We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Romantic Stay in Barossa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
Ranked #2 of 14 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Blickinstal property is exactly what you would imagine a wine country B&B would be. The rooms are terrific, and they are stocked with all kinds of goodies, including a bottle of port for a night cap after a day of tastings. The location is out of the way, but not difficult to access. This allows for the greatest feature of Blickinstal, the vineyards on site. Upon checking in, we were invited to walk around among the grapes that are sold to nearby Charles Melton winery.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is very picturesque and peaceful. The rooms were very well appointed with everything you could possibly need including a kitchenette with milk in the fridge, little bowls of chocolate and some port. The bathroom was clean and was equipped with a jacuzzi.
I loved the breakfast prepared by Sue every morning. She is an excellent hostess and the food was well prepared, well presented and delicious. Besides cereals and juice she would prepare eggs any way you like and a different fruit preparation served with yoghurt each day. I must also mention afternoon tea served at 4 o'clock. Each day there was something homemade and different - scones, brownies, muffins.
The day we were leaving I was admiring a gingerbread house on her table. She mentioned her daughter had made it from a kit and then promptly insisted on gifting us a kit so we could make one ourselves. What an unexpected and lovely gesture!
The location is great with Tanunda a few minutes drive away. There is no wi fi in the rooms but then that isn't such a bad thing when you want to spend time with your teenager. My son loved the cute alpacas on the property and had conversations with them every day.
I would definitely recommend Blickinstal for a visit to the Barossa. Lovely place with a personal touch to everything.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Anshu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Sue and Peter. Sue your breakfasts are the best!!! We loved your farm and found our stay to be truly relaxing. The sunset we caught yesterday was sensational. Our accommodation was tidy and thoughtful. Loved that our chocolate supply was topped up daily.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We selected Blickinstal from Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. although further out of town than anticipated, it is only a short 5 minute drive to Tanunda and as it is set on the slope of the hills, the setting offers views of the vines and the valley toward the town. We were picked up by Barossa House Tours for a day winery tour ($95 each) and also by a taxi to the Day on the Green at Peter Lehmans Winery ($20 each way).
We had a Lodge unit which includes a lounge/dining and a self contained kitchen with everything you would want and a spa bath, as well as a complimentary port for a nightcap! Sue presented fabulous afternoon teas and a changing fruit/yoghurt plus cooked breakfast. All very good quality in a charming B&B setting. We enjoyed our 3 nights and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The lodge room is spacious with lounge, kitchen dining, DVD, spa bath and lovely verandah to take in...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our group of 8 have just returned from Blickinstal after spending our usual two nights in the Barossa. We were again impressed with the hospitality which began with a friendly welcome, continued with afternoon teas and completed with excellent breakfasts. Set a few kilometres from Tanunda but surrounded by wineries the retreat is a delight. The views over the vineyards and the wider Barossa Valley are right up there with other wine regions of the world. The rooms are spacious and well maintained although the airconditioner/heater makes some noise. Rooms are fitted out with a settee, television, microwave, sink and plenty of tea and coffee and excellent bathrooms. We once again used the outdoor BBQ facility and Sue set up the dining room table for us complete with all the necessities. Breakfast is served in the main house and there is always a surprise offering. We enjoy the house setting as it enables you to engage Sue in conversation and to find out all the news in the valley.
We have stayed at Blickinstal a number of times and have enjoyed ourselves on every occasion. Most pleasant sitting outside the rooms with a glass of local wine and marvelling at the view. Sue has information about wineries to visit and other nearby attractions.

Room Tip: The two top rooms are more spacious but the other 4 are most acceptable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Blickinstal for 2 nights and really wished we had booked in longer. The Barossa Valley is so beautiful and I loved the wineries. Blickinstal made our stay that much better. We were so pleased with the spacious well appointed unit. The little kitchen is so nicely done as is the bathroom. In fact the whole unit is very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and had the weather been better we might have had a BBQ in the great patio area. Sue and Mark were great hosts and breakfast was awesome!

Room Tip: Our room, number 6, was great. I am not sure of the others. I think they were similar.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was the only thing lovely about this place. We arrived (albeit a few hours earlier than official check-in...we were planning to ask to drop our stuff and come back) and encountered the innkeeper pulling out of the driveway as we were pulling in. She stopped and rolled down her window and asked if we were guests. When we said yes, she rolled her eyes, made a comment about "why is everyone doing this to me" and said she was on her way to another inn location with some food delivery, and we could wait on the porch until she got back. Ok, fine, good... we knew we were early and that was on us. She could have been a bit less sarcastic though.

We felt better after getting into the room, which was very nice. There were goodies left on the bar and the decor was quite good. The setting was nice, although we were told the vineyard that seemed to be part of the property wasn't actually connected to it. When we suggested we might wait around for the afternoon tea, which was only about half an hour wait, the hostess looked appalled and basically said we couldn't stay and should go somewhere else (off the property) to kill the time. The overall impression we had the whole time we were there was that the hostess would rather have been doing anything but running a B&B, and by showing up and paying for our stay we were simply making her life difficult.

The food, when we ultimately had it, was mediocre, and the setting was uncomfortable since the "dining room" was the main living space of the hostess' family household. Each door around the perimeter of the room had a kid's name on it and they were clearly bedrooms. The husband and children were awkwardly eating in the kitchen, which was completely visible from the dining room.

With so many places to stay in this area, I would definitely opt for somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
3.0 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.9 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
1.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#8 of 14 in Tanunda
181 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat

Address: 261 Rifle Range Rd, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range: $132 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blickinstal is a beautiful rural retreat nestled into the foothills amongst the vineyards and only five minutes from Tanunda. The panoramas are simply stunning and the tranquility of Blickinstal makes it the perfect base from which to enjoy all the Barossa has to offer or to just simply relax and indulge in the peacefulness of this special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing