We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Ranked #2 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Blickinstal is definitely THE place to stay when visiting the Barossa Valley. Sue our host, has obviously put a lot of thought and effort in to ensuring her guests will be well looked after during their stay at Blickinstal. The room we had for our 2 night stay was spacious and very clean and comfortable, with lots of little extras provided. Breakfasts each morning were amazing, and our afternoon tea with chocolate brownie cake, cream and strawberry on the side, was heavenly! The property itself is in a wonderful location, overlooking vineyards and the valley beyond. Also very easy to access the wineries of the region as well as the nearby town of Tanunda. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryd987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

The best place to relax in Barossa Valley
Great location surrounded with beautiful vineyards
Sue is a very friendly and accommodating host
We love the complimentary port wine by Peter Lehmann
We love the home made brownies for the evening tea and the complete big breakfast meal
Very clean and you get everything you need in the room, you can even do some BBQ there
Super clean and cozy
Lots of selections of DVDs and magazines
Very relaxing

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthSusilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The heart of hospitality is truly evident at Blickinstal. Such a treat to experience the great service and care of the host and her family. Many details are thoughtfully considered so guests may have an excellent experience. Location is up on a hill next to the vines with beautiful views of the valley and easy access to Tanunda and the Barossa region. Property is unpretentious, welcoming and fitting with the beauty of the region. Room was pleasing, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was hearty and nourishing with quality products that were well prepared. Sue was welcome to any special requests (ie different wine glasses, continental breakfast in room for early departure) and met our needs very well. We finished off our last day watching the sunset, enjoying a deliciously prepared slice of chocolate cake with sweet cream, and having a glass of Shiraz. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Such an amazing b&b that exceeded our expectations. From fresh home-made scones and jam for afternoon tea to a cozy, clean, spacious and inviting lodge, we had no complaints. There was a wide range of dvds for us to borrow and breakfast was delicious. We loved how there were only 6 rooms as it meant a very quiet and secluded stay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wecreatethingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two very relaxing nights at this wonderful retreat. We were greeted by Lucy and Max the two resident dogs and then we were shown to our unit where nothing is over looked (ours had a wood fired heater, large spa bath) not to mention a carafe of some of the Barossas wonderful Port formus to enjoy.
The very hospitable owner Sue served up a wonderful cooked breakfast and afternoon tea each day. We will stay here again next time we are visiting the area. We would highly recommend this retreat.

Room Tip: The upper units have a wood heater which makes a cold night very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff and Kerrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 relaxing nights at this wonderful retreat. The self-contained studios have items like kitchen supplies, coffee, tea and so much more. The bed was comfortable and enjoyable and the studio was well cleaned. The Blickinstal grounds was lovely and guests are welcome to wander around. The view from the dining area overlooking the valley was just amazing.
Breakfast is served between 8-9am in the homestead, and the full cooked breakfast was delicious! Daily afternoon tea was at 4pm, we enjoyed a tasty lemon filling cupcake. There is a huge selection of DVDs and magazines and books to borrow (for free) at the homestead. Blickinstal also has 2 dogs, Lucy and Max, who are so friendly and loved playing with the guests.
The Retreat is a few kilometres out of Tanunda, and there is no WIFI in the rooms. However, this is a Retreat afterall, so relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EYToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Fantastic location with spectacular views. Didn't get to see the sunsets as we were busy experiencing the valley. We had a wonderful visit to Dutschke wines, tasting by appointment. They have a superb range of wines. The Oscar Semmler is luscious.
The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious. The caramel apples were to die for. The only downside was the cleaning staff forgot to make up our room.

Room Tip: We had a studio room. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
3.0 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.8 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
1.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#8 of 14 in Tanunda
183 reviews
6.3 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat

Address: 261 Rifle Range Rd, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range: $130 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blickinstal is a beautiful rural retreat nestled into the foothills amongst the vineyards and only five minutes from Tanunda. The panoramas are simply stunning and the tranquility of Blickinstal makes it the perfect base from which to enjoy all the Barossa has to offer or to just simply relax and indulge in the peacefulness of this special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing