We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel in Main Street but within waking distance to everything.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guichen Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guichen Bay Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice motel in Main Street but within waking distance to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ant and David provide a very friendly and welcoming experience. They are both very knowledgable about the town and it's attractions passing on information that enables you to see the best the town has to offer. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they always willing to have a chat and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clansman5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks guys it is always a pleasure dealing with nice people. We may not be pretty on the outside just yet but hopefully soon we will be looking good on the outside as well as the inside. Lets hope you get a chance to come back and see us at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
99
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

When we booked the motel we were told by the new manager David and his lovely wife that the restaurant will not be open due to renovations, not a problem. They have done a marvellous job with some of the rooms having complete new bathroom, shower and toilet areas. Carpets are next which will make a huge difference. The rooms are very clean and tidy with a 3 star rating but we give it 3.5 stars. Queen size bed was very comfortable and also new flat screen TV and Free WiFi to use. There is still a lot to do and we can recommend a stay at the motel will be worth it. The rooms are very quiet due to the thick stone walls when it was built back in 1860. Clean and comfortable what more do you need. The managers go out of their way to help make it a pleasant time while in Robe.
The swimming pool had been let go by previous owners and David is doing his best to have it ready for the warmer weather and he will.

Room Tip: Just ask for the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks Peter we may be a little rough around the edges at the moment but the rooms are coming along nicely, a bit like the manager! Since your stay we have had the restaurant floors polished and new carpets put in 5 of the rooms. Swimming pool has been drained and will be restored to its former glory by December. You will have to come back and see the improvements and we always look after our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We bought a promotion offer to stay at the Guichen Bay Motel and were very happy with the
accommodation. While it is rated as 3 star, what impressed us was the cleanliness, great bath towels and really nice bed linen, which all made our stay very comfortable. The carpet could do with replacing, but not a major issue. It was great to have a two seater lounge in the room. Antonella was extremely helpful and obliging with any enquiries we may have had. Good location in the main street, able to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Even though it was very cold and wintry - it was July after all, we were very comfortable in the room - good air conditioner and electric blanket. Would definitely recommend this motel - and we would not hesitate to stay again - even without a promotion deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
it is always a treat when our guests reviews mention cleanliness and comfort, as we strive to provide the best service and accommodation that we can. We are so fortunate here at the Guichen Bay Motel to be so central that we are within walking distance of a host of fine eateries and places of interest.

We are still in the middle of our renovations and that carpets' days are numbered. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are after a room that is basic but enough for a nice stay in town then this is your place. The hosts Ant and David are knowledgable locals and willing to have a chat and let you know the must sees in town.

The hotel is situated right on the edge of town so you can stroll up the main streets and look at the neat little shops.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzGal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We think it's important to make our guests feel comfortable and to let them know what's around to see and do in Robe and the surrounding area. As we are located on the main road of Robe and if you don't feel like driving you can stroll to most of our restaurants, shops and other places of interest .

Thank you for your review and will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here on the way between Mount Gambier & Adelaide as have meant to visit many times but haven't quite made it. Pleasant place with friendly people on Reception - rooms were clean & comfortable with all amenities required for our 1 night stay. Close walking distance to everything we required - eating places, supermarket etc. Quiet as well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We think it's important to make our guests feel comfortable and to let them know what's available in the town so that they may enjoy their stay. Being that we are centrally located in the main road of Robe, you don't need your car you can let your "feet do the walking" to most of our restaurants, cafe, beaches etc. Now that you've been to Robe hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove
Level Contributor
361 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

After a long cold drive from Melbourne with nightfall, falling, we checked into this "Budget Chain" motel in Robe. We were invited to inspect the last available room: small but with all the usual amenities, but it had a "usable fridge" with a wine rack (bonus chilled the wine before getting fish and chips), a microwave oven, wifi and a toaster.
The reception staff were excellent and obliging providing vouchers for nearby eateries and crockery and cutlery for the chosen take-away.
Shower good, room clean, bed comfortable queen, A/C unit very quiet (bonus) all of which in my humble opinion brought the rating above average for this chain.

Room Tip: If you are a "Senior" try your luck for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONHallettCove J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our humble establishment. As new managers, it gives us a real understanding of how we are performing. As our restaurant is not opened we felt the need to get together with other eateries in town and can now offer vouchers over winter for a free drink with a meal as a means of saying thank you to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We returned to Robe for Easter after having stayed at Guichen Bay Motel in the new year. The weather was a little less palatable, but we did still enjoy our stay. The motel is being fixed up, but clean and comfortable after days out roaming the area - great to come back to a hot shower. It's a great spot - close to shops and restaurants - very central, however, if i was going back for longer, i would probably choose a house/unit with cooking facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your return visit, it is always a treat when our guests reviews mention cleanliness and comfort, as we strive to provide the best service and accommodation that we can. We are so fortunate here at the Guichen Bay Motel to be so central that we are within walking distance of a host of fine eatries.

On your next trip to Robe if you are considering a longer stay, we do have a Two Bedroom Unit with cooking facilities, dining area, lounge, a TV with Foxtel in each room and DVD player.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
0.1 mi away
Sea Vu Caravan Park
Sea Vu Caravan Park
#4 of 14 in Robe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guichen Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guichen Bay Motel

Property: Guichen Bay Motel
Address: 42 Victoria St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guichen Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the main street of the pretty and popular seaside village of Robe, South Australia, our 3.5 Star motel has 17 clean and comfortable ground floor units with reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen TV with Foxtel, tea & coffee facilities, toaster, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, parking at the door, and free wireless internet. Guests are encouraged to enjoy our outdoor pool and spa or make use of the BBQ in our well maintained garden setting. A short stroll to shopping, hotels, restaurants and cafes, and minutes to local attractions such as the fabulous Guichen Bay with its many sandy beaches including the famous Long Beach. And don't miss the chance to visit the Obelisk, Old Gaol, Historic Buildings, Art Galleries and Lake Butler boat haven. A short drive to rugged coastlines, inland Lakes, Pine Forests and Conservation Parks, and some of the country's premium wine districts, including Mt Benson, Cape Jaffa, and the renowned Coonawarra region. A perfect place to enjoy water sports of all kinds, play a lazy round of golf, take a joy flight in a Tiger Moth aircraft or relax and enjoy premium local food and wines, our staff are ready to help make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Guichen Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing