We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bethany Wines

Bethany Wines
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Tanunda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring spectacular views over the historic village of Bethany,Bethany Wines is a 'must visit' destination on your trip to the Barossa Valley. Owned by the Schrapel Family for over 150 years, Bethany Wines produces a range of estate grown and handcrafted wines. We welcome you to taste our wines and experience the rich history and culture of Bethany.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Bethany wines are crisp and clean,don't forget to stock up on your port. The view from the cellar door makes a visit veryworthwhile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanellC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We found the cellar door experience, very enjoyable.
We were there about 11.00 am and therefore not a very busy time. The lady had time to talk to us as we sampled the wines, which were very nice. She was most helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but big on character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was a a small but delightful winery with awesome views of the vineyards. again great informative staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sugasweetpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Closed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The winery was closed when we visited even though it was advertised as open.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“a wonderful family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

hearing the story behind the Schrapel family, their vineyards and wines really adds to the experience - where else can you do a vertical tasting of 6 years of reisling?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethany Wines also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Bethany Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing