We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's my bacon?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Where's my bacon?”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked Barossa Vineyard Cottages for a couple of nights for a friend's wedding.

The property itself is pleasant. The cottages are fairly new buildings at the back of a farm property. They are surrounded by paddocks and vineyards, although during our stay these were unfortunately mostly without leaves. They are duplex buildings, so not as quiet and secluded as they might be - we could hear our neighbours talking through the walls in the morning.

The cottages are immaculately clean and well equipped with cooking gear, a TV and quite solid movie library, spa bath, huge bathroom, and reasonably comfortable bed. As per the website, on our first day we received a nice selection of breakfast supplies and a freshly baked loaf of bread from the owners, as well as a range of other nice goodies (pate, a bottle of wine, some chocolates).

However, after a great start things were a little different on our second night. For starters, our room was not cleaned up or restocked at all after the first night. This meant that we had to do our own dishes, use our old towels etc. More importantly, however, it meant that we didn't get any kind of fresh supplies by way of bacon, coffee, milk, orange juice etc.

As a result, once we did the dishes (!) we had a slightly sad improvised breakfast on the second day, sharing our one remaining coffee, and most importantly, no bacon!

Maybe this is just how Australian B&Bs work - I don't know as I tend to stay in hotels. However, I think it should be made very clear that if you book for two nights, you actually get breakfast for ONE night only. For example, there was coffee to make four shots in the espresso machine, i.e., two coffees each for two adults. The only option for more was listed as $15 for 10 more specialised coffee pods - which we had no use for once we left. There as no information about additional food that we could find.

For some perspective, the rates were similar to the rates we recently paid to stay in a luxury hotel in the heart of Tokyo, yet in quiet country Australia we found ourselves doing our own dishes so that we could share half a coffee pod each on our second day. I also find it very surprising to pay premium rates and then not have the room turned over. If we were supposed to specifically request this then this was not made clear anywhere. Likewise, if we were supposed to order more breakfast supplies, then I could find no indication of this anywhere. We saw our host twice - once when we arrived, and once when we paid upon departure. While perfectly pleasant, there was no mention of any of the above.

What I can't quite work out is why things were arranged in this way, when presumably if we'd checked out after one night and then checked in for another night everything would have been restocked and refreshed.

On balance this is a fine place to stay and close to Tanunda and surrounding wineries - but make sure you BYO breakfast supplies, despite what the website says.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wiggles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The property was amazingly beautiful very clean and the quality and attention to detail we had not seen before. Everything you could imagine you would want or need was there. They supplied breakfast and more than enough local gourmet food for a couple of picnics or late night suppers. They also supplied a range of beverages alcoholic and non and a very easy to use coffee machine. I purchased this as a 33 year wedding anniversary present combined with the blues festival was an awesome 3 days. Privacy was respected and when we were leaving the owners invited us to try their own vineyards wine they were such lovely people and although I don't drink my husband was very impressed. Great time wonderful place what more could you want. Thanks
Harry and Chrystine

Room Tip: only one bedroom definitely a romantic couples destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely modern cottage with all the facilities. Great location perfect for exploring
the barossa. Restaurants and vineyards close by. Full kitchen and a barbecue area. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Hopefully we will be back soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jemgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just a short note note to add to the other very positive reviews. Barossa Vineyard Cottages are a great example of how a B&B should be. The cottages have privacy, excellent design, are not prissily over decorated and have a large functional bathroom with plenty of hot water. The ample breakfast provisions are sourced locally where possible, with plaudits for the delicious thick cut bacon and fresh eggs. As others have commented, Sandra is pleasant, well organised and an excellent host.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gomersal cottage, but the design of all is identical.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just had 2 nights here & the owners have thought of everything to provide a lovely place to stay,
even down to the little bars of lavender soap. Fire was set ready to warm up the cottage. Lovely home made fresh bread & supplies to make a full breakfast. Comfy warm bed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate a 65th birthday. Very comfortable, cosy, private and quiet. Ample provisions left for breakfast including farm fresh eggs, bacon, mushrooms, home baked bread etc. Spa very nice and welcome, enjoyed a red under the gazebo with nibbles provided while watching the sun go down. Bed extremely comfortable, loved the french doors to the veranda where we enjoyed our coffee in the morning. Great location, close to many attractions of the Barossa.

Well done to Sandra and Brian!

Room Tip: All four cottages looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We could not have picked a better place to stay. There are four cottages and other guests stayed there when we did but it still felt very private. The cottages are located amongst the vineyards away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are beautifully presented with all the facilities you would require. As well as the excellent breakfast provisions supplied, we received the anticipated hot loaf of bread on arrival and it did not disappoint. Our host, Sandra was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Because we come from North Queensland she anticipated that we would require a warm room and she had the heating going when we arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
2.8 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.9 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
0.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
1.4 mi away
Tanunda Cottages
Tanunda Cottages
#4 of 10 in Tanunda
49 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Vineyard Cottages

Property: Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Address: 182 Bethany Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5353, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barossa Vineyard Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bethany, our fully self-contained stone cottages are located in the heart of the Barossa Valley. Bordered by vineyards and a stunning outlook to the Barossa Ranges, the area is steeped in history and boasts of great walks as well as being surrounded by award winning wineries and restaurants. With modern comforts behind classic settler style and grace, our cottages remain comfortable in every season. Featuring front and rear private verandas for you to relax and unwind whilst enjoying the wonderful views of the Barossa Ranges, the spires of Tanunda or the sunsets that the Barossa is known for. Your romantic getaway starts here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Barossa Vineyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Vineyard Cottages Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing