We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful colonial cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanunda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanunda Cottages
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful colonial cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

These were three beautiful colonial designed cottages on one section. We rang up to book and were met there by the owner. It was A$190/night. It was very quiet although it was only 5min walk away to centre of town. There was off street parking. It came with a complimentary bottle of wine and a help yourself breakfast. Very clean, polished wooden floors and lovely tiles in the kitchen and bathroom areas. All beautifully presented. Had DVD gas log fire, ideal for a special occasions. At the moment they are for sale.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragdoll5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow, never had to deal with such an ignorant business women anywhere else in the world :-(
In our home state too – very embarrassing to have someone like this representing SA tourism to local and world travelers.
Save yourself the frustration – don’t been bullied - there are plenty of other places to stay in and around beautiful Tanunda.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J0hanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi JOhanty,
I'm Michael, the owner operator of Tanunda Cottages. I would be interested to understand more regarding the 'arrogant businesswoman' you spoke to as I personally take all our calls. Additionally we charge a single all inclusive rate - we don't have extra charges. If you are indeed referring to a stay with Tanunda Cottages, I'd be happy to look into this further for you. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October, great location, walking distance to local amenities & close to winery/bakery/car museum/big rockinghorse etc. We had cottage 3 so at the back & didnt hear any road noise. Plenty of room for port a cot in 2nd room, our 14 month old had plenty of room inside to get around without getting bored or into trouble. Heater was fantastic, shower hot & the bed super comfortable. The supplied continental breakfast was fantastic but wished we knew this before as we did take too much food ourselves.
Only downside was the kitchen fan comes on with the kitchen light which was a little annoying noise wise & a gate on the property to stop little ones escaping would have been good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in a cottage for 2 nights.Absolutely outstanding accomodation. Very clean, convenient and cosy. Lovely atmosphere, very central and in fantastic position to wineries. The breakfast supplies were very good and soo much of them. Also supplied was a bottle of champagne. I would strongly recommend these cottages to anyone wanting to stay in the barossa valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this a well priced home from home for our two days in Tanunda. Neat cottage and garden. Private and quiet. Well equipped kitchen. Within walking distance of Tanunda shops and restaurants. After hectic previous days in Adelaide we bought a great chicken and interesting salads from the Tanunda shops and enjoyed two quiet nights in. As visitors from Cairns we enjoyed (needed) the heating in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piphoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booleroo Centre
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night in November 2012, for our nieces wedding. The cottages are so hidden away, we drove past them twice before finding them! The host was a lovely friendly fellow that we only actually dealt with over the phone. We were given a code to collect our key from a secure safe, which was very straight forward and that is where the key had to be returned when we checked out.
Our 2 bedroom cottage was on the left as we drove in and had a queen in one room and 2 singles in the other. Our bed was very comfortable. Shower was good too. We paid $183 for the night. There was a complimentary bottle of wine, and breads and vegemite and jams etc in the fridge for us to make our breakfast, which was great. As its right in the main drag was easy to walk down the shops. Very spacious and comfortable cottages and reasonably quiet, just a bit of truck noise. Very pretty town, would have loved to stay another night and had a good look around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in Cottage 1 for two nights for some time out and a taste of the Barossa. The cottage is in a good location within walking distance to the local pubs, bakeries etc. The cottage was spotless and had everything we needed for comfort. The gas fire place is great, nice to come home to after a day of winery tours. Just one tip for future guests, make sure you call the owner in advance to get the code to open the key box. We arrived on site and called the owner as he instructed us to and were unable to get onto him for 30 mins, and after travelling all day, we were not to keen on waiting around to get into our accommodation. Other than that, we would stay at the cottages again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
3.7 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
0.8 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.7 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonewell Cottages
Stonewell Cottages
#2 of 10 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanunda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanunda Cottages

Property: Tanunda Cottages
Address: 157 Murray St, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanunda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four charming old world cottages with all of the comforts and convenience of today. Self-contained units with fully equipped kitchen including breakfast provisions. Located in the main street of Tanunda, these cottages are walking distance to the supermarket, shops, galleries, restaurants and close vicinity to wineries. Quality accommodation for up to 6 in each of our 3 cottages with two bedrooms and a lounge. Our 4th cottage is 3 bedrooms and sleeps a maximum of 5. It also includes living areas and a working laundry. Tanunda Cottages is surrounded by beautiful grounds. Relax after a busy day of touring by open log fires in winter or under trees with cool breezes in summer. Perfect for a weekend away or an ideal base for your short stay in the heart of the beautiful Barossa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanunda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanunda Cottages Barossa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing