We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Ranked #2 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olds
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and great location ”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The Blickinstal is a lovely little country retreat just minutes from Tanunda and a whole host of wineries. The grounds are very nice and the rooms, although a bit dark are clean and well stocked with teas, coffees and port for an evening night cap. Breakfast was delicious with bacon, eggs, toast, cereals and every morning Sue prepared a wonderful fruit dish with yogurt. Nice little weekend getaway!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    34
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
162
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Our first bed and breakfast experience and we couldn't have chose a better place. We stayed in a studio room, which was clean comfortable and relaxing. Sue was very welcoming and we enjoyed her delicious home cooked meals. Highly recommend to all!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's quiet, wonderful and away from it all - yet still within striking distance of major Barossa wineries!

We travelled here after a hectic couple of days in Sydney and we loved it - the view was wonderful and the grounds are amazing. We stayed right across from the reception and the room was terrific (with all the goodies including a magnificent bottle of port).

However, we have to tell you about the breakfast! It was delicious and well prepared.

Would definitely stay here again when we are in our favourite wine country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabidcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Blickinstal property is exactly what you would imagine a wine country B&B would be. The rooms are terrific, and they are stocked with all kinds of goodies, including a bottle of port for a night cap after a day of tastings. The location is out of the way, but not difficult to access. This allows for the greatest feature of Blickinstal, the vineyards on site. Upon checking in, we were invited to walk around among the grapes that are sold to nearby Charles Melton winery.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is very picturesque and peaceful. The rooms were very well appointed with everything you could possibly need including a kitchenette with milk in the fridge, little bowls of chocolate and some port. The bathroom was clean and was equipped with a jacuzzi.
I loved the breakfast prepared by Sue every morning. She is an excellent hostess and the food was well prepared, well presented and delicious. Besides cereals and juice she would prepare eggs any way you like and a different fruit preparation served with yoghurt each day. I must also mention afternoon tea served at 4 o'clock. Each day there was something homemade and different - scones, brownies, muffins.
The day we were leaving I was admiring a gingerbread house on her table. She mentioned her daughter had made it from a kit and then promptly insisted on gifting us a kit so we could make one ourselves. What an unexpected and lovely gesture!
The location is great with Tanunda a few minutes drive away. There is no wi fi in the rooms but then that isn't such a bad thing when you want to spend time with your teenager. My son loved the cute alpacas on the property and had conversations with them every day.
I would definitely recommend Blickinstal for a visit to the Barossa. Lovely place with a personal touch to everything.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Sue and Peter. Sue your breakfasts are the best!!! We loved your farm and found our stay to be truly relaxing. The sunset we caught yesterday was sensational. Our accommodation was tidy and thoughtful. Loved that our chocolate supply was topped up daily.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We selected Blickinstal from Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. although further out of town than anticipated, it is only a short 5 minute drive to Tanunda and as it is set on the slope of the hills, the setting offers views of the vines and the valley toward the town. We were picked up by Barossa House Tours for a day winery tour ($95 each) and also by a taxi to the Day on the Green at Peter Lehmans Winery ($20 each way).
We had a Lodge unit which includes a lounge/dining and a self contained kitchen with everything you would want and a spa bath, as well as a complimentary port for a nightcap! Sue presented fabulous afternoon teas and a changing fruit/yoghurt plus cooked breakfast. All very good quality in a charming B&B setting. We enjoyed our 3 nights and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The lodge room is spacious with lounge, kitchen dining, DVD, spa bath and lovely verandah to take in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
2.9 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.8 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
1.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
141 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat

Property: Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Address: 261 Rifle Range Rd, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blickinstal is a beautiful rural retreat nestled into the foothills amongst the vineyards and only five minutes from Tanunda. The panoramas are simply stunning and the tranquility of Blickinstal makes it the perfect base from which to enjoy all the Barossa has to offer or to just simply relax and indulge in the peacefulness of this special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing