paid the extra to stay in the sole room on the upstairs floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Position is over 3k from any Barossa town centre. Although on busy main road it's very dark at night the automatic lighting far too slow. We weren't the only guests to be discussing this point. We stayed 3 nights and iin our small shower room the towels etc were never moved so no hope of cleaning there or changing them The bin in the bedroom wasn't emptied after the first night. The breakfast they boast was very disappointing. Yes plenty of fruit and cereal. But no choice of bread and the cooked breakfast was mediocre. Over priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa_House, Owner at Barossa House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We appreciate the feed back, although very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with our place. In the 11 odd years that we have owned and run our Bed and Breakfast, we have always strived for the best service and care possible. Our breakfast is usually acknowledged by guests as very good and we have been very proud of this. However, it would seem that we did not meet your expectations and so we apologise for this.
With regard the location, it is a fact that it is situated between the towns of Tanunda and Nuriootpa and is approximately 3.5 kms from the Post Office in Tanunda. This is published on our web site and other sites on which we are situated.
Thank you for bringing the lighting issue to our attention. As no one else has ever commented on this, we were unaware that there is a problem with it. We will check this out and take the necessary action to remedy it.
The reservation was made in advance for 4 people, but it was only on arrival that we discovered there were only 3 people. In keeping with our cancellation policy, we did not offer a refund.
Once again, we are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Jacaranda room, which was upstairs, quite private and very spacious. If you have any back issues, take note that the king-size bed is very soft, if you are OK with that you'll love it. Judi and Lee are a very helpful couple and and a sumptuous breakfast was served each morning. Its a lovely old house, with an old character and memorabilia around the rooms, also Lee has show cased his gardening skills, with beautiful flowers blooming everywhere.
If you are interested in vintage Chevrolets from 1911, we stumbled upon them next door in the Junction Motel, up to 70 working cars, worth a look. We had a lovely time thanks Judi and Lee

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have only stayed at a small number of B&B's and found this to be a warm, charming place. We loved all of the antique furniture and even had the pianola playing which my husband had never seen before. We actual felt very much at home and the Proprieters (Judi and Lee) could not do enough to help make our stay even more comfortable as, unfortunately, my husband and I both had the flu - we were even offered lemon and honey drinks!!! The room was comfortable and I loved that there was port and wine to drink for our pleasure - the lounge area had a gas fire and even tasty nibbles from Angas Park (love the sugar coated peanuts). Breakfast was superb and cooked to our liking while we sat in the dining room chatting either between ourselves or with the Judi. There was even ducklings which had just hatched and were cute and fluffy! We will definitely return as we truly enjoyed our experience - see you soon Judi and Lee.

Room Tip: The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet, even considering that all rooms were booked on the fi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our first B&B experience having always stayed in motel accommodation, we were extremely happy with our 2 night stay. The accommodation was excellent and the homecooked breakfast was delicious, we went on the wine tour that was included with our cost and had a great day, it was very informative, and nothing was a problem, we would definately stay again, thanks Judi and Lee :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly hosts, great breakfasts and clean and comfortable room. The location was great, 4 km. out of Tanunda among the vines. Lots to do in the surrounding areas. Our room was well serviced and a pleasure to get back to after a hard day touristing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
5.4 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
0.9 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
2.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
2.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa House

Address: 2992 Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range: $162 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barossa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa House Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing