We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful food, great buffet breakfast in lovely setting. Friendly helpfull staff. The wineries closeby wonderful added attraction. Jacobs creek winery had a spendid lunch in the most delightful of settings. Enjoy

Room Tip: Disabled room very easy for those with a disability such as myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyRenigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 506 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found the hotel to be in a great location. Although dated it was still very clean and well equipped. Good service, too. It was great to be able to eat in the inexpensive dining room on site after a day of wine tasting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brangushiddensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Attended a conference at the Novatel but decided to stay in the Tanunda village for a change. Just what I wanted.. Could walk around the town and see the shops. Just felt a bit more in the Barossa. Great breakfast, good clean rooms. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overpriced and dated. We paid $174 for 1 night in a 'Standard Room' (Room 7). The price included a full breakfast in the Garden Restaurant and we were told that the price was a 'special' discounted rate - however it was not fair value in my opinion. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable, but the room was 'dated' - the air conditioner was an in wall box incorporating manually operated controls (old style and no remote), the bathroom basin was cracked. The hot water tap at the bathroom basin suffered from 'water hammer' (repeated loud banging in the pipes) when the tap was turned on. At this price we expected much better such as modern fittings in good condition - e.g.split system or central air conditioning with remote temperature setting, a modern bathroom with fittings in very good condition, and even fresh milk in the fridge instead of UHT milk.. It was not fair value and I could not recommend it for that reason. I am widely travelled within Australia and overseas and to write this review about accommodation in my home country is disappointing.
To top things off we had dinner that evening in the Garden Restaurant. While the quality of the food was good, the service was non existent. We had booked a table for 6, took our seats at around 7 pm and waited to be served with the waitress consistently by passing us. Eventually someone informed us that they were not taking orders at the table and we had to order at the bar. So it was over 90 minutes after we sat down that we received the first food. The restaurant was only part occupied yet our table was placed adjacent to a breezeway (where serving staff walked through) where cold air from the reception doors could be felt. - quite uncomfortable for some of our group. The siting of the table showed a lack of common sense by staff. Again not a good experience.

Room Tip: The Motel accommodation is in two buildings that have ground floor and first floor levels. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NuggetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has been in the Barossa for a very long time. I spent my honeymoon there 25 years ago.. It is very tired. The bed in our room was as tired as the decor. Very 80s. We feel it is time to spend some money on the place. The restaurant looks the same and the food was ok but the service not so. Sorry this sounds whinged but if you don't say it nothing changes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissyM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Looked forward to having a swim in the pool and spa on a 29 degree day but found the pool dirty and the surrounded gardens un-kept. The front desk staff rude and very unhelpful when we were seeking information about the area. The room did not reach our expectations of what we saw on the website. Overpriced for budget accommodation. A training course in hospitality and friendliness is advisable to the staff! This was a BIG mistake! Your better off going to the Novotel!
If you want budget accommodation this is where to go!!
Never Again!

Room Tip: Just don't go here! Save yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngryVictorians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed recently for two nights during the week, my first trip to the Barossa. I've stayed in many country motels before, and typically get great service and a comfortable clean room. That didn't happen here unfortunately. The front desk staff were efficient and got the job done, but didn't make an attempt to be friendly, didn't ask if I had a good stay, or offer any ideas of things to do.

The room itself was very dated, which by itself is not an issue, but dated and dirty is. The shower was really mouldy and towels were a matter of picking the one with the least stains. The bathroom cabinet had mismatched handles and was worse for wear. The couch was an uncomfortable relic from the 70s but at least it matched the curtains... The bed was ok.

The restaurant/dining room in the hotel bar is open until 'late'. I understand places in smaller towns close up at irregular hours depending on how busy it is, but I went at 830 after I arrived and it was closed. The pool was filthy with dirt and leaves and uninviting even on a 35C day.

I would stay in one of the many B&B's or the Novotel on my next trip to the Barossa Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
4.4 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
3.0 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Angaston Vineyards Motel
Angaston Vineyards Motel
#1 of 1 in Angaston
58 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Address: Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price Range: $79 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel offers standard accommodation in 40 rooms and luxury accommodation in our 10 studios. Our Tavern and Garden Restaurants serve food 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We maintain a wide selection of wines, mainly from local wineries. We are located at the heart of the Barossa Valley within walking distance to several wineries and cellar doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Tanunda
Flag Barossa Weintal Tanunda
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing