We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vine Inn Barossa(Nuriootpa)(Great Value!)
$97
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angaston Vineyards Motel(Angaston)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Mawson Lakes(Mawson Lakes)
$99
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness center
Mawson Lakes Hotel(Mawson Lakes)(Great Value!)
$96
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
110
36
25
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
36
25
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitecellar doorwine tastingsunken bathbarossa valleysouth of francetasting roomgravel roadfresh jasminestunning gardenstaxi companywonderful additionrose gardenperson spafollowing morningwine countrybeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a loft room for one night. Charles, the manager, was extremely friendly and helpful. He was very welcoming and keen to help us with local wineries etc. The grounds of Jacob Creek Retreat are absolutely beautiful. Our loft room was beautifully furnished and rustic. The bedroom up in the loft was very comfortable. The only issue I have with the our room is that there is no coffee table in the lounge and it was quite uncomfortable sitting in there. We had to bring the table in from the verandah. Also the chairs were the small wrought iron types that are extremely uncomfortable so couldn't sit out there for long. Perhaps a little more effort could go onto practicality rather than appearance.
Our breakfast was served between 9am and 10am which is a little restricting if you need to head out early. In saying that, the breakfast was great and the breakfast room was beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday after a pub lunch in Lyndoch
The manager Charles met us and was very friendly and helpful
Our room was a loft ,bedroom upstairs and kitchen,living & bath downstairs,in a lovely old stone building
The grounds were beautiful with the creek at the back of the property
Breakfast was at 9.00 am( a bit late for us) but was hearty and in an old pavilion style building
All in all I would recommend this and if we ever return would stay here again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was beautifully decorated and clean, but it was really just not our "cup of tea". Not really value for your money as the room is extremely small and the mini bar on offer in the room is very over prised. No place to pack ones clothes, luckily we only stayed one night!

We arrived on a very cold and wet Sunday afternoon and was not in the mood to drive to town for dinner. Nothing to offer guests after 5 at the retreat. We landed up going to bed at 8:00.

There are other places in the Barossa that have more to offer at a better price.
Management was also not willing to serve breakfast at 8:30. Breakfast is strictly served at 9:00, so needless to stay we left without breakfast! A bit of a disappointment!

Room Tip: If you need space rather pay more for a more spacious room. The cheapest room on offer is extremely small.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We struggled to find anywhere in the Barossa that would allow a 1 night stay, so kudos to JCR for allowing this. The owner was lovely & the personal greeting refreshing. However, for the price, I found our room a bit dated. The pool looked lovely but unfortunately too cold this time of year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyoflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night ... Wish it wAs longer!
... Magnificent getaway with Charles an outstanding host.
Gorgeous room and an amazing experience.
Highly recommend this beautiful retreat in the amazing Barossa Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews