We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Ranked #9 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Winter escape”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a night because it was around the corner from Rockfords and we were going to do the Long Lunch.
All I can say is wow.
Lovely gardens, lovely people, lovely rooms.

I think this must be the best B&B in the Barossa.

Real country breakfast in the morning, with a strong espresso.

On thing:
The resort is quite close to the train line, there may be a train early in the morning, if you wake, turn over and snuggle :)

Room Tip: They're all good. Our friends had a different room, but it was just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
8
133
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed only one night recently and wished we stayed longer! After a long day cellar door touring we were dropped back off at Moorooroo and went straight in to the cellar door on site for a tasting whilst Charles the retreat host showed another couple around the property. The wines at the cellar door were some of the best we'd had all day and the ladies in there were fabulous.
Charles returned to show us around and explained he'd had to move our reservation for the night and showed us through the gardens to our own little cottage. Although I'm sure the loft suite we actually booked was also lovely, nothing could prepare us for the decadence and beauty of the Orchard Suite and we thanked Charles for this fortunate turn of events. What a treat! Private cottage with little private garden, expansive lounge with highly polished timber floors and tasteful yet lavish decor. Charles had even queued up some Handel's Messiah on the CD player to add to the ambience!
Beautiful green gardens with the smell of roses, and an amazing pool, picturesque stone buildings and a little vineyard- what more could you want? A real retreat- could have hung out in those gardens on the provided picnic blanket and drunk wine and ate cheese for days with a good book if we didnt have to leave the next morning!
Breakfast and coffee were great in the morning and Charles took care of our taxi arrangements to dinner at night.
Will definitely return again next time in warmer weather so we can enjoy the gorgeous pool.
I have to say in contrast to an earlier review the only thing going on at the local 'airport' was a couple of guys flying model remote-controlled airplanes and the train line had 1 train amble past at 7am (as Charles had warned us) which I thought was more of a pictureque novelty waking to watch it then going promptly back to sleep in the most comfortable 4-poster bed of all time.
A real treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked two night in the Orchard Suite for our wedding Anniversary, and it was difficult to fault.
A great welcome, room was fantastic and breakfast lived up to Barossa gourmet standards.
Charles was a superb host, and always obliging with regard to advice and guidance on the local area and sights. Can wholeheartedly recommend, we will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973Mark_M973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a last minute decision to book accomodation for one night for a wedding in the Barossa, i decided to find somewhere a little more special for my partner and i to get away (we work in hospitality management so we barely get any time off together)
I chose Jacobs creek retreat due to the photos and the exciting description.
Our room for $370 (the cheapest) was very small and i do believe overpriced, HOWEVER we didnt need much space and were provided in that small room with everything we needed and wanted. Cosy, extremely comfortable, lovely decor and an amazing Romanesque sunken spa, cheese platter on arrival that we paid for on check out and bath robes!
The scenery was breathtaking. I was suprised when trying to find it that the retreat is surrounded by not so picturesque views, HOWEVER once we drive into the retreat itself and were surrounded by lovely big gum trees and hedges, inside was beautiful. Fountains, autumn leaves and vines of all shades of red and orange, flower gardens and walkway. I loved it. If your really looking to have a "romantic" getaway and spend some time close and personal this is the place. If you are looking for space and room to do your own thing i would not recommend. Jacobs creek retreat set a standard we have not found beaten yet and will be returning for our anniversary. Not to mention the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly on arrival, departure and throughout our stay.
Not agreeing with any of the below comments in the slightest :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winefreak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a reservation for two nights and we left even before moving in.
The website is charming and gives the illusion of a romantic luxury retreat. When we arrived everything was totally different.,This B&B is close to the local airport and the train line, vineyards are quite off the retreat. the reception and the breakfast area are more hostel like, The whole place is come down, gives the impression as if its a fairy tale place to be kissed awake. The room we should move in was very small, the bath room even tiny, the fridge close to the toilet paper, everything was dark and was in need of fresh air.We had good luck to meet the receptionist to complain about. She offered another bigger room, but when we found a giant bug -Cockroadge- above our bed we denied. The receptionist called the owner who was not very gentle, his comment was " everything is correctly presented at the website, we are advised to read the cancellation policy and we have to pay for the accommodation and in case of complaining review we have to spell his name in correct manner. At last we paid for one night and left very much disappointed about australian behavior. We moved to The Louise and everything changed for better. Stay away of this place it`s not worth one Dollar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived to discover that dinner was not available at this lodge, only breakfast, so a drive back to Tanunda with one of us not drinking, not really a great start. The large Jacuzzi type bath didn’t work, nor did the coffee maker in the cupboard. The room was very cramped and the bed uncomfortable. The swimming pool needed some finishing touches. Breakfast was ok and the setting was beautiful. Overall very overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation for our honeymoon and at $370 per night we were expecting something special. While the grounds are certainly beautiful the attention to detail was missing and the rooms were very small. In addition it was very unusual to find the bar fridge and the coffee machine in the bathroom! The rooms were very dark and this was not helped by the fact one of the halogen lights in the bathroom was not working- add to that the tap to the bath was leaking. Breakfast is only served from 9am - 10am which is not useful for those who like to get an early start. The owner was a bit of a mystery person only available by phone and everything seemed to be left up to a couple of hard working staff who did a fantastic job. While we love the sounds of the country the confused rooster, who seemed to be right outside our door, started
crowing at 3am and continued to crow at 20 minute intervals until sunrise. This was somewhat of a hinderance to a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinelawson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
0.4 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
4.3 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.0 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Creek Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Creek Retreat

Property: Jacobs Creek Retreat
Address: Nitschke Road, off Krondorf Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jacobs Creek Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacobs Creek Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Creek Retreat At Moorooroo Park Hotel Tanunda
Jacobs Creek Retreat Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing