We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore the Barossa”
Review of The Dove Cote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dove Cote
Ranked #6 of 15 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the Studio room. The location of the property was great as we could easily walk into the main street for dinner and have a drink. The room itself is quite big for two including the big spa bath tub. Breakfast provisions were plentiful - including yoghurt, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, a bottle of milk, orange juice, butter, spreads, a loaf of bread, tea and coffee, cereals etc. The laundry room was also well kept and functional. The gardens are nice and our car park was easy to get and out of.

There are a few things The Dove Cote could attend to in future. Our bathroom sink was very slow draining. This is easily fixed with a good douse of drain unclogger. The shower pressure was also VERY slow. So slow I wasn't able to wash my hair as it definitely would not rinse away shampoo let alone conditioner.

The compendium was also quite out of date. I found the places online and prices had risen for both dining and massage venues of about $5.

The big issue though for us was the cleanliness of cooking equipment. The two smaller frying pans still had grease stuck to the sides. The spatula had food between the holes. The bowls I found were greasy when rinsed before use. (I usually rinse things before use) So I had to boil hot water and give things we used a good rinse over. I don't know if it is the lack of sink/drying space or because the room does not have a small dish washer (though it does not need one) which leads to unclean dishes from the previous visitors but I think cooking utensils should have a thorough check/clean by the cleaner before it is given the all clear.

If it weren't for the hygiene, I would rate this property higher than average.

Room Tip: Studio room is great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Two couples enjoyed our stay in this centrally-located B&B at Tanunda in the Barossa wine region of SA. We stayed in the lodge - a two storey self-contained apartment with one bathroom on the ground floor at the rear of the premises. A separate small studio is located at the front of the property.
We found the accommodation to be very clean and quiet, making for restful sleep. There is a garden with safe accommodation for doves nearby and a beautiful rose garden in front.
As one finds in any group of friends opinion was divided on the firmness of the mattresses. The opinion was that the upstairs bed was superior to the downstairs (each to his/her own). The floor upstairs is a bit squeaky, which is more of an annoyance to those below.
We would return to the Dove cote as it's convenience and presentation are the winning points.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PDrechsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in the front Cottage and is so lovely with all the Roses in the garden is amazing comfortable bed and breakfast provisions were so generous that we could not eat it all.
All the details were outstanding and is only a short walk to the main shops in Tanunda and cafés.
Would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends and family.
Thanks Sue so much we had the most wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I booked the studio room recently and had a wonderful stay. The bed is comfortable, every little detail has been thought of from candles to minties to extra towels and the garden full of roses is lovely to wake up to. The breakfast provisions included were incredible- enough to feed a small army :) We will stay here again. Great location being just back from the main road yet still a close walk to everything in town plus a good central location for the great winery region. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: studio was perfect for a couple, lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleFSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed all The Dove Cote had to offer. It is located one street back from Tanunda's main street and is within easy walking distance to Restaurants.
The cottage is very well presented with a HUGE selection of quality breakfast goodies including fresh fruit. There was a nice carafe of port and some chocolates on arrival, and even bath salts for the huge spa.. Being a studio, the kitchen area was hidden behind some folding doors and was very small ,however we did manage to cook breakfast and one evening meal. Dont know why but there was an automatic red light that stayed on all night at the front door.Although there was air conditioning and electric blankets , it would have been nice to be able to enjoy either a nice gas or log fire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the larger back cottage. The property is well located , walk to town, with car parking and garden.
The accomodation in the larger cottage is fine, The breakfast suppplies were in the fridge but were not abundant for 2 people for 2 days. there were two pieces of firewood for the fire. We sent an email requesting more firewood so we could enjoy the fire but no contact or extra firewood appeared so we relied on the heated airconditioning.
The spa bath was lovely, with candles.
The bedroom and bed was fine. Entry to the propoerty not an issue

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodbod2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Dove Cote was easy to find and in a great location to all wineries and other towns.
Upon our arrival, we accidentally let the front door close behind us leaving the keys inside. No problem - a quick phone call to Sue and she was on our doorstep re-opening up for us. Now that's service!
Once inside we were delighted to see a well stocked fire place (which we definitely needed as it was winter), an amazing choice of breakfast selections (which doubled as some lunches and dinners and still with food left over at the end of our stay), candles, chocolates and port.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
2.9 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.5 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel
Barossa Weintal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tanunda
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Langmeil Cottages
Langmeil Cottages
#5 of 15 in Tanunda
49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
0.3 mi away
Memory Lane
Memory Lane
#15 of 15 in Tanunda
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dove Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dove Cote

Address: 13 Edward St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range: $142 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dove Cote 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dove Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dove Cote Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing