We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central motel, nicely cleaned but run down”
Review of Guichen Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guichen Bay Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed one night in the two bedroom family unit. The room was slightly unusual in that the bathroom was located in the second room, so we had to sneak past our sleeping daughter to go to the bathroom at night. Like other reviewers, we found the room, bathroom and furnishings to be dated and run down. However, new management has taken over recently and new TVs and air-cons have been installed. Also, the room was well cleaned and the kitchen and bathroom suited our needs. The service at reception was lovely, and the room was quiet. The motel is also very centrally and conveniently located. Overall, I would recommend it for its location and cleanliness but with the caveat that it is budget accommodation that is dated and run down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 179 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We planned to stay the night at the Guichen Bay Motel and ended up staying for 3. The place has recently changed hands and the freindly new owners are doing a good job reinventing the place. The motel is still a bit dated but quite comfortable with new AC units, TV's with Austar, pool & jacuzzi. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
The location was super just minutes from the supermarket, beach, pub, chippy and many eateries.
Overall good value. We would certainly check it out again if we were in Robe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIDDLERBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The female owner of the property is lovely. More than helpful.
Rooms were outdated, beds very comfortable but pillows were rock hard.
Pool & restaurant was closed when we stayed - would have been nice if these features weren't advertised as we probably wouldn't have stayed knowing this.
All in all, probably wouldn't stay there more than the 1 night

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tegan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Change of management took effect 17/12/12 and we have given the motel a spring clean, put in air conditioning and flat screen TVs as well as establishing free wireless Internet to the rooms. Unfortunately we were left with a pool in a terrible condition and no chef for our onsite restaurant with little chance of securing a trade’s person so close to Christmas. There is more to be done over coming months but we still believe it is a clean and comfortable motel, fantastically located with great staff and good value for money. I hope our early guests will return to see the transformation. As the new manager I welcome any contact with our guests to discuss any aspect of the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Laurent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Owner at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmdanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank PattyeMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Guichen Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
0.2 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Motel
0.6 mi away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Inn
Caledonian Inn
#5 of 8 in Robe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guichen Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guichen Bay Motel

Address: 42 Victoria St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guichen Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the main street of the pretty and popular seaside village of Robe, South Australia, our 3.5 Star motel has 17 clean and comfortable ground floor units with reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen TV with Foxtel, tea & coffee facilities, toaster, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, parking at the door, and free wireless internet. Guests are encouraged to enjoy our outdoor pool and spa or make use of the BBQ in our well maintained garden setting. A short stroll to shopping, hotels, restaurants and cafes, and minutes to local attractions such as the fabulous Guichen Bay with its many sandy beaches including the famous Long Beach. And don't miss the chance to visit the Obelisk, Old Gaol, Historic Buildings, Art Galleries and Lake Butler boat haven. A short drive to rugged coastlines, inland Lakes, Pine Forests and Conservation Parks, and some of the country's premium wine districts, including Mt Benson, Cape Jaffa, and the renowned Coonawarra region. A perfect place to enjoy water sports of all kinds, play a lazy round of golf, take a joy flight in a Tiger Moth aircraft or relax and enjoy premium local food and wines, our staff are ready to help make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guichen Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing